Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

The Imani School

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Houston

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $90,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,080.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 11 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

54 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 7, 2006

Good Pre-K program, but I was not impressed with the older school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2006

This school has provided my children with the Christian foundation they will need throughout life. Academically it is one of the best from PreK through 4th grade
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2006

My child has attended the Imani School for the first time this year. I can say in the beginning things started out great. The school's curriculum is great! I have yet to have a bad experience. The school has a lot of activities but are not all free some of them are very costly. I have never known a school that has an end of year school fund raiser. I think that certain classes and students are picked over and it is not fair to our children. All of our children are special in every way. It should not be about who's grandchild or niece, nephew or who gives the largest contribution that is not glorifying God. I think the school needs more experienced administrators. The school website needs reformation. The school needs PTA meetings and more safety precautions.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2006

This is a great school for the lower level grades. The curriculum is very advanced and fast paced.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2006

This school is amazing! The teachers are attentive and the children are well mannered. Even the pre-schoolers get homework on a daily basis. They learn about God and our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. This school is truly phenominal. It's no wonder that they win the NASA Science Competition every year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2006

They have a terrific balance of creativity and a structured academic environment. They also encourage parent involvement
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2006

Great Christian school (especially for grades pre-Kindergarten through about 4th grade). Outstanding parent involvement. Some music, foreign language, & sports offered but there's room for improvement and growth in this area. Clean facilities but could use an indoor gym. Staff show great love and care for the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 22, 2005

Great school. Provided my daughter with a strong christian foundation. The teachers in PreK 3 are very nuturing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2005

I had a very bad experience with discipline at this school. The staff and principal did not accept resonsibility.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2005

My child went to the Imani School for about two years. This school is very advanced and the school's main focus is on academics (reading and writing). This can be great for some but not great for every child. My experience with the school's program revealed that some of their academic efforts were not age/developmental appropriate for the child and rather stressful to my child inparticular. There was not outlet for physical activity or plain 'old fashion fun'.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2005

I am very happy about the education my child is receiving at the Imani school. The teachers are excellent and realy enjoy there job. My 5 year old can read and add & subtract and my 3yr old has homework almost every other day. The school is a growing environment with many activities but not all activities are free. I beleive a solid foundation is very important and thats what my children are expose to at the imani school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2005

I think this school is outstanding. My child is confident and learning. His teachers are wonderful and the administration is great. I would easily reccommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2004

Imani School is an excellent academic,athletic as well as talented school. This past year they in several local, state and even National competition and won or placed in all of them. Subjects included Science Fair, Speech, BETA Club, Girls Basketball and typing. The middle school even designed their own web pages. The school's website is listed on www.imanischool.org. This is an excellent nurturing environment for Christian children.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 24, 2004

Excellent school for learning. The children are at least one grade level ahead. The teachers are very loving and nurturing for the total child. The children are taught christian values. There are plenty of extra curricular activities for the children music, dance, drama, basketball and more. Each year the entire school participates in a school wide play production (awesome). Homework is plenty so parents must be involved. There is room for improvement in administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 100% 13%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Pacific Islander 0% 4%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 51%
Two or more races 0% 2%
White 0% 31%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Patricia Hogan Williams
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

12401 South Post Oak Road
Houston, TX 77045
Website: Click here
Phone: (713) 723-0616

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Hines-Caldwell
Houston, TX





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT