Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Trafton Academy

Private | PK-K, 3-8 | 265 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Houston

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $201,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $780.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 7 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

28 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 21, 2010

trafton is a house and several t-buildings. Lack of educational surroundings shows little care of student body.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2009

I have 4 children that have gone to different public and private middle schools in our area. By far Trafton provides the greatest value. Students thrive in this supportive environment both academically and socially. The extracurricular activities include sports, language and music. Trafton facilitates a smooth transition through the turbulent middle school adolescence experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2008

I am disappointed to find that the administration enjoys writing reviews on their own school. Are they in it for the money? YES!!! As a Trafton alumn, I am always hesitant to admit that I graduated from such a dismal 'institution.' The school may seem like a 'secret jewel,' but don't let this fool you. The teachers are impersonal, degrading, and incompetant. The athetics are open for only the best of athletes, and the school even requires try outs for each sport. Only a few of the kids ever make the team, and the rest are usually left feeling shamed. In my personal experience, I failed to make the basketball team, and track team after 4 years of trying out. However, I joined the track team at my high school (which did not require tryouts), and currently run a 4:10 mile. Trafton has failed many, dont let it fail you.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 25, 2006

Trafton is a wonderful school. They have a strong curriculum with great teachers. I like that they offer an honors curriculum and a regular track curriculum. The sports program is strong, too. My child loves it and is getting a fabulous education! The teachers are engaging and try their hardest to make the kids reach their potential. They have a great language arts curriculum. They write a lot! I can't wait for my younger child to be old enough to go to Trafton in the fourth grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2006

Best kept educational secret in Houston.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 26, 2005

Excellent small school that offers a wide variety of extracurricular activities (sports, music) - similar to larger schools. Two levels of academics - on level and advanced/honors. Teachers and administrators are very approachable. One of Houston's best kept secrets! Great value for the money.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2005

What a wonderful choice for our child!. We enrolled her in the fourth grade because I heard it was harder to get in in the upper grades. I am so glad we did. She excelled and improved greatly in reading and math. The school emphasizes reading, which many schools do not anymore. The teachers and staff are so warm and caring, they truly care about each individual student. This has been such a great experience for our daughter and I feel so blessed that we found this little jewel of a school. It is southwest Houston's best kept secret.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2004

My son attended for 3 yrs. (6th - 8th grades). Benefit was the smaller classes and individual attention. There is a strong sense of community and belonging with the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 90% 31%
Black 6% 13%
Hispanic 3% 51%
Asian or Pacific Islander 1% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Music
  • Band
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
Media arts
  • Computer animation

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:05 am
School end time
  • 3:15 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Sylvia Bryan and Inez Hutchins
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • TAAP
Fax number
  • (713) 723-1844

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
Media arts
  • Computer animation
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Present special topics during curricular units
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4711 Mcdermed Drive
Houston, TX 77035
Website: Click here
Phone: (713) 723-3732

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Cliffwood School
Houston, TX




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT