Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Beth Yeshurun Day School

Private | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Houston

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $251,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $840.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 8 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 12, 2014

I have lived all over the U.S., and I have never seen a tight-knit and loving community like this one. It's large enough to provide a tremendous variety of opportunities (after-school activities, specialist classes, and so on) but small enough to be intimate. Every teacher knows my children's names. Most of the students know one another across grades. The parents and teachers love the children like they're their own. If it really does take a village to raise a child, this is the ultimate village that combines academic opportunity with an intense love and caring for all people. We've been through amazing times and terrible tragedies as a community, and they've forged a deep and intense bond. I'm so happy that my family is here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2014

In the 10 years that I have been a parent at BYDS I have been confident that I made the right choice for my children. As the years have gone by the academics, administration, facility and community have improved significantly. I strongly recommend BYDS for anyone seeking a Jewish Day School experience in Houston, TX that combines high quality general and Judaic studies from early childhood through 5th grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2014

Our two children have had exceptional experiences each year at Beth Yeshurun Day School, but this one was clearly special. Our first grader greatly improved as a reader and writer and made significant progress in her math. She truly enjoys her Hebrew and Judaic studies classes and has expanded her love for Jewish traditions. She looks forward to seeing her friends each day at school and I suspect many of these relationships will last a lifetime. Likewise, our preschooler is growing more independent and is developing the social skills that will prove beneficial throughout life. She established many wonderful friendships this year and is developing a solid foundation in Judaism. To us, BYDS is more than a school; it is a community where students, faculty, and families learn together, pray together, and play together. We celebrate each other s milestones and accomplishments and provide support in times of need. We could not be more pleased with our BYDS experiences and recognize the strong impact that the school is having on our children s young lives. Thank you to all the wonderful educators and the administration team at our exceptional school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2014

We choose Beth Yeshurun Day School because we wanted our young children to obtain a strong foundation in Jewish life. We could not be more pleased. Beth Yeshurun helps establish an early Jewish identity through familiarity with songs and prayers; teachings and observances of Shabbat, holidays, and traditions; and ongoing interaction with synagogue Rabbis and other religious professionals. Though aligned with Conservative Judaism, the school is very respectful and welcoming to all levels of observance. In fact, many non-Jewish families feel at home and find comfort in the nurturing environment and appreciate the strong moral and ethical code that the school adheres to. Beth Yeshurun prepares its students to live as committed, knowledgeable, and caring individuals. From the Mensch of the Day program to weekly Tzadakah projects, it provides so many opportunities to instill strong moral values in the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2014

I cannot say enough great things about Beth Yeshurun Day School. Our older child has been there six years, our younger child two years, and each year has been amazing in its own way. Their teachers have all been warm, loving, and engaging, our children have made wonderful friends, they are thriving and happy, and we've been very pleased with the challenging curriculum. And the parents and volunteers are a wonderful and supportive school "family." BYDS has exceeded all of our expectations and we cannot imagine being anywhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2014

I would not recommend this school at all. The school is run by a bunch of Christian people (new principal is married to a Jewish man but not Jewish herself, new head of school is Mormon). A lot of experienced teachers have recently be let go and contracts were not renewed. This school is a joke and you pay $16k per year for it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2014

All of the teachers smile and know the students by name. The teachers care about every student-It's a close knit family. The care and affection that Ms. Monique & Ms. Michelle provide on a daily basis is beyond words. They always smile and offer a hug when He enters the classroom--they make him feel welcomed, loved and safe. We feel at peace, when we leave Our son in class for the school day. We even extended his day from 12 noon to 2:00pm bc he told us he wanted to eat lunch with his classmates! The interesting activities that Ms. Monique and Ms. Michelle plan, the room they decorate exhibiting the children's work, the friendships they help foster-- it's all incredible. It's helping our son believe that school is fun, which is incredibly important! BYDS helps build the foundation for academic achievement, focus and social interactions. Our son has transformed from being a child that would cry and feel uneasy about attending school to a child that gleefully sings every morning about his teachers and classmates! It is with great pleasure that we write this review and appreciation on behalf BYDS teachers, faculty
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2014

From the first call the admission director (Mireille) She was attentive, knowledgable & extremely generous with her time.Providing 2 extensive tours accompanied with Q&A sessions. I was able to sit in various classrooms & witness the excitement with students actively participating.The students were happy--the teachers were passionate! We are overjoyed that our son is relishing preschool. It's not easy to send your first child to school but seeing what a ball He is having makes it a breeze. We also have the early childhood principal (Riana) To thank for this truly remarkable experience. Imagine be greeted every morning by the principal bending on her knees to greet students entering the school,much less by their names!! It is not uncommon for our son to remark how The principal enters the classroom and enjoys hands on time with him and his classmates ( play dough, drawing, etc). Our son also shares with us how the principal will stop in the hallway & share a hug or inquire how the day is going. Riana is totally involved with the daily aspects of the school day. The respect exhibited to her from the faculty and staff is a testament to the remarkable job she does at BYDS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2012

It is a good school, Hebrew classes and prayers are valuable. I agree with other posters that construction period took some time, though with good results. It was interesting that my eldest son, few years after graduation mentioned that he didn't like the school that much, even though he keeps in touch with his friends from his class. An, yes, it is expensive.


Posted June 27, 2011

With construction is complete on a brand new building, Beth Yeshurun not only offers a small student/teacher ratio, an excellent dual language program, the newest curriculum in Singapore Math and a exceptional faculty, but a safe , state-of-the-art, technologically integrated facility.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2011

While I appreciate that every family's experience is unique, I can offer nothing but praise for this school and its administration. I have two children at Beth Yeshurun Day School, one in the Early Childhood program and one in the elementary school. Both programs are top notch and have proven to my husband and me that we made the right educational decision for our children. The school community is warm and welcoming, encouraging both participation and open communication among the school's many families. The teachers and administration are all very approachable and invested in their students' academic and religious educations, as well as their social growth and development. The school's excellence extends to their extra-curricular course offerings, which include everything from dance and athletics to academic enrichment - all on campus and accessible for its students, both in the Early Childhood and elementary school programs. My husband and I know that we have found in BYDS a school that will continue to provide a nurturing, academically competitive, and spiritually enriching environment for our children that will pave the way for their future successes in school and in life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2011

I enrolled two children that I rescued from Child Protective Services and being their "single" guardian was searching for a school where they would be immersed in Judaism and I could feel safe going to work. I am a dentist and must support these two children as they have no one else in their lives. The first year my little girl struggled with Hebrew and Math. She was told she could not bring home the Hebrew books. They also do Singapore math and only gave one night of explanation of which I could not attend having to work. In January of this year my little 3rd grader was released from school with no explanation, and I had the honor or a 10 minute meeting. I was given 30 days to get her out. It cost me my job of which I make $25,000 a month, it also cost me $15,000 to send her away to school as their only recommendation was a "psyche" ward of which I was handed 3 names of schools on a sticky pad piece of paper. No notice, no explanation, and I had just donated $1000 to help with the Ma'ayan. I am out of a job, my little girl lost one year of schooling and I have yet to get my money back. As a dentist I would have had my license revoked treating any child this way.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2008

What an amazing school. Fabulous job integrating secular studies along with Hebrew and Judaics. We left the school because we moved to another city in Texas. We didn't realize how good we had it. The kids didn't miss a beat in Hebrew even though they didn't have to attend religious school. Actually they were ahead of the game. Hats off to Ms. Urkowitz! Mindy Rosenthal has that wonderful blend of being not only an administrator, but also one who has had experience with her own children in Jewish Day Schools. All staff was great, eager to see their students succeed, and were more than willing to work with parents when kids needed attention, both academic and emotional. All three of my kids speak fondly of their time at BYDS, and have made friendships that have endured even after our move.Science lab,fabulous art instructor, computer lab,Singapore Math program, etc. are also A+++
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2008

Beth Yeshurun is one of the best private elementary schools in Houston. Period. The teachers are all incredibly well-trained, nurturing and inspiring. My children particularly loved their fourth grade teachers, Miss Nussbaum and Mrs. Bormaster, as they were a wonderful team, dynamic and made my children want to go to school everyday.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2008

Although I did have a number of good experiences and teachers at BYDS, I must say that as a whole my education and elementary school experience was unsatisfactory. For one, the school seems to be managed by unqualified individuals that may know how to teach, but do not have the foggiest idea of how to run a school. The curriculum is lacking in many respects, particularly in the area of mathematics which left me struggling when I reached middle school. Although I am aware that there have been improvements to the curriculum, I fear that the teachers do not effectively cover what is said to be covered.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 20, 2005

Jewish education provided is okay, price is very high- I am concerning moving to an area to place my children in a top rated public school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 92% 31%
Hispanic 4% 51%
Two or more races 2% 2%
Asian or Pacific Islander 1% 4%
Black 1% 13%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Jewish
Associations
  • ISAS
Fax number
  • (713) 666-2924

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4525 Beechnut Street
Houston, TX 77096
Phone: (713) 666-1884

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Cliffwood School
Houston, TX



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT