Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Rainard School

Private | K-12 | 68 students

Our school is best known for educating gifted students.

 
 

Living in Houston

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $160,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $860.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 12 ratings
2013:
Based on 18 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 8 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

53 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 15, 2011

This is my student's 8th year at Rainard. I previously wrote a glowing review because Rainard was truly a GREAT school, but that is no longer the reality. A serious word of caution to parents considering this school for their child...request the opportunity to interview the teacher of the class your child will be placed in BEFORE you enroll. After a chaotic classroom experience in 2009-10, we hesitantly re-enrolled after an unsuccessful search for an alternative. Our experience in 2010-11 has been an excrutiating disappointment and our family (including the student) has unanimously agreed that we will not return and may not finish out the school year. Huge disappointment...the joy-filled learning environment that sustained our first 6 years has been so distorted over the past 2 years that we no longer recognize it. Truly sad.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2010

Be very careful. My child went to this school for several years and it used to be a very good school for Gifted Children. The 2009-10 school year was abysmal. Many of the fundamentals of the school were changed. Communication with the parents was terrible. The Saxon Math comments below are right on. We were one of a large number of students who left at the end of this year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2010

The Rainard school is very good and my son is flourishing there in their positive environment. I was worried at first about the program not having a rigid structure, but that turned out to be a positive not a negative. The post about Saxon Math may have a little validity to it - my child asked me to tutor him in his math (which is not a problem for me). Overall, his math is doing very well, he just wanted to catch up and pass other students. The overall results from the school are excellent. I have accepted the way they teach because of the results. I am a very structured and disciplined person so I had to take a step back and review from a larger perspective. I am very satisfied with my child's progress.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2010

Rainard's math program is a joke. They use Saxon math which when used correctly can be good. However, the students teach themselves which is not how Saxon is intended to be used. The people at Saxon will tell you that it is not intended to be a self-teaching curriculum. The way Rainard uses Saxon amounts math worksheets with only about ten minutes of instruction per student per every three days. Children who once loved math are bored and falling behind unless they have hired outside tutors or are being taught by their parents at home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2009

Rainard School is the only place for gifted students in Houston, does a great job of nurturing the joy of learning and getting out of the kids' way.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2009

I enjoy the tailored academics and that my kids do well socially at this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2009

Rainard is amazing! Nutures and encourages gifted children. A daunting task at times!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2009

Rainard is the only school for gifted kids in Houston. It understands their different needs and learning styles and helps them in many different aspects of their lives.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2009

It's the only place in Houston where gifted kids are loved and respected for their differences and are offered the education they so greatly deserve.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted December 12, 2008

Rainard is a truly unique school that has given our son the freedom and support to excel and achieve to his full potential. It has really been a blessing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2008

My son graduated from 8th grade and was able to go into most 10th grade classes at Katy High. He is now attending UT very successfully and will graduate early thanks to advanced classes taught individually at Rainard.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2008

If you have perfect children with perfect lives, by all means, send them to this school. If you or your children are less than perfect you must either accept the psychoanalysis of the teachers and administration or leave, and sometimes both.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2008

Very innovative school with great teachers. Every student can work on her/his own (advanced) level and pace without being hold back by age or grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 78% 31%
Two or more races 10% 2%
Asian or Pacific Islander 6% 4%
Hispanic 4% 51%
Black 1% 13%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Percentage of students going to 4-year college 100% (2013)
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff French
German
Russian
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Industrial shop
  • Science lab
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • Computer programming
Clubs
  • Robotics club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
Music
  • Band
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • German
  • Russian
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Gifted / high performing
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:15 am
School end time
  • 3:30 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 5:45 a.m.
School Leader's name
  • Tara Tomicic, Ph.D.
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
  • www.rainard.org
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • SACS
Fax number
  • (713) 365-0372

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Advanced placement courses
  • College prep
  • Core knowledge
  • Direct instruction
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Individually guided instruction
  • Multi-aged
  • Project-based
  • STEM
  • Singapore Math and STEMscopes
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • Computer programming

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • German
  • Russian
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Career/college counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Industrial shop
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • None
Girls sports
  • None

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Band
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Chess club
  • Robotics club
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Neither uniforms nor dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$14000 - $17000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships

Planning ahead

College preparation / awareness offered
Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
College presentations or information sessions
Students' post-graduation plans in 2013
4 year college - 100%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

11059 Timberline Rd
Houston, TX 77043
Website: Click here
Phone: (713) 647-7246

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

The Branch School
Houston, TX







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT