Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-12|Private
234 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
16 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Parent (1 response)
characters left.
There are 32 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Northeast Christian Academy 3

Posted June 01, 2016
- a parent
This school was a wonderful fit for our family at the beginning, however as our kids got older and with the recent changes it no longer was the school we loved and adored. I agree with the other feedback that it is a great fit for some, but you must fit a certain mold and if you don't it then you or your child will struggle. The issues with bullying and the administration's lack of action was also concerning. Choosing to ignore those that bully, because their parents write bigger checks. As the school is attempting to grow they are sadly losing touch with why many chose the school in the first place. Newer teachers struggle and have no support and many fall in the public school mindset. The new leadership at the lower school was poor to say the least and the turnover in the middle elementary grades was high after this year. Research it closely and talk to those who have left. Not those that "walk the line' and are still there.

Northeast Christian Academy 5

Posted February 01, 2016
- a parent
NCA is a tremendous school, and my wife and I are continually impressed with the quality of instruction and leadership our children receive. We have been a part of the school for nearly ten years, and are very pleased. We are confident they will be well prepared for college and life as well. It is a very challenging, Christ-centered environment for which we are truly grateful to be a part of.


Northeast Christian Academy 2

Posted January 30, 2016
- a parent
This school is fine for some kids, but the kids must fit the NCA (now called Covenant) mold. It is not a good school for kids who are very creative, highly gifted, or have any learning differences. There is also a problem with bullying in some grade levels. The administration is disconnected from what is actually going on with its students (even though they profess to know). And while the teachers strive to teach an advanced curriculum, they fail to provide in-class enrichment when clearly needed by some students. There is no willingness to provide any accommodations for students at all; there is a strong culture of conformity and rigidity. If your child loves sports and likes a conformist, rigid environment, then you may have luck here. If not, save yourself the time, money, and stress and send your child somewhere else.

Northeast Christian Academy
Grateful to: Parent

Posted September 20, 2015
- a parent
The one good thing at this school are the supportive parents. Most of them are friendly and do what they can to be involved with the kids and the school.

Northeast Christian Academy 5

Posted March 26, 2015
- a parent
We have been impressed with the quality of the administration and staff. Kids are challenged academically and taught from a meta-narrative that leads them to wisdom and truth instead of just giving them facts and figures. The school actively tries to instill a wonder and love for learning. They are taught to be great thinkers in the classical Christian tradition so they can be life long learners. The new campus next year for high school is fantastic and will really lend itself to the Socratic method the school utilizes. The culture is loving and behavioral issues are handled by applying biblical truth. NCA is serious about developing Christian minds in its students that have a full grasp of and love for the true, the good and the beautiful.


Northeast Christian Academy 4

Posted September 23, 2014
- a parent
Northeast Christian has many excellent, dedicated faculty in the Upper School and an excellent Head of School. The instructors are qualified in their fields and actually like to teach. The classical education NCA offers is very good. The Kingwood market desperately needs an elite, classical college prep school and NCA, under current leadership, has done a good job of fitting that bill. However, if this school ever hopes to be considered an elite school, it must break with the old ways of doing things. It must enforce rules of conduct and punish those who break the rules. It must allow high-achievers to separate themselves from the rest of the class and not be dragged down by students who would rather disrupt than learn. And, finally, it must turn those students away who either cannot handle the academic rigor or who refuse to conform to the school's standards. The new location and plans for the new facility will be a big improvement for future classes. All in all, this is an excellent alternative to the huge, impersonal and overcrowded public schools in the area. If you don't want to expose yoru child to the public school, this is a good place to turn.

Northeast Christian Academy 5

Posted June 11, 2014
- a parent
As a former teacher and current parent, I could not be more pleased with the improvements I have seen at NCA over the past several years. My children have received a truly excellent education. They are challenged intellectually and academically, and they have been taught the importance of honoring God in all they do. I am most impressed with the quality and commitment of the teaching faculty. The engage the students and invest in their lives. Certainly the facilities are dated and need improvement; however, I believe the leadership is working to address this and possibly purchase land to move the campus.

Northeast Christian Academy 1

Posted February 24, 2014
- a community member
Horrible place to teach and the parents run the school, not the administration. It's a customer service business, not a school. The building is old, run down and moldy. The classrooms are tiny, suffocating and most the time the AH or heater doesn't work. I don't understand how the place is even still around. I wish I could rank it zero stars.


Northeast Christian Academy 5

Posted May 29, 2013
- a community member
I have been associated with NCA for years as my nephews have attended for their entire school careers (with one graduating this year). Regarding SAT and placement scores, my nephew scored perfectly on the Math portion of the SAT and has been offered over $300,000 in scholarships from various universities across the country. The academics are certainly something to be proud of. As a certified teacher who has taught in, and been an advocate for, public schools, I feel I have a strong basis for comparison. I recently took some time off from teaching full-time to be with my own family more and have taken the opportunity to substitute at NCA. I have consistently been nothing but impressed with the staff, the students, and the parents at NCA. It is truly a breath of fresh air when you walk into their building on a school day.

Northeast Christian Academy 4

Posted January 27, 2013
- a parent
Great improvement over Humble ISD schools. My daughter ecently starting attending and I am satisfied thus far! Looking forward to many more positive experiences.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Northeast Christian Academy
1711 Hamblen Road, Houston, TX  77339
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 32 reviews. (281) 359-1090
Last modified Northeast Christian Academy is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Top