Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-5|Private
375 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
13 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 13 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


The Shlenker School 5

Posted September 15, 2013
- a parent
There is so much to appreciate about this school. The physical space alone is uplifting, bright and cheery. The teachers are caring, the classes small, and the curriculum stimulating. My graduate had ample opportunity to speak in front of the school, and she became a confident student through the years. They have issues, like all schools. The judaics could be a bit more lively, one teacher in second grade is terrible. (they give her a smaller class, to their credit)....but the good so outweighs the bad, I hate to even mention those things. The PE 5 days a week is excellent, tons of physical activity.

The Shlenker School 5

Posted May 25, 2010
- a parent
The teachers ares superb. The Head of School is remarkable. You have suffer the lightweight , cranky, and leaderless Jewish Studies program.


The Shlenker School 5

Posted January 29, 2009
- a parent
Amazing education, great teachers! This is how all education should be.

The Shlenker School 5

Posted November 29, 2008
- a parent
I have one child at The Shlenker School, and another who graduated. My middle schooler was so prepared that teacher's often comment on how they love kids from Shlenker. We didn't initially consider a Jewish Day school since we are reform, but it has been an amazing experience. Not only are my kids well educated, but they are learning about community, values, and the world.

The Shlenker School 5

Posted November 19, 2008
- a parent
I have had two children graduate from this school. The Shlenker School has taught my children to be independent thinkers, self confident, and able to succeed in their middle school environment.


The Shlenker School 5

Posted November 19, 2008
- a parent
I have three children at this school, ranging from age 3 to age 9. As a conservative Jew, we belong to another synagogue which also has a day school. We chose Shlenker over the other school because of its excellence in academics and social community. In addition to the outstanding academics, the children of all ages spend a great deal of time learning about being a whole person - thoughtful and considerate of their friends, neighbors, and the environment. The value-based education is a superior choice for any and all students - Jewish and non-Jewish. I am particularly impressed with the teachers and specialists. At all levels of learning and ability, they spark a love for learning and a sense of pride in all.

The Shlenker School 5

Posted November 19, 2008
- a parent
I have a graduate who went to St. John's and was extremely well prepared for everything that has come her way. The best thing about Shlenker is that the teachers find the special quality your child has and nurture it to help them reach their full potential. Children and families grow up in the Shlenker Community with a great foundation in academics, and leave the school with a strong sense of who they are, confidence and appreciation for their fellow classmates. The Jewish curriculum is interwoven so that it helps the children build an identity but not overdone to take away from academic focus. Both my children have been excited to go to school each day and have a love of learning. It's a great place to start.

The Shlenker School 5

Posted November 18, 2008
- a parent
Being a conservative Jew, I have no reason to send my children here. I do it because it is such an innovative, progressive school. We have been so happy. My children love learning, crave books on their own, have Hebrew and PE every day, as well as art, music and computer at least once a week. educaiton to


The Shlenker School 3

Posted May 06, 2008
- a parent
I am sure it is great for Jewish families. Non-Jewish families are encouraged to join but then are outcasts for the most part. Education is very centered around Jewish learning, even in early childhood classes (even when they tell you they aren't). The building is very nice, and everything is up-to-date.

The Shlenker School 5

Posted November 16, 2007
- a parent
Our family was new to The Shlenker School last year. We are VERY pleased with this school. Our daughter is in kindergarten this year and it is a wonderful experience. Her kindergarten teacher is fantastic as well as all of the specialty teachers. She loves going to school! Excellent staff, excellent facilities...Highly recommended.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

The Shlenker School
5600 North Braeswood Boulevard, Houston, TX  77096
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. (713) 270-6127
Last modified The Shlenker School is a Private school that serves grades PK-5
Top