Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Montessori Learning Institute

Private | K

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Houston

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $84,400. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $780.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Saturday, August 23, 2014

I have very mixed fillings about this school. First the class was overcrowded - 2 teachers for 22 students 3-5 years old is a bit too much. Teacher's experience and skills are pretty limited. Maybe if you are from India it works better. Otherwise school teachers were doing nothing but complaining and asking parents to do all the job. And I mean academical and social education, not extended day - on extended day children just play on their own with teachers supervision. I would look for the school with more friendly and enthusiastic teachers, yes it could be a bit more expensive although not necessarily, but spent searching time is worth it. And there are better schools - check around.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 26, 2013

Very unprofessional staff. Do not recommend at all. My step son just turned 4 and is constantly being picked on even if it is violating state and federal laws! Asking a parent to medicate a 4 year old child is completely unacceptable especially when they are pressuring the parent to do so! This school did not offer any other kind of discipline accept to turn a healthy exuberant child into a complete emotionless zombie. No thanks!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 26, 2013

This school is not the place for anyone who wants their children happy. They DO NOT nurture the kids and show them love. They will have a meeting with you every month if you child does not act like they are in the military. My son was immediately pulled out after being told by the principal that I needed to medicate my 4yr old son. ( that is breaking a federal law) The teachers were all very rude. If you are a single or young parent good luck! They do not want anything to do with you. Because I am young(ish) I was undermined as a parent from the whole staff. They want your child to have no personality and no creativity. Just a zombie. Do not waste your money at this school. Take your child somewhere where they can actually be a kid and enjoy their time at school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2013

My son is in the beginning primary class. He is 3 about to be 4, he has struggled with a speech delay. Ms. Netasha has made me beyond excited for my son to be here. She updates me daily and tells me the specifics of my sons day. You can really see the love and the care from her. He is learning so much, and I know she is a huge factor behind that. She works with his speech along with the daily routine of the class. I will keep my son here till the 5th grade and she is a big reason why.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2013

MLI has a tremendous staff and curriculum. The children are treated as individuals and nurtured as such. Those who can do more are challenged at each level. Thanks to their instruction my daughter is more than 2 years above level in every area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2012

My kid just finished 5th grade at MLI and is moving on to middle school. I think the school has done a terrific job educating him and preparing him for what is to come. His teacher was dedicated and encouraged him to pursue his interests, but at the same time, ensured all his basics were learned well. The school is small and not flashy but it works and there is a genuinely warm feeling surrounding it. The principal is passionate about educating kids and it shows.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2012

My daughter attended MLI for two years as a preschooler. It provided her with a wonderful environment for learning and growth. The staff were friendly and caring. She talked about the school and her teachers for years after she left.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2012

A wonderful small school that concentrates on academics and social skills. Small class size with experienced teachers. Perfect for our family who just want our child to learn the basics properly and thoroughly, and for not become lost in a large school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2008

Terrific school. Loving teachers that really foster the development of intelligent, responsible, well adjusted kids. My daughter just turned 4 and she is reading, writing, doing math problems and is incredibly respectful. Couldn't be happier.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2008

MLI is a real Houston treasure. My child was able to develop academically and socially in a peaceful,respectful,and nurturing community. We highly recommend MLI.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2007

My child attends MLI (Pre-k) and I can't say enough about the quality of education. As everyone says, the external 'look' of the facilities aren't anything special, but if you get past that, you will find amazing, committed and loving teachers, organized classrooms and a real flexibility we so appreciate. My suggestions are to upgrade the facilities and better facilitate interaction with the parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2007

We had our child in MLI for 2 years. Truly a godsend in the beginning. As our child grew and changed classrooms, the next teacher (who had been there for yrs) was by far the less professional of all, but when the owner became involved she was the most disappointing of all. I believe she wants the best for the children, however, lacks the skills of running a business. corners are cut and staff is ever-turning. Perhaps a office manager and city inspection would help. As for curriculum, top notch. the children do learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2007

My child has attended MLI for the past year, and I can honestly say that I feel it is one of the best deals in the city. I am an educator myself, and I find the level of professionalism of the teahers, the quality of the curriculum and the overall care to be top notch. Mr. and Mrs. Vo and their staff far exceeded my expectations. They have truly devoted their lives to educating the young, and it is obvious to me that they love what they do.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2006

My child attended MLI for 3 years. I was happy with the academic side but was disappointed with the level of professionalism of the teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2006

Being a parent and past staff member I can say without a doubt that M.L.I. was a great foundation for me and my son. It helped me become the teacher that I am today. It is also a great training facility for future Montessori teachers. It may not look like a school of riches on the outside but the inside is full of treasures. Very rich in education and family involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2005

This school is small but friendly. The teachers really try hard to make it a good experience for the kids. The management should get a new playground for the kids though and develop some more extracurricular activities. They should chill down a bit on the 'over disciplining' they have and nurture the students' individuality more.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2005

Good school , but a new playground is due and they should stop being so much focussed on 'controlling' student behavior and should nurture their individuality more by giving them more freedom and the teachers should show more respect to the kids and not talk to them in a loud voice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2004

I'm a former student, I went to MLI all the way through 5th grade. I feel that MLI gave me an incredible leg up over other students and a wonderful foundation both morally and educationally on which to grow. Currently I'm working on my Bachelors degree on a double major in science and art with a minor in education. Mrs. Vo is an amazing principle and the other teachers are phenominal. If you get a chance to sit in on a lesson by all means do so. Mrs. Vo is a hands on principal who often sits in on lessons and even leads them.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 53% 31%
Hispanic 21% 51%
Asian or Pacific Islander 18% 4%
Black 8% 13%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • AMS

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Montessori

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5701 Beechnut Street
Houston, TX 77074
Phone: (713) 771-5600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Sutton Elementary
Houston, TX


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT