Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-12|Private
1,100 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
27 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 39 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Second Baptist School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted October 17, 2015
- a parent
Fairness, honesty and integrity which are prominently featured in the school's marketing materials, unfortunately do not exist in how the school is operated.

Second Baptist School
Develops grit: Neutral

Posted October 17, 2015
- a parent
If you survive the bullying that is rampant at Second Baptist I suppose you will have developed grit. But I'm not sure that exposing students to that type of environmental harassment is the ideal way to form grit & determination.


Second Baptist School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted October 17, 2015
- a parent
The lack of integrity of the school's administration creates an environment where superficial respect and values get formed.

Second Baptist School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted October 17, 2015
- a parent
Any student who complains of bullying receives retribution and/or is run out of school. The teachers are great but the environment of bullying comes from the top of administration down and is pervasive. The school does not meet the legal requirements of public schools with regard to bullying.

Second Baptist School 1

Posted October 17, 2015
- a parent
Bullying is rampant at Second Baptist School. The administration is aware and intentionally indifferent. Any student who complains of bullying receives retribution and not compassion nor correction. The school is an embarrassment to its stated Christian faith.


Second Baptist School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted July 16, 2015
- a parent
From my experience, the first grade teacher was confident that my daughter had ADD or LD. After a 3 day psycho-academic evaluation by a Ph.D, ADD &LD were ruled out. However, she was experiencing anxiety caused by her environment and teacher pressure. (At 7 years old) Head of school and teacher did not respect the Dr.'s opinion. We changed schools to one that demonstrates compassion, caring and empathy in the administration level and it is being developed in the students. Happy to say, she loves going to school and no sign of ADD, LD or Anxiety. From my experience, the environment at SBS was not healthy.

Second Baptist School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted July 14, 2015
- a community member
This school has lots of favoritism and politics. The administration here is a complete joke.

Second Baptist School 2

Posted July 14, 2015
- a community member
This school has some good teachers, but academics are no where close to a priority. Sports and the musical are the most important things at SBS.


Second Baptist School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted July 14, 2015
- a community member
I took mostly AP classes and got 5s on the majority of my exams. I don't love the school overall but I've had some very strong AP teachers.

Second Baptist School 5

Posted June 02, 2015
- a parent
Our child is extremely happy at this high school. The students are welcoming and confident. God is a center of conversation every day. Administration and teachers are genuinely caring and the counselor goes above and beyond for each student. The school spirit is contagious. The curriculum is challenging and facilitating, while paving the way so everyone can reach his or her potential toward success.

Nearby schools

Second Baptist School
6410 Woodway, Houston, TX  77057
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 39 reviews. (713) 365-2310
Last modified Second Baptist School is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Top