Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

38 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
23 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 30 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Montessori Learning Institute
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted March 04, 2016
- a parent
They never give up on any of the children even when some can be difficult.

Montessori Learning Institute 5

Posted March 04, 2016
- a parent
I arrived in Houston in 2013 and bought a house in Bellaire. I started looking around for a good school for my children, as all parents does! I was told about Montessori Learning Institute. It may look small and old but it is a wonderful school! So I went to have a look and I've feel so bless ever since. Both my children grown and learned in this loving environment. They turned into an independent little person. My 4 yr old started reading from not knowing his alphabets in 3 weeks. And my 3 yr old wrote her own name (7 letters) and started reading to!!! Basically, if you want your children to have a strong foundation, learn with having fun and be loved by everyone in the school, this is where you should be! Save your money and time on extra tuition outside school. As they wouldn't need them if they go to this school.


Montessori Learning Institute 4

Posted January 02, 2016
- a parent
MLI offers a loving environment and is dedicated to preparing your toddler to not only learn and love learning but also to be polite and compassionate.

Montessori Learning Institute 5

Posted November 19, 2015
- a parent
My son has been in MLI since 2006 and now he is at 7th grade, he is very happy to be here and 9 years in MLI will tell you everything :-)

Montessori Learning Institute 4

Posted January 06, 2015
- a parent
My 3.5 yo child has been here for about 7 months now. He is doing great. He loves his teacher and classmates. The teachers/aids are all very helpful and great with the kids. They are stern, but still gentle and very warm to the children. I know my kid is very hyper, stubborn, and talks way too much, but they have never mentioned anything about medication. They tell me the good and bad of his daily activity. They've never made any implications about parenting or lack thereof. The bad remarks below, all within 3-days, appear to be by the same person. The statement "maybe being ok in India" is a very ignorant thing to say. My child is eurasian (quite a few others incidentally) and there is an excellent mix of cultures in this tiny school. His current teacher is Indian, but i see no reason why that is relevant, she is an excellent and friendly teacher. The other teachers/assistants are Latino, Black, and Caucasian, while owner/teacher is Vietnamese.My son is always happy when I pick him up often times I have to pull him out the door. He always enjoys talking about class and its clear he respects his current teacher. I wish I could say that about homelife :)


Montessori Learning Institute 5

Posted October 30, 2014
- a parent
I have noticed a couple of harsh reviews on this site recently. I don't understand them at all and I really think those parents have an agenda that isn't being met in their own mind. Personally, my kids are exceeding the expectations I had for them at this age. By her second birthday my daughter was counting to 40 and was singing nursery rhymes and the alphabet song. Could also count backwards from 10 to zero. I feel the staff is extremely welcoming, and is quick to take items and your child off your hands so you can get to work. Parents have told me other schools expect you to calm your child and put all materials from home where they belong without any help. And, the staff doesn't panic if your child coughs, expecting you to run there and take them home. The ONLY complaint I have is that the parking lot at the Beechnut school is too small, but I don't know if there's much that can be done about the situation. A lot of stems from careless parents that don't have any general parking courtesy, including blocking the damned exit even though there are open spots. In short, I have no complaints about MLI, and that is after putting two kids through two years of the school.

Montessori Learning Institute 1

Posted August 23, 2014
- a parent
I have very mixed fillings about this school. First the class was overcrowded - 2 teachers for 22 students 3-5 years old is a bit too much. Teacher's experience and skills are pretty limited. Maybe if you are from India it works better. Otherwise school teachers were doing nothing but complaining and asking parents to do all the job. And I mean academical and social education, not extended day - on extended day children just play on their own with teachers supervision. I would look for the school with more friendly and enthusiastic teachers, yes it could be a bit more expensive although not necessarily, but spent searching time is worth it. And there are better schools - check around.

Montessori Learning Institute 1

Posted November 26, 2013
- a parent
Very unprofessional staff. Do not recommend at all. My step son just turned 4 and is constantly being picked on even if it is violating state and federal laws! Asking a parent to medicate a 4 year old child is completely unacceptable especially when they are pressuring the parent to do so! This school did not offer any other kind of discipline accept to turn a healthy exuberant child into a complete emotionless zombie. No thanks!


Montessori Learning Institute 1

Posted November 26, 2013
- a parent
This school is not the place for anyone who wants their children happy. They DO NOT nurture the kids and show them love. They will have a meeting with you every month if you child does not act like they are in the military. My son was immediately pulled out after being told by the principal that I needed to medicate my 4yr old son. ( that is breaking a federal law) The teachers were all very rude. If you are a single or young parent good luck! They do not want anything to do with you. Because I am young(ish) I was undermined as a parent from the whole staff. They want your child to have no personality and no creativity. Just a zombie. Do not waste your money at this school. Take your child somewhere where they can actually be a kid and enjoy their time at school.

Montessori Learning Institute 5

Posted October 22, 2013
- a parent
My son is in the beginning primary class. He is 3 about to be 4, he has struggled with a speech delay. Ms. Netasha has made me beyond excited for my son to be here. She updates me daily and tells me the specifics of my sons day. You can really see the love and the care from her. He is learning so much, and I know she is a huge factor behind that. She works with his speech along with the daily routine of the class. I will keep my son here till the 5th grade and she is a big reason why.

Nearby schools

Montessori Learning Institute
5701 Beechnut Street, Houston, TX  77074
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 30 reviews. (713) 771-5600
Last modified Montessori Learning Institute is a Private school that serves grade K
Top