Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
5-6
Public
Houston, TX
Students enrolled: 815
Before care: No
After care: Yes

3 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


11 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Mata Intermediate School 1

Posted June 30, 2013
- a parent
This school cares more about their personal issues than the education they are supposed to give students. The teachers participate in drama/rumors the kids are involved in. The principles are never in their office nor are the teachers ever in their classrooms. The staff acknowledge bullying going on and do nothing about it and sometimes even participate in it. This school is very unorganized and lack communication between staff badly! If any parent sends their child here please be very involved!

Mata Intermediate School 1

Posted January 04, 2013
- a community member
I attend this school this isn't really what the school says they have to offer. All Staff members treat students unfairly, and the rules don't make sense at all: 1) Wear a belt if your pants have belt loops or lunch detention. 2) No Mohawks because they are not in dress code. 3) Sac. (detention) if you forgot ONE homework. and so on... This is not the school you want to attend to!


Mata Intermediate School 5

Posted November 18, 2011
- a parent
My daughter attends Mata for the first time and she really loves it. She loves the teachers, kids, and all of the electives. As far as the dress code that s a district thing not the school, so maybe for the previous comments you need to direct that to AISD.com for the bad ratings not Mata. Keep up the good work MATA!!!!

Mata Intermediate School 2

Posted November 26, 2010
- a community member
I wasn't pleased at all at this school. The teachers seem so drawn into their personal lives to care about preparing the students for middle and high school. I agree, the dress code was extremely strict, and whoever didn't follow it was punished. I went here for both years, and although I don't really remember it that well, I wouldn't actually recommend it too anyone!

Mata Intermediate School 1

Posted February 24, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Mata Intermediate School 5

Posted October 20, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Mata Intermediate School 0
no rating

Posted October 10, 2008
- a parent
it is too strict . my question is how is my son supposed to express himself when every body dresses the same they make them look like slaves

Mata Intermediate School 0
no rating

Posted March 27, 2008
- a parent
I am a parent and would not refer anyone to go to this school It seems they care more about not being in mode of dress than learning.


Mata Intermediate School 5

Posted August 24, 2007
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Mata Intermediate School 2

Posted December 14, 2006
- a parent
I can not agree with the last corespondent. This school is truly lacking in the experience needed for their students. My son goes to this school and I find the teacher nonchalant attitude about the student academics appalling. This is one of the main reasons I am moving out of this district.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mata Intermediate School
9225 South Dairy Ashford Road, Houston, TX  77099
(281) 983-7800
Last modified Mata Intermediate School is a Public school that serves grades 5-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Mata Intermediate School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top