Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-4|Private
136 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
12 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 21 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Montessori School Downtown
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted December 16, 2015
- a community member
I would like to thank Ms. Sue, she was my kids teacher for three years.

Montessori School Downtown
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted December 16, 2015
- a community member
There are some good teachers in the school. However the turn over is very high especially good teachers leave school as soon as finding another job. Most of the teachers do not have Montessori certification.


Montessori School Downtown
Amount of homework: Don't know

Posted December 16, 2015
- a community member
my kids were in pre-school so they did not have any homework so I do not have any idea about homework.

Montessori School Downtown
Develops grit: Neutral

Posted December 16, 2015
- a community member
I am not sure about that, but in some way try to courage students to learn but I do not agree with their curriculum.

Montessori School Downtown
Develops respect: Disagree

Posted December 16, 2015
- a community member
Actually students in this age are young but respect to their needs are the most important thing, which I did not feel that way during the years my kids were there.


Montessori School Downtown
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted December 16, 2015
- a community member
I strongly disagree because they aim is to make money rather than make kind and caring children. Most of the instructors are not happy with their jobs because of pay, ..... so how they can be caring to our children. I had two kids in this school some years ago.

Montessori School Downtown
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted December 16, 2015
- a community member
What they are advertising is totally different than why they are doing on that school. Inside of class rooms are different than what they are explaining to parents. No real open door policies.

Montessori School Downtown 2

Posted December 16, 2015
- a community member
No age appropriate education. Nothing about Montessori facts and rules. No creativity and respect to individual learning. Forcing to read without teaching concepts. Forcing to write in early ages without working on motor skills. No fun and attractive program such as art, drawing, .... Forcing to take naps. I had two kids in this school and still I feel bad why I sent my kids to this school.


Montessori School Downtown 5

Posted December 18, 2014
- a parent
Myself and my child have had a wonderful experience with the school. The administration and teachers are friendly and professional. I love that they have classes like karate, soccer, art, gymnastics and dance. My child enjoys going to school everyday and talks about using the smartboard and learning Spanish. I would recommend this school over an HISD school any day.

Montessori School Downtown 5

Posted February 05, 2014
- a parent
My child went to the school for 3 years. Each year I saw a big improvement in reading writing and math. Love the small classes, it allows for lots of one on one time with the teacher. We highly recommend this school for children between the grades of kindergarten to 3rd. Many families are from other countries, gives the children an understanding of all the different cultures in our world. If you want a small class room, responsive teachers and personal time for your child I recommend this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Montessori School Downtown
4510 Caroline Street, Houston, TX  77004
(713) 520-6801
Last modified Montessori School Downtown is a Private school that serves grades PK-4
Montessori School Downtown Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. Top