Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-5|Private
85 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
24 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 31 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St. Thomas the Apostle Episcopal School 1

Posted May 24, 2016
- a parent
St. Thomas is no longer the school it once was. Poor leadership has fed the decline of this schools education standards and climate. The head of school does not support her teachers and all the best teachers are leaving & have left already or have just lost their spark. We will miss the families & good teachers that once made this school great. But our children need a better education.

St. Thomas the Apostle Episcopal School 5

Posted April 30, 2014
- a parent
Sadly this is our last year at St. Thomas. My only complaint so far is that it stops at 5th grade. Our experience here has been wonderful and for my son life changing. St. Thomas brings out the best in all of it's students.


St. Thomas the Apostle Episcopal School 5

Posted April 30, 2014
- a teacher
St. Thomas is a warm, caring, loving atmosphere that provides outstanding educational opportunities from a highly qualified staff. The art, drama, and music programs are especially creative and engaging. The core values of Competence, Creativity, Character, and Compassion are emphasized on a daily basis. St. Thomas has been voted "the best private school in the Bay Area" two years in a row and the majority of our new students come from glowing referrals from out parents. The teachers view the students as individuals and adjust their curriculum and teaching styles to bring out the best in each child. We have a wonderful before and after care program that concentrates on getting homework completed, crafts, and physical activity. We have numerous after school programs such as quilting, karate, music lessons, Jump Bunch, chess club, and art lessons. There are field trips to numerous educationally interesting venues, including a week-long camping trip in the fall for the 3rd-5th graders. The PreK-3 and PreK-4 programs are very advanced and do an excellent job of preparing the children for Kindergarten and first grade. We embrace the whole family in a very nurturing atmosphere.

St. Thomas the Apostle Episcopal School 5

Posted April 29, 2014
- a parent
I would. It take my child anywhere else. I say this as an educator myself. I have the highest standards. I expect a lot from my child's school and St Thomas exceeds my expectations. I want to be a part of my child's education and they are the only school in the area that let's me truly be a part of her learning process. This is the best of homeschooling without my having to do the work! Most amazing is the ability for me to come in and eat lunch with my child! No where in the area allows you to do that!

St. Thomas the Apostle Episcopal School 5

Posted April 02, 2014
- a parent
This school has a rigorous curriculum and caring teachers. My child loves being surrounded by supportive classmates and enjoys the challenges of individualized learning. If you want your child to go to school with a smile in the morning, this is the school for you. I wish St Thomas the Apostle school continued all the way through high school!


St. Thomas the Apostle Episcopal School 5

Posted October 24, 2013
- a parent
St Thomas is really a great school. My son has ADHD and the small class size helps him get the teacher time he needs. The staff is all wonderful. My kids go in most mornings to hug the principal because they love her! I would highly recommend St Thomas for any family that wants their kids to get a Christian education or that has a child that needs a little more teacher attention.

St. Thomas the Apostle Episcopal School 5

Posted October 24, 2013
- a community member
Both my grandchildren go to St Thomas and love it. I love the fact the teachers know them by name, and hugs are free and plentiful. The outstanding teachers are caring and seem to genuinely care for the children.

St. Thomas the Apostle Episcopal School 5

Posted October 24, 2013
- a community member
Wonderful school.caring.loving teachers and staff. The curriculum is top notch and highly comparable to public schools. Teachers are willing and capable of changing their teaching methods to fit the individual child.


St. Thomas the Apostle Episcopal School 5

Posted August 10, 2013
- a parent
My children attended this school and it is a wonderful school with amazing teachers & curriculum. The Pre-K, Kinder, 1st & 2nd grades are especially strong. The librarian is amazing. My kids left the school with a desire for reading that is unsurpassed thanks to her individual attention to each child. The parent who mentioned that this school was more of a MDO is wrong. She is a disgruntled ex-parent who was asked to leave because she was so incredibly difficult and disrespectful to the teachers. STAES is not just a school, it is a safe and loving environment for your children. You give your child a well-rounded education and life-long friendships. It is a family. The cons to STAES is that other families have not found it yet, and the class sizes have remained too small. A few more children in each class would be better. Due to this the cost has gotten a little too high. The strength is the teachers, but the current principal would be better suited to teaching at a University. Her PHD in curriculum is impressive, but her management and admin skills need a great deal of improvement. Luckily she has a good staff and school board to help overcome these shortcomings.

St. Thomas the Apostle Episcopal School 2

Posted July 28, 2013
- a parent
The diversity in some of the comments made is a concern.... seems like some parents believe their children are receiving the attention and care warranted for the cost of a private school, and others are not. I talked with a previous parent who said their child was the only one in their class not doing well, and there was no initiative by the teacher or school to assist. Makes me wonder if the school is set up for only those that fit a mold... also, the facility concerns commented on in January and just recently are also a concern. So... why would I choose this over other options like Galloway?

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St. Thomas the Apostle Episcopal School
18300 Upper Bay Road, Houston, TX  77058
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 31 reviews. (281) 333-1340
Last modified St. Thomas the Apostle Episcopal School is a Private school that serves grades PK-5
Top