Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Texas Christian School

Private | PK-12

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Houston

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $112,200. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $990.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 9 ratings
2011:
Based on 6 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

25 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 17, 2014

TCS is an amazing school. Very family oriented, strives for every student to reach their full potential and go to whatever college they want. The teachers genuinely care about each student. Students who graduate from TCS get major scholarships if not full rides to college. I know many graduates from TCS and see alumni around the school all the time. My son will be graduating in two years and we are very proud and excited for his future. Do not pay attention to any negative talk. The school is amazing and our family loves it at TCS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2014

Texas Christian is an amazing school! It is small. The average class is 16 - 18 kids but what parent wouldn't want that kind of number in a classroom. The academics are more than challenging. My son started multiplication in kindergarten. Students who come and visit for the day always want to come back the very next day. They feel welcome, at home, and can tell the teachers go the extra mile to help each individual student.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 25, 2014

WORST SCHOOL MY SON HAS ATTENDED. This school is all about the money and don't care for the well being of their students. There is no security for kids. Anybody can take a child and they wont even noticed. I have had my husband, my mom, my mother in law, my sister pick him up only one relative is in the pick up list ...but they have NEVER asked for ID nor nothing.. My mom picks my son up everyday and they have no idea if he left or not. Every little thing is about money. I know it is a business at the en of the day but they are quick in letting your child starve all if he/she doesn't have money to pay for food. It is ridiculous not very christian at all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2014

The school is okay for children who do not aim high for academics. It is good for kids who struggle in big schools socially. However, they are far behind in academics. We pulled my child and put her in the Katy public school and struggled academically in the beginning because she was not taught well at TCS. She is doing very well now into 2 years at public school academically and socially. It is a shame since we paid extra tuition to send our child here at TCS and yet didn't get enough education for my child. At least we found out before it was too late. My daughter went to TCS until 7th grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2014

Texas Christian has does wonders for our children. Socially they have blossomed and regularly have get together with their classmates which never happened in their other school, academically they are challenged and are learning things that older kids in public school don t know and then spiritually they are being fed each day which is a huge blessing. We love TCS and can t wait to see them graduate!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2013

There are so many reasons we chose to enroll our children at TCS. They offer challenging academics, spiritual encouragement and activities that our children enjoy as do many other schools. What really grabbed us about TCS was the warmth and love we felt when we walked in the doors. There is just something different about TCS. My daughter is doing amazing and loves coming to school and my son was so impressed about how welcoming the students were when he came in as the new kid. As everyone is saying, this truly is a spiritual family. We love this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2012

The Best! There is no way that you could attend this school and not come out more advanced academically and be more knowledgeable about the Bible. The teachers here are super, the curriculum really is very challenging, and the environment is 100 times better than public. No school is perfect but this school is a family. My kids will graduate from TCS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2012

I attended Tcs for almost 8 years. Although I made a lot of great friends growing up there, I also think that people there could be so cruel. The students that attended that school were awful and had their noses in the air for who knows what reason. And what's sad is that a lot of those students had parents who were part of faculty and staff. I never learned anything from that school at all. They passed me every year even though my grades were horrible! It probably has to do with the nice check my parents were sending in every month! And if you think that private school automatically means a better environment then you may be wrong! I am not bashing all private schools but from personal experience I feel nothing but scarred after attending Texas Christian school for so long. What a waste of money. Not only was I abused by my classmates but I never learned anything! I finally transferred to public school and had to really learn how to have self discipline! It was definitely difficult building up the motivation to exceed in my studies after years of enabling and indifference from the Tcs faculty. In my experience, public school was much more bearable then Tcs.


Posted August 25, 2012

This school is beyond excellent! The staff is warm and caring. My son is happy and wants to go to school daily. I am so thrilled for him. I looked at other schools when trying to decide where he should start Kindergarten and this was the only school where I felt the staff was truly sincere. Becky Soliz is absolutely fantastic.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2012

My son has always been picked on in school. Nothing too bad but he came home everyday saying: "This kid called me this, this kid threw my pencil, they cuss all the time, etc." He asked me to find a place where he didn't have to hear all the mess every single day. I called Texas Christian and spoke to Mrs. Soliz. We toured, my son visited for a day, and he now wants to graduate from TCS. He loves going to school, the academics are more challenging, and I never hear him complain. TCS is a blessing to our family. Thank you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2012

We love going to TCS. We are new to the family of TCS and we have had a wonderful experience already. I was looking for a place where my daughter would actually do real academic lessons and bible. Some where she would feel comfortable talking about the things of God as well as learn academics. Me & my daughter senses that TCS has a different atmosphere(Christ) than the public school. The staff are professional and friendly. Family oriented, use natural products for cleaning.God led us to the right place!!!Were happy about TCS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2012

Beyond thrilled!!! All we ever heard about TCS was how great it was. We were so excited when we were accepted but did not expect it would be this great. My kindergartener is reading books, is working on second grade sight words, is learning multiplication, knows technology better than most of our family, has beautiful handwriting as well as cursive, is learning Spanish, loves her teachers, doesn t want me to come pick her up, hates when we have days off of school, is taking piano lessons, the list just keeps going on. My fourth grader loves coming to school which is the biggest blessing because normally I would be dragging him, his confidence has grown so much and his favorite class is Bible. There is no other school like TCS. Absolutely the best. Thank you to all the teachers and Mrs. Beckie! We love you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2012

I love Texas Christian School! I couldn't imgaine myself being any where else! Been apart of the family for over 12 years now. The school is Biblically based and it reflects. The students are on fire for Christ, families are involved in any way possible and the staff is simply the best! Keep up the awesome work Tigers!!!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 29, 2012

As I read through other reviews I can't help but to nod my head in agreeance to everyone's emphasis on "apart of the family." It's so true! Not a single student, parent, staff or faculty is a stranger or outsider. Everyone is a team who works together creating a Christ centered environment. I can't say enough good things about Texas Christian School. As a parent, it's everything and more than I could want in my son's and daughter's everyday educational program. I always see alumni at the school coming back to see old friends and teacher's and always hear them saying they miss the family. Can't imagine my children graduating from anywhere else but TCS! It really is the best!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2012

Super school! Great staff that will work with you. Biblically based world view without compromising quality education. I have spoken to several alumni who come and visit and they all say they were more than prepared for college and were accepted into the college of their choice. We love TCS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2011

All I can say is WOW!!! Texas Christian School is an excellent school where the teachers really do care about thier student's education and spiritual life. I finally found the place where my children will be till they graduate!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2011

We LOVE TCS! Our family moved to Texas almost three years ago. We visited other Christian schools in the area but NONE compared to TCS. When we met the administration, we felt like FAMILY :) Thank youTCS for making the last two years WONDERFUL! The administration and teachers are some of the most GODLY, LOVING and CARING people we have ever met. God is at work here and we cant wait to see what is in store.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2011

THE BEST SCHOOL AROUND!!! My kids are doing great and have never been happier! TCS is the best decision we have made for our family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2011

great school with a wonderful heart thats a besk kept secret around. Just wish it was run like big school and attract more kids
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2011

Because we wanted more than a room full of kids for my 4 yr. old to "hang out" in all day. We wanted a warm and caring environment where she can learn and grow. TCS has given us that and so much more! We could not be happier with our decision to be part of the TCS family.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 64% 31%
Hispanic 18% 51%
Black 10% 13%
Asian or Pacific Islander 7% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Two or more races N/A 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ABS
  • ACSI
Fax number
  • (281) 550-2400

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

17810 Kieth Harrow Boulevard
Houston, TX 77084
Phone: (281) 550-6060

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT