Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

The Shlenker School

Private | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Houston

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $251,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $840.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 15, 2013

There is so much to appreciate about this school. The physical space alone is uplifting, bright and cheery. The teachers are caring, the classes small, and the curriculum stimulating. My graduate had ample opportunity to speak in front of the school, and she became a confident student through the years. They have issues, like all schools. The judaics could be a bit more lively, one teacher in second grade is terrible. (they give her a smaller class, to their credit)....but the good so outweighs the bad, I hate to even mention those things. The PE 5 days a week is excellent, tons of physical activity.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2010

The teachers ares superb. The Head of School is remarkable. You have suffer the lightweight , cranky, and leaderless Jewish Studies program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2009

Amazing education, great teachers! This is how all education should be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2008

I have one child at The Shlenker School, and another who graduated. My middle schooler was so prepared that teacher's often comment on how they love kids from Shlenker. We didn't initially consider a Jewish Day school since we are reform, but it has been an amazing experience. Not only are my kids well educated, but they are learning about community, values, and the world.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2008

I have had two children graduate from this school. The Shlenker School has taught my children to be independent thinkers, self confident, and able to succeed in their middle school environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2008

I have three children at this school, ranging from age 3 to age 9. As a conservative Jew, we belong to another synagogue which also has a day school. We chose Shlenker over the other school because of its excellence in academics and social community. In addition to the outstanding academics, the children of all ages spend a great deal of time learning about being a whole person - thoughtful and considerate of their friends, neighbors, and the environment. The value-based education is a superior choice for any and all students - Jewish and non-Jewish. I am particularly impressed with the teachers and specialists. At all levels of learning and ability, they spark a love for learning and a sense of pride in all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2008

I have a graduate who went to St. John's and was extremely well prepared for everything that has come her way. The best thing about Shlenker is that the teachers find the special quality your child has and nurture it to help them reach their full potential. Children and families grow up in the Shlenker Community with a great foundation in academics, and leave the school with a strong sense of who they are, confidence and appreciation for their fellow classmates. The Jewish curriculum is interwoven so that it helps the children build an identity but not overdone to take away from academic focus. Both my children have been excited to go to school each day and have a love of learning. It's a great place to start.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2008

Being a conservative Jew, I have no reason to send my children here. I do it because it is such an innovative, progressive school. We have been so happy. My children love learning, crave books on their own, have Hebrew and PE every day, as well as art, music and computer at least once a week. educaiton to
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2008

I am sure it is great for Jewish families. Non-Jewish families are encouraged to join but then are outcasts for the most part. Education is very centered around Jewish learning, even in early childhood classes (even when they tell you they aren't). The building is very nice, and everything is up-to-date.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2007

Our family was new to The Shlenker School last year. We are VERY pleased with this school. Our daughter is in kindergarten this year and it is a wonderful experience. Her kindergarten teacher is fantastic as well as all of the specialty teachers. She loves going to school! Excellent staff, excellent facilities...Highly recommended.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2006

The 3 kindergarten classes all have 16-18 students without benefit of a teacher's aid even though in many publications a pupil-teacher ratio of 8-1 is advertised. Reading and math instruction suffer as a result. The school is well organized and disciplne seems to be a main focus.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2005

My son has attended preschool there. Excellent curriculum and great learning environment; the after school program could probably benefit from more challenging activities (right now is a bit more of a babysitting program) but other than that, I would send my second child there in a heartbeat.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 93% 31%
Hispanic 5% 51%
Two or more races 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Pacific Islander 0% 4%
Black 0% 13%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ricki Komiss
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Jewish
Associations
  • ISAS
Fax number
  • (713) 270-6114

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5600 North Braeswood Boulevard
Houston, TX 77096
Website: Click here
Phone: (713) 270-6127

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Sephardic Gan
Houston, TX






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT