Advertisement
Advertisement

St. Catherines Montessori

Private | PK-9 | 260 students

Our school is best know for our dedicated faculty and staff.

 
 

Living in Houston

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $345,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $910.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 7, 2014

There has been lots of teacher/guide turnover over the past 2 years, including the departure of two much-loved and highly-regarded primary guides. No explanation to the parents as to why they left. In a school community where "community" and communication is allegedly prided and of primary importance, I find the lack of communication on this matter alarmingly unfortunate.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2013

This was once a great school, but has significantly declined due to a serious lack of leadership by the Head of School. This person came into the position with no administrative experience whatsoever. She lacks professionalism, passion, basic business acumen, and more fundamentally, leadership skills. The faculty and staff know this, but hide it from the parents, and bury their heads to keep their jobs. To the school's credit, the Primary classes (3-6) are fantastic, because the teachers are fantastic. The upper levels lack boundaries, guidance and consequences. The middle school children spend more time gardening than learning actual skills needed for success later in life. The elementary children behave like Lord of the Flies, and bullying is rampant. This will be my child's last year at SCM.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2011

Our child thrived in spite of the lack of leadership and inconsistent management. There are/were some very great teachers at this school and because of that children can do well. That being said, iI would caution that as a parent the leadership has been dishonest, vindictive and outright cruel in dealing with parents that may bring up suggestions that are not popular or criticize any policy or change. At the moment the attitude is that if it works for your child shut up and be happy. There doesn't seem to be any real community feel in terms of feedback and participation. If you are not in the special circle of parents that will not question the leadership you may not enjoy this experience. We are lucky that we were fortunate to have great teachers who are alas now gone. You may have a good experience but please know there is a risk. I believe the toddler program is strong but its hard to recommend the rest without this caveat of meet with the teachers and talk to the parents and also know the principal will make decisions based on her opinions and not much feedback or only feedback from members she deems worthy. However, if flagpoles are important I guess you are in luck.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2010

I am happy to say thst the school now houses a beautiful American flag flying on its pole! The school is a great community that taught my children well. The transition of a new principal will go well due in part to the strong parent participation. We will always be grateful and recommend our friends and others to this wonderful place!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2010

Sending our children to this school has been the greatest gift we have ever given them. The teachers, staff, student body and parents are wonderful. This is a world-class Montessori school dedicated to the love for learning, taking care of the earth, and loving God.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2010

For the first three years, we loved this school. Our child was learning, making friends, and the parent community is wonderful. However, in June 2009, the principal just announced (without notice to the parents), that she decided to switch teachers in primary -- and she still has not explained the reasons why. Then, in the fall of 2009, the principal announced that she was canceling the after-hours Spanish program -- again, without notice to the parents. It is very difficult to recommend St. Catherine;s at this time, because we are unsure what the principal will decide next and how it will affect the learning environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2009

We have four children here and love the experience. The children are nutured by the staff and they truly have the passion to learn! I only wish that SCM had a more structured Catholic focus with more catechism taught and would consider adding a flag pole to display our beautiful American Flag. As a parent working with the PSO, I hope to see that goal accomplished in the very near future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2009

At an AMI school, the child is expected to engage in the materials by themselves with the teacher acting as the observer. The materials are considered inviting and, as such, should attract the attention of the child. If however, the child is not engaged in the material, redirection (verbal) is given. This is an AMI school. If the child is not engaging in the materials, this AMI school will not go beyond its ideaolgical limitations to engage the child. At an AMS school, the focus is on ensuring the engagement of the child. The teacher is an integral part of the learning process and adapts to the needs of the child to ensure the best possible result. Please be aware, this is not an AMS school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2009

Preaching the need for diversity and actually accepting diversity in the student population are two different things. The schools teaching population lacks significant diveresity. The treatment received by diverse students is questionable at best at this time. Leadership is lacking in this area. Until the school's leadership does more to diversify its teachers (not its assistants), live by the Christian teachings it promotes, and addresses teachers who do not engage children from diverse backgrounds, I cannot recommend this school. It must do more than pay lip service to Maria Montessori's philosophy and it must accept all children as children of God. I cannot say that it does so at this time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2007

I love this school and more importantly, my daughter loves it. The teachers, administration and staff genuinely care about the students and their success.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2006

I would run out of space if I said everything that I like about this school. From the administration to the teachers to the parents and children. This school is exceptional. Big things and details... everything is given so much attention and care.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2006

This school was great for our child.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Gardening teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Gardening teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Gardening

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Clubs
  • Gardening

Gifted & talented

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:15 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Susan Tracy
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • Infant
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • AMS
Fax number
  • (713) 665-1478

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Montessori
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Counseling
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Parent center
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Gymnastics
  • Soccer
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Gymnastics
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Gardening
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

Submit your application by

February 13, 2014

 
 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$8000 - $11000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Strake Jesuit
St. Agnes Academy
St. Thomas High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9821 Timberside
Houston, TX 77025
Website: Click here
Phone: (713) 665-2195

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Avondale House
Houston, TX







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT