Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-K, 3-8|Private
265 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
38 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 60 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Trafton Academy 5

Posted April 06, 2016
- a parent
My son is finishing 8th grade at Trafton and I can honestly say it has been the best experience he could have had for middle school. The academics are very strong across the board, and the school culture is warm, caring, and friendly. The education he received fully prepared him for the ISEE test, and I am confident that he is ready for high school because of the great education he has received. The teachers want the students to succeed, and are very available for assistance during breaks and study hall periods. The school was very supportive and helpful throughout the entire high school application process. We will miss Trafton next year!!

Trafton Academy 2

Posted March 09, 2016
- a parent
Very superficial teaching, and no critical thinking skills developed. Apart from the very average academics, school communicates very poorly with parents. There is also no room for a child who doesn't perfectly fit their mold. Tuition is cheap, but you get what you pay for.


Trafton Academy 3

Posted January 21, 2016
- a parent
Competitive academics but poor communication between parents and faculty. Parents not treated as partners in the process. No quality foreign language program whatsoever.

Trafton Academy
Grateful to: School leader

Posted December 12, 2015
- a community member
Thank you to the principal and director. You have created a unique and wonderful school.

Trafton Academy 5

Posted December 12, 2015
- a community member
After a few years at this school, I can really say that we have been very happy with the education for our children. Academics is consistently good and my kids are happy and at home here. Teachers are strict in general but kind and supportive of differences among individual children. Suits those looking for the benefits of a small school community. Core subjects are seriously focused on. The only thing we would wish for is for foreign languages to be taught in the earlier grades. Excellent school!


Trafton Academy 5

Posted February 18, 2015
- a parent
This is our first year at Trafton (4th grade) and we LOVE it. Trafton has been a wonderful place for my son to grow and try new things such as band and tennis. The teachers are very responsive and welcome parent involvement. We have met wonderful families and we are pleased of the friends that he hangs around with in/out of school. My son has excelled academically. We can from a HISD school where he did not use test books, so this was a learning curve for him to study from a book. The smaller classrooms allow him to be a big fish in a small pond. I think most children in the class feel that way too! I would encourage you to take a tour and let your child shadow for day. You will love all that Trafton has to offer.

Trafton Academy 5

Posted January 31, 2015
- a parent
We have been at Trafton for many years and will be there for 5 more years when our youngest graduates 8th grade. Trafton has been a blessing for us because it is the perfect blend between public and private. Expectations are high at Trafton but all the teachers and staff are there to help you succeed. They want you to walk out of Trafton with confidence that you are ready for anything that might come your way in high school. The kids that don't succeed at Trafton are usually the children that don't like to follow the rules set out by someone else and feel they are above them and rules don't pertain to them. By the time you get to the higher grades, the work is challenging but every teacher prepares their curriculum in a way that every child can succeed if they put forth the effort. There will be no grades "given" at Trafton. Every grade is earned by the student. Trafton is the perfect school for those that want their child to become a well-adjusted, respectful and thoughtful person who is ready for the pressure that high school brings.

Trafton Academy 5

Posted January 23, 2015
- a parent
I can not sing the praises of Trafton loudly enough! The teachers are caring and sweet and provide wonderful instruction and organizational skills that will follow the children long after they complete 8th grade. The students are well mannered and if there are any issues with the children, it is handled thoughtfully and swiftly. The school provides everything a student needs to succeed and wonderful avenues to communicate what is going on in class to the parents. My only complaint is that my child in second grade couldn't apply until this year! I can't wait to hopefully have 2 children in Trafton next year!


Trafton Academy 5

Posted January 21, 2015
- a parent
I've been a Trafton parent for 8 years & disagree with the Nov 21 post. Most Trafton teachers have at least ten years experience there & provide reliable continuity through the grade levels. They teach time management & organizational study skills that are age appropriate typically resulting in well prepared, confident students. Gradespeed & Renweb are accessible to parents & students to communicate grades & assignments. Behavioral issues are uncommon but dealt with fairly & swiftly. It's been a safe, warm, academically challenging school for my children.

Trafton Academy 2

Posted November 21, 2014
- a parent
Our child went to Trafton for 6th grade. We were sold on the small class size, attention from the teachers to help learn better organizational skills and the nurturing environment. They did very well making honor roll every quarter. In 7th grade that all went away. Under the guise that students must be responsible for themselves, the assistance in continuing to learn organizational skills, the attention from the teachers, the nurturing environment goes away. These teachers would rather rely on a subpar app to tell you what homework is due. They don't communicate with parents - you will never receive an email if a test score is low. If you're sick, you get no assistance from any of the teachers to make sure you get all the missed homework. One of the problems is that they hire a lot of part time teachers. I also agree with whoever said that they don't discipline bad behavior. We have had issues with one student since the beginning of 6th grade and despite continued bullying and nasty behavior, they have failed to expel him, as their handbook clearly states they should. Either save your money or spend a little more at a school where you will get your money's worth

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Trafton Academy
4711 Mcdermed Drive, Houston, TX  77035
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 60 reviews. (713) 723-3732
Last modified Trafton Academy is a Private school that serves grades PK-K, 3-8
Top