Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
114 students
Follow
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

Here lies the unprecedented formula for an academic foundation rich in character, faith and knowledge. We offer a stellar early childhood education beginning with children as early as six months old. Our curriculum builds to meet the needs of students in Elementary School and continues to prepare our Middle School students for top high schools in the area. With class sizes small enough to offer personalized instruction, qualified and experienced educators, and core Christian values, you and your child will feel right at home.
December 14, 2015

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
44 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (5 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (5 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (9 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (5 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (4 responses)
characters left.
There are 118 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Wesley Academy 5

Posted June 21, 2016
- a parent
My family has been at Wesley Academy for 5 years. We have had a wonderful experience with the staff and other families who attend. Our daughter is growing academically, spiritually, and socially. Her teachers are always willing and available to talk with us and communicate her progress. We have made many friendships with other families and truly feel like this is a loving and supportive environment. I would recommend Wesley Academy to other families looking for a great school in West Houston.

Wesley Academy 2

Posted June 08, 2016
- a parent
Teacher retention is at an all time low. They are not retaining the good teachers meanwhile keeping the teacher that should not be retained. Additionally, their is a small clique of parents on the board and also on PTO who control the school and it's not a healthy environment when any concerns arise. It leads to issues not getting resolved successfully as said persons are extremely defensive. We were there for years and it just got worse. They couldn't keep a head of school either.


Wesley Academy
Grateful to: School leader

Posted May 17, 2016
- a student
I would like to thank Ms.Elaine Pendergrass. She is our head of school and a teacher as well. She has done an amazing job as principal over the past couple years. Also, she teaches us about God and the Bible. We love Ms.Elaine!! Also, I'd like to thank Ms.Joanne Crowell, our middle school dean and math teacher. Up until 6th grade, when I got Ms.Crowell, I absolutely hated math and I was so bad at it! She totally changed my perspective on math and now, I love math so much and it is my best subject! She is the best teacher I've ever had and everyone loves her!!

Wesley Academy
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 10, 2016
- a community member
My son's teacher has been fantastic. He is in pre-K and this age can be challenging at times. She has shown patience and understanding, care and adoration, combined with Christian morals. He has really enjoyed Wesley Academy. Thank you for all that you do.

Wesley Academy
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 05, 2016
- a community member
My kids teachers are just amazing! They take care of my kids with so much love, faith, knowledge and pacience. My older one (3yo) learned so much this school year! And she's waiting for de summer camp! My small one (2yo) is growing so independent, smart and friendly! And his teachers are so pacience to teach how/ when do the things and about his feelings. Thank you for staying in our life!


Wesley Academy 5

Posted April 03, 2016
- a parent
In spite of some issues earlier this year, the teachers and staff have been committed to our children in making sure that their education was always on the fore front and undisturbed! My children are happy, well adjusted, thriving students at Wesley. I am apalled at the parent review who accuses the school of stealing her child's support money! We were present in every single meeting and not once was it mentioned that we would get reimbursed! When the possibility of the school closure was announced, they said if parents chose to withdraw from the school, they would not be held to their contracts, period. I think it speaks volumes that even when we were given that option, only one family left. Wesley families are a close community. We love our teachers and staff and that love is reciprocated!

Wesley Academy
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted March 11, 2016
- a parent
They have learned to respect other students, teachers and care about the feelings of others.

Wesley Academy
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted March 11, 2016
- a parent
My children have learned to care about others, the country, the state and the Bible.


Wesley Academy
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted March 11, 2016
- a parent
Wesley teaches strong Christian values. Self respect and respect for others. Everyone is to be treated fairly.

Wesley Academy 5

Posted March 11, 2016
- a parent
I have two students at Wesley. They are thriving. They are doing well in academics and sports. Participating in athletics has made both of them more self confident. They stress Christian values and it is a safe, caring school.

Nearby schools

Wesley Academy
10570 Westpark Dr, Houston, TX  77042
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 118 reviews. (713) 266-3341
Last modified Wesley Academy is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top