Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Cypress Ridge High School

Public | 9-12 | 2962 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

34 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 5, 2014

I transferred here my senior year and it has much to offer depending on how much work you are willing to put. I was in all AP classes and yes was a bit challenging. I don't see why others think this school is bad. Success and misbehavior is what parents need to take care of not the teachers. Show your kids to respect and defend in emergency. By the way this school has a good discipline system. Back to the topic of success, I did learn and was in National Honor Society at this school it was amazing. I graduated with honors and now I will also graduate but with my bachelor's in electrical engineering from UH. I will carry an important job now as an engineer. Part of my huge success was due to career preparation from this school.


Posted March 6, 2014

Our high school does the minimum, at best, to support children with learning and attention disabilities. Most of the helpful activities and field trips that enriched the district's education have be cut. It is apparent that the quality of education has suffered from the budget cuts as I see the results with my 2 youngest children's education compared to their oldest sibling who experienced only half of the changes that they did. Parents have to ask their schools for alternative and intervention plans for their child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2014

My children whom are white-Hispanic, have been bullied and or scared by students who are racially prejudiced and or are larger than they are by the majority race at the school. It is time for schools to bus students to balance out the different races to decrease misbehavior, hate, and fear. Students have learned how to avoid some of the cameras in the hallways when attempting inappropriate physical contact with another person. The positive ratings for this school are either exaggerated, planted, or from years ago.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2014

I'm the parent of 2 students currently attending Cy-Ridge. My children are in K level and AP classes, but I don't see that the classes are all that challenging besides keeping up with the excessive amount of hw assignments. The teachers have problems with the student population currently DOMINATING this school. Take a tour of the school during a period change and you will see too. Teachers get to the point that they're not able to teach due to disruptions. Consequently, the entire class pays for it. Teachers resort to assigning homework and not really TEACHING very much in class. It's a sad situation as a parent, student and teacher. Student demographics are a problem here. When one race dominates the demographics of a school, there are bound to be issues with the interaction of the remaining student demographic groups. THIS IS AN ISSUE EVERY DAY HERE. The students aren't adequately monitored in the hallways, which aids in the bullying and that goes on in between classes, before and after-school. It's unfortunate that CFISD is such a great school district, but does little to fix the "bad" schools. HOW ABOUT REZONING?!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 2, 2013

I graduated from ridge in June. I've been at this school for almost 3years not including my freshman year which I spent at Langaham Creek high school which is a #1 school to me. Cyridge is in a very nice area so the school isn't that bad..I've been to multiple "hood" or poor school areas I should say and those schools didn't teach me what I needed to know. When I came to cy ridge they taught us everything!!! The work is hard but I needed them to push me. It's really impossible to fail because there's a lot of things in school you can do to prevent that. However many teachers are rude and come to school in bad moods. Some teachers won't even teach like they should some sit and hand out papers (they only stand when a AP is near) most teachers can't handle the classes so they refuse to teach bc of 1 or more students actions. That school has toooooooo many pregnanct girls there and that's includes freshman too!!! Don't let the age fool you because the girls and boys here puts in work! Also on the note the skipping is not likely inside the school we have cops and teachers who keep that on check which is good!! I'm going to give it a 4 because this school has shaped up over the years.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 14, 2013

Cypress Ridge High school is not a very good school. I attend the school and I am currently a sophomore. The reason why the school is terrible is that the school's classes are not difficult for any student that wants to succeed. The K level classes (Which are considered higher level or Pre-AP) are probably as difficult as the normal classes at tougher schools such as memorial. The school also has a terrible environment, A quick look at the student population during a passing period will show you that the students there look and act very suspiciously (you would think they are in gangs or groups of similar nature). Academically, the school does not seem to fit my expectations. I have been a distinguished honor roll student for the past two years, and believe that I am not nearly as prepared for standardized tests as I should be. Even though Cypress ridge has many negative aspects defining it, the teachers and administration for the most part work hard and efficiently, which is a definite upside to the school. Overall, I am not happy with the performance of my school. I wish to attend a high end college, but i feel improperly prepared for my future.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 9, 2011

Good school, no complaints, excellent band program. I have one child in 9th grade and one child going to this school next year. I think this school starts too early for teenagers. Most of CFISD start at the same time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2011

We are proud that our kids went to Cy-Ridge. Two of our kids have already graduated and did great in academics and have made some great friends along the way. The only thing Ridge lacks is the parent participation. We are proud that a lot of our kids are very self efficient and live in the REAL world at Ridge. They have always felt safe.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2011

"More focused on sports and "Ram Pride" than the education of THEIR students. Highly dislike most students THERE and TOO many distractions from students education. specific groups and clubs should not be held in the school. instead of turning my kids away from certain personalities and lifestyles it's drawing my kids toward it. --Submitted by a parent" Your review is a rambling pile of uneducated drivel full of elementary spelling and grammar errors. Perhaps you should attend the school with your children so you could keep an eye on them as well as receive a much needed education.


Posted August 10, 2010

More focused on sports and "Ram Pride" than the education of they're students. Highly dislike most students their and to many distractions from students education. specific groups and clubs should not be held in the school. instead of turning my kids away from certain personalities and lifestyles it's drawing my kids toward it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2010

Cy-Ridge is the best(: i love this school ! The athletes are very competative and that's very important. I think the principles do a great job of keeping up with the students. Also, unlike other schools, Cy-Ridge teaches their students to have Ram P.R.I.D.E ! .//i l0VE Y0U RAMSz)).
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 5, 2009

It is so diversified and we have great school spirit.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

This really is a good school with potential. I was amazed by how great everybody was faculty and students. I must say, in all the classes I substitute taught, there was a clear sense of respect for their school. The fact that the school is really new and modern doesn t hurt. On first impression, the athletics dept., extracurricular groups, elective courses and academia courses were great. I had some great experiences here with active and involved students beyond levels that I have seen at more premier schools in the district. That says a lot about the students and their understanding of leadership and values. Good for Cy-Ridge principals, teachers, and parents. Two negatives: as some schools in the area lack in ethnic minorities, this school lacks in ethnic majorities, thus diversity suffers, and second, the zone lacks a lot of infrastructure and I just don t like the blahhh area.


Posted July 16, 2009

Cypress Ridge is an excellent high school in the Cypress Fairbanks school district. The teachers are caring and hard working. The students are well behaved and have many opportunities to participate in activities. The athletic programs are competitive and respected. I have two children there and have no regrets.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2009

My daughter went to cypress ridge high school and she loved it! She's going to be a junior next yeAr. I'm glad we transferred her to this school. Her grades are really high and she's in K level and in AP classes. The spirit of this school is two thumbs up and the teachers great. We love cy ridge!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2009

its pretty nice. the school is pretty much split into 2 halves. the people that succeed. and the people that just don't care. mostly everyone gets along. as long as you don't do anything stupid or rash, of course. (:
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 6, 2008

Unfair treatment of students by an over-zealous and power hungry administration. Safety and education are not concerns of this schools administration. If you are concerned about your child's welfare and future, beware of this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2008

I am a student that goes to ridge and i think it is a wonderful school. Yes, ridge has its problems, but what school doesn't. I think that since we are really diverse it adds something special to our school. Many people don't like us and they put us down, and i think they just need to not say anything at all because they don't see what we see. Walk in our shoes and then you will know how great Cy-Ridge is. Go Rams Go!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 26, 2008

I am very pleased with CyRidge. The leadership is strong and my daughter is very happy there. After attending Truitt Middle School, we were very nervous about CyRidge but we have been pleased all around. My daughter is a Sophmore this year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2008

The administrative team performs well, with guidance & protection for the students. The extra-curriculum programs are extremely strong, and several students have been state recognized. However, I had to demerit my score of two stars because the counselors are my greatest problem. They do not take a keen interest in the gifted & talented students, and they are not consistent in working hours. Several times this year I have tried to contact my counselor, and most of the time they're 'out' for unknown reasons. I appreciate the efforts they put forth, but some of the students that are taking different paths need better support/assistance- -Concerned student
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 89% in 2011.

808 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
90%
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2011.

796 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
66%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 91% in 2011.

687 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2011.

681 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
78%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2011.

679 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
77%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 93% in 2011.

677 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 95% in 2013.

639 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

630 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
91%
Science

The state average for Science was 95% in 2013.

635 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
93%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 98% in 2013.

633 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students95%
Female97%
Male94%
Black or African American94%
Asian96%
Hispanic96%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged95%
Special education72%
Limited English proficient (LEP)44%

Math

All Students89%
Female88%
Male89%
Black or African American84%
Asian97%
Hispanic86%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged86%
Special education72%
Limited English proficient (LEP)44%

Science

All Students95%
Female94%
Male96%
Black or African American93%
Asian99%
Hispanic94%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged93%
Special education76%
Limited English proficient (LEP)38%

Social Studies

All Students98%
Female97%
Male98%
Black or African American96%
Asian99%
Hispanic97%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White99%
Economically disadvantaged98%
Special education82%
Limited English proficient (LEP)75%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Academically Acceptable".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Recognized".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Recognized".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 78% in 2013.

508 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
77%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 97% in 2013.

191 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 85% in 2013.

705 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
89%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 84% in 2013.

600 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
54%
English I Reading

The state average for English I Reading was 65% in 2013.

723 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
61%
English I Writing

The state average for English I Writing was 48% in 2013.

715 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
48%
English II Reading

The state average for English II Reading was 78% in 2013.

702 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
n/a
English II Writing

The state average for English II Writing was 52% in 2013.

698 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
n/a
English III Reading

The state average for English III Reading was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English III Writing

The state average for English III Writing was 42% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 86% in 2013.

668 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
100%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 81% in 2013.

25 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
78%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
80%
World Geography

The state average for World Geography was 75% in 2013.

690 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
84%
World History

The state average for World History was 70% in 2013.

707 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

All Students79%
Female86%
Male73%
Black or African American75%
Asian86%
Hispanic78%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Native100%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged78%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Special education63%
Not special education80%
Limited English proficient (LEP)43%
Proficient in English82%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant79%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Gifted79%
Bilingualn/a

Algebra II

All Students99%
Female100%
Male99%
Black or African American100%
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Special educationn/a
Not special education99%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English99%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant99%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted99%
Bilingualn/a

Biology I

All Students86%
Female87%
Male84%
Black or African American89%
Asian98%
Hispanic82%
Multiracial91%
American Indian or Alaska Native71%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged83%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Special education50%
Not special education87%
Limited English proficient (LEP)51%
Proficient in English88%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant86%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted85%
Bilingualn/a

Chemistry

All Students91%
Female89%
Male92%
Black or African American89%
Asian97%
Hispanic87%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged89%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Special education73%
Not special education91%
Limited English proficient (LEP)65%
Proficient in English92%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant91%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted90%
Bilingualn/a

English I Reading

All Students61%
Female67%
Male54%
Black or African American57%
Asian82%
Hispanic54%
Multiracial75%
American Indian or Alaska Native50%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged53%
Not economically disadvantaged74%
Special education14%
Not special education62%
Limited English proficient (LEP)12%
Proficient in English65%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant61%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted59%
Bilingualn/a

English I Writing

All Students39%
Female41%
Male36%
Black or African American31%
Asian77%
Hispanic31%
Multiracial55%
American Indian or Alaska Native25%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White61%
Economically disadvantaged29%
Not economically disadvantaged55%
Special education14%
Not special education39%
Limited English proficient (LEP)3%
Proficient in English42%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant39%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted37%
Bilingualn/a

English II Reading

All Students75%
Female81%
Male70%
Black or African American73%
Asian91%
Hispanic70%
Multiracial92%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White83%
Economically disadvantaged69%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Special education62%
Not special education76%
Limited English proficient (LEP)14%
Proficient in English80%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant75%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted74%
Bilingualn/a

English II Writing

All Students42%
Female46%
Male38%
Black or African American29%
Asian76%
Hispanic35%
Multiracial50%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White60%
Economically disadvantaged29%
Not economically disadvantaged60%
Special education5%
Not special education44%
Limited English proficient (LEP)2%
Proficient in English45%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant42%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted40%
Bilingualn/a

English III Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a

English III Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a

Geometry

All Students90%
Female89%
Male90%
Black or African American85%
Asian99%
Hispanic88%
Multiracial92%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged88%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Special education72%
Not special education90%
Limited English proficient (LEP)66%
Proficient in English91%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant90%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted89%
Bilingualn/a

Physics

All Students44%
Female43%
Male45%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic21%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White80%
Economically disadvantaged25%
Not economically disadvantaged62%
Special educationn/a
Not special education39%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English46%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant44%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Gifted39%

U.S. History

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a

World Geography

All Students82%
Female79%
Male85%
Black or African American84%
Asian94%
Hispanic79%
Multiracial90%
American Indian or Alaska Native71%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Special education44%
Not special education83%
Limited English proficient (LEP)46%
Proficient in English85%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant83%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted82%
Bilingualn/a

World History

All Students76%
Female76%
Male76%
Black or African American70%
Asian96%
Hispanic70%
Multiracial77%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged69%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Special education38%
Not special education77%
Limited English proficient (LEP)21%
Proficient in English79%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant76%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted75%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 55% 52%
Black 19% 13%
White 14% 29%
Asian or Pacific Islander 11% 4%
Two or more races 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Beginning teachers 8%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
College counselor(s)
Nurse(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • STEPHANIE MESHELL
Fax number
  • (281) 807-8045

Programs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Nurse(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Library
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Golf
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Golf
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • Volunteer in the classroom
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7900 North Eldridge Parkway
Houston, TX 77041
Website: Click here
Phone: (281) 807-8000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT