Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
29 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 39 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Westchester Academy For Internatio
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted June 04, 2016
- a parent
WAIS is a school that encourages diversity in its students, and teaches them how to value that in others.

Westchester Academy For Internatio 5

Posted June 04, 2016
- a parent
Just completed our first year at WAIS. Very happy with the teachers and administration--they are excellent and care about each student as an individual. IB program is great, and academic achievement is celebrated. Students are allowed and encouraged to be individuals. Excellent school.


Westchester Academy For Internatio 5

Posted October 27, 2014
- a parent
The teachers really care. The coursework is academically challenging, but fun. The teachers want every student to succeed. The IB program is exceptional. My only complaint is the low level of parent involvement

Westchester Academy For Internatio 4

Posted April 02, 2014
- a parent
My daughter seems very happy with the overall experience of her 6th and now 7th grade years. She thrives in classsrooms in which she is required to think beyond the regular curriculum. She is most happy with her Science and Math curriculum because the teachers set very high standards. My wish is to see a stronger emphasis on writing, since it is critical at every level of higher education. It is necessary for teachers to prepare the students early by systematically teaching all types of writing (expository, narrative, creative, non-fictional, etc...so that they are not overwhelmed as they approach high school years. They are taught basic editing skills, however, I would like students to be taught how to make a weak writing piece stronger by the use of (e.g. supportive facts, descriptive words, quotes, presenting ideas in an order that builds the piece, etc...)

Westchester Academy For Internatio 5

Posted October 02, 2012
- a parent
My daughter has been at WAIS since 6th grade and is now a Sophomore. Before attending WAIS, she was a Montessori student through 5th grade. I can honestly say that, for a public school, WAIS is an excellent institution. The best part about it is the closeness of the school community. Because it is a small school, everyone knows everyone else, but, instead of that turning into a "too close for comfort" situation, the kids all care about and support each other in a manner that I have never witnessed in a public school before. The teachers are dedicated and most of them are creative and challenging. My daughter is GT in all areas and has, for the most part, remained engaged with her school work. The school does not have sports or orchestra, but makes up for it with a great theater program and tons of clubs such as Model UN and Odyssey of the Mind. Kids can also play for the teams of the schools that they are zoned to if they really want to play sports. My only beef with the school is that its operations are often unorganized and its events under-planned. Also, there is also not a lot of parental involvement. Still, this is an excellent school and I highly recommend.


Westchester Academy For Internatio 5

Posted July 24, 2012
- a community member
What to say about my loving school, WAIS? The students are very diverse (I have black, white, Asian, Hispanic friends), the teachers are way cool (Except some one the middle school ones), and they classes are challenging but fun. I have learned so much my 4 years there. But, sometimes everyone there wishes they could move to a regular school. It does feel different, because we have no sports or band/orchestra, but we don't because that would mean leaving the amazing and crazy people we interact with everyday. There are some crazy rules, like homework hall, but all you have to do is do your homework, and everything will be alright for you. We also have the IB program, which is super difficult, but is great practice for college. Over all, WAIS is great school and I hope you take in my review before you consider not attending.

Westchester Academy For Internatio 5

Posted June 01, 2012
- a community member
Hi everyone, I visited the school for contract work with computers and I met the staff, and all I have to say is that it is by far a top notch school with excellent teachers. As soon as I arrived I had to work quickly but as I visited each classroom I had a conversation with every teacher wishing that I had this education in the past. The classrooms are not cluttered, and it looks like the student gets the proper attention they need. The science classroom with robotics have excellent Mac computers with media classes as well, which is great because its diverse and children can learn and build things I never had the opportunity to do. If I had children I would put them in this school, I don't need a fancy school with a fountain in the middle, but I do want my children to have teachers that will be a part of their lives to remember that they enabled themselves into learning and not forced into learning. I like the atmosphere in this school and I know you will to, please consider having your children the best education possible in this tough economy because if you don't do anything about it then your risking your child's future.

Westchester Academy For Internatio 5

Posted October 09, 2010
- a teacher


Westchester Academy For Internatio 5

Posted July 15, 2010
- a parent
The teachers and leaders really care- they challenge all students to take advanced courses even if a kid is not GT. Students are happy here- and my kids like going to school.

Westchester Academy For Internatio
no rating

Posted May 05, 2010
- a parent
The multiculturalism that is the dominant theme of this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Westchester Academy For Internatio
901 Yorkchester Drive, Houston, TX  77079
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 39 reviews. (713) 251-1800
Last modified Westchester Academy For Internatio is a Charter school that serves grades 6-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top