Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-8
Public charter
Houston, TX
Students enrolled: 424
 

4 stars
Based on 20 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Beatrice Mayes Institute Charter S 2

Posted April 07, 2015
- a parent
This is a FAMILY school, family works, runs & attend this school. They intentionally and without regret deceive parents & the staff will condone & cover up those lies. I think that the teachers are inpatient with the children & instead of actually TEACHING, they just TELL the students what to do. The best thing about the school was the black history program.
1 person found this helpful

Beatrice Mayes Institute Charter S 3

Posted April 03, 2015
- a parent
BMI charter School has unfair practices in their school if you are an employee and their children attend the school the employee child will receive preferential treatment. Incidents between children (bullying) aren't not properly documented by staff for effective measures to be taken . Rules and guidelines are not adhered too in proper steps your child will receive corporal punishment or suspension before parent conference . Important information is shared with you by your child before notification from staff . Upper management needs to be integrated by outside entity in order to achieve equality . Staff education levels are questionable.
3 people found this helpful


Beatrice Mayes Institute Charter S 5

Posted February 04, 2015
- a parent
I love the parent to teacher involvement,the community involvement and the on going traditions the school has.
1 person found this helpful

Beatrice Mayes Institute Charter S 4

Posted September 22, 2009
- a parent
BMI is a wonderful school. It offers an intimate, growing, and warm learning environment. You want a school that offers quality education, then BMI is the school for you!

Beatrice Mayes Institute Charter S 1

Posted July 06, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Beatrice Mayes Institute Charter S 0
no rating

Posted October 30, 2008
- a parent
My daughter have been attending BMI for two years and I Love the school. They have old school values with a Christian background which is very signifigant in todays society. If you are looking for whats good in the hood then BMI IS the place to be!!!!!!!!!!!

Beatrice Mayes Institute Charter S 0
no rating

Posted June 03, 2008
- a parent
BMI is a very good school, with an outstanding educational program. My daughter has been attending this school since she was two, they fully believe in the development of oung minds. If ever there was a problem, that a teacher would not solve the founder, Mrs. Mayes herself would definately get down to the bottom of the problem herself.. I love his organization, and would encourage more parents to be involved and enroll their children here. this school is a family organization, and always welcomes you into the school with a warm and loving embrace.

Beatrice Mayes Institute Charter S 5

Posted February 07, 2008
- a parent
My daughter has been at B.M.I since kindergarten and she is now in the 3rd grade. She is an exceptional math student and has been reading since she was a kinder. My niece and nephew both attend BMI. My niece is now 14 and has been a student there for about 8 years. She is a straight A student, has been inducted into the National Junior Honor Society, Baylor College of Medicine's Early Saturday Science program and has achieved exemplary scoring on all her state mandated testing. As for my daughter and nephew. But the best thing about BMI is they are African American culturally enriched. This allows for your child to be tought by people he can identify with and the level of teching ables them to compete with the rest of society.


Beatrice Mayes Institute Charter S 5

Posted September 07, 2007
- a parent
I know Wonderland is a great beginning. I have a 3 year old son attending Wonderland and he looks forward to going to school each morning. He has learned how to write and spell his name, recite and recognize numbers and letter, in english and some in Spanish and he enjoys music. He is also able to recite the Lords prayer. This school has taught him a lot for a 3 year old. I am looking forward for him to continue with BMI. Excellent school.

Beatrice Mayes Institute Charter S 5

Posted September 06, 2007
- a parent
To the parent that commented on this school being a 'last resort', I think you commented on the wrong school. BMI and Wonderland are excellent schools. You get out what you put in. PTO meeting are held regularly at the school (1st Thursday of the month). Each parent gets notices for all activities going on at the school and not only is parent participation encouraged, but community participation as well. My oldest daughter started at Wonderland when she was 3 and graduated from BMI and was more than prepared to compete with her fellow high school classmates. I now have another daughter attending BMI and I entrust her education to Mrs. Mayes and the teaching staff. BMI is like one big family and I love it!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Beatrice Mayes Institute Charter S
5807 Calhoun Road, Houston, TX  77021
(713) 747-5629
Last modified Beatrice Mayes Institute Charter S is a Charter school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Beatrice Mayes Institute Charter S Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. Top