Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Carnegie Vanguard High School

Public | 9-12 | 608 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 9 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

38 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted yesterday

All the people who give carnegie negative reviews just didn't work hard enough. I'm a freshman and although the workload is a lot everyone is so supportive and I've never been happier. If you are willing to work hard then carnegie is perfect for you. But if you are lazy and have a bad attitude then you're the problem, not the school. Carnegie give students amazing opportunities that you can't get elsewhere. Wonder why the ratings are so high? Wonder why every single student that goes to Carnegie goes to college? Because the school is phenomenal. I wouldn't want to go to any other high school.


Posted May 6, 2014

That "deep as an ocean" determination ended my life. I suggest you don't speak from your point of view. I did strive, you just don't know my story ..... Everyone of those kids that go to Carnegie do not want to fail their parents. "Carnegie is not for every kid." What an excuse! Any school can be challenging, or even the SAME as CVHS. A slot from another child being taken? That slot gets filled up and emptied every year. While I was there my teacher told the whole class that what cvhs promises is not true, over here at Lamar I get an IB dipolma. What is your child getting at CVHS? Over here, I'm getting offered to go to Harvard & other great colleges for free just because of my grades now. What does CVHS offer? You didn't think I didn't strive to do my very best? I did! You don't think I don't suffer?! Be a student for a year over there, and you will see what I'm talking about. Please don't refer to my review again. Thank you for your good luck. Good luck to your child at Carnege, and I really mean it. If he or she is still there - WOW - and I'm serious, good luck. After all these are JUST opinions, so....
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 2, 2014

Carnegie Vanguard is a challenging learning institution. It is not a place for those who lack 'deep as an ocean' determination. I feel very little compassion for the student who posted that CVHS is the worse school they ever attended. Sounds like sour grapes to me. The attitude reflected in your harsh and inaccurate assessment of Carnegie confirms that you did not belong there in the first place. Carnegie is not for every student. It is great that you are happy at Lamar. I too wish you'd gone there first instead of taking a slot away from another child who perhaps would have done better with the Carnegie experience than yourself. No matter where you are young lady, always strive to do your best. If you do that, than the establishment through which you are trying to matriculate will be irrelevant. It's your character and committment that will see you through and it is the same attributes that will see the current Carnegie students through as well. Good luck to you. Sincerely, A proud and pleased Parent of a CVHS sophomore
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2014

This has been the WORSE school that I ever attended in my life. NOT RECOMMENDED AT ALL!!!!!! While I was there, I had no social life at all, got really sick & had a medical condition, the teachers never believed me when I was sick, I couldn't walk, & they made me use the stairs. I would sleep 'till 3 A.M, you may not see it now, but wait until your kid comes home crying about hw & projects, I cried so many times. The teachers do not, AT ALL, motivate the kids. Some of these teachers, especially 9th/10th grade teachers are SASSY! I had problems w/ 2 of them. It only took for them to say something & the rest of the staff hated me. LIFE WAS IMPOSSIBLE AT CVHS! I would rate this school a ZERO if I could. I'm at Lamar now & I can say LAMAR IS SO MUCH BETTER THAN ANY SCHOOL. What I would give to start freshman year again, but in Lamar. CVHS is horrible, the staff are ughhhh, & the main man there ... oh god. Please parents, don't be influenced by the rankings, I am a student who is telling you the truth about CVHS. If you don't believe me, see for yourself when your kid enters that school. You have no social life or time for anything, not even sleep. Friends are what motivates you.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 8, 2013

I am a recent graduate of CVHS and I recommend it with some reservations. The curriculum is constructed in order to expose students to new perspectives and students leave more knowledgeable and articulate than they were when they arrived (but this is no thanks to the Science & Math departments). Instead of finding better ways to teach students who are struggling in science and math, the school relies on remedial programs like Grad Lab & Math Models to help the students graduate. That said, the demographic composition of the more advanced classes (i.e. AP Calculus AB & BC and AP Physics C) exemplify the racial achievement gap which exists at every grade level. CVHS is a haven for very specific students and if you don t like it or are unable to stay afloat academically, you should transfer. In fact, if after your 1st semester you fail 2+ classes, it s in your best interest to transfer. Honestly, I am satisfied with the time that I spent at Carnegie and the lessons I learned while I was there. Although the school may not have the most virtuous student body (there s an abject cheating problem), students tend to leave more socially responsible and willing to serve their community.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 28, 2013

As a recent Carnegie (CVHS) grad, I believe it s an excellent school, and the small student body is a plus! Carnegie creates an environment for students to excel academically and allows those who are not as socially successful to find their niche. I felt that most of my teachers at CVHS weren t very good. The Math and Science departments are lacking, and many CVHS students struggle to pass these classes with minimal assistance from their teachers. However, the English and Social Studies departments at CVHS are very strong. While students should be mature enough to advocate for themselves, the school doesn t do enough to assist struggling students (who tend to be less privileged), hence its high attrition rate. Many students find the workload stressful and unmanageable. Thus, the spirit of academic dishonesty thrives at CVHS, and the administration needs to do more to address cheating. CVHS has numerous extracurricular offerings, including a wonderful theater program, but I wish the administration was more supportive of these activities. Most students do not come to CVHS expecting athletic expertise, but our soccer and Varsity volleyball teams are skilled in their leagues.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 6, 2013

Do not rest on the on top ranked schools reports. Yes, bright kids go to Carnegie, but are they encouraged to be positive people or negative, over thinking, non-social kids who really do not understand what this life and world is about? Be wary of this situation. Your child will be attending this school more hours than you can see and influence them - each day of the week. Too bad this school cannot fuel a more positive thinking environment, if they did, it could be a school with excellent output. Look at which colleges actually recruit here, you may be disappointed considering the hype. When you tour the school, stop and talk to a student or three and see what type of attitude they have. In this world of so much negative thinking, it would be nice to see more of a positive attitude. In our experience, Carnegie administration and staff does not embody much positive thinking or positive teaching. We rate the school one star because it does not live up to expectation in a number of ways.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 4, 2013

Solid academics, extremely liberal. Not well rounded. Students work hard but extracurricular opportunities are very limited and not encouraged. If you are looking to help develop a well rounded student that will have a solid college application with academics and all of the outside important activities that build a teen into a mature and responsible, contributing young adult, this may not be the school for you. Consider these things carefully. There are a lot of things on paper but not action regarding opportunities to build the entire person. Houston has many great public and private high schools, carefully consider a number of them ESPECIALLY if your child is exceptionally bright. There is a negative side to everything of course. Just consider the entire package - if your child is not eager to become involved, this school will not encourage it. But they do allow the student to feel that it will all work out because they attend "Carnegie". Not true. Speak to college recruiters to get a real understanding of what they expect. And then work with your student carefully from there. Good luck- High School can be a great journey - keep it that way!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2013

As a graduating senior, I feel that i should leave a review for any future rhinos that are considering this school. As a person that cares about the well being of others, I'd like to warn you of the dangers first. If you don't like doing homework,don't like reading long textbook chapters in your "free time", and like being considered an intelligent person, DO NOT consider Carnegie. At this school, there WILL be someone that is smarter than you. You can and will work yourself to the point of tears at least once a month if you stay all four years. But you will not suffer alone. That's what makes Carnegie different. Every other student understands your pain. They are right there with you, staying up all night finishing a research paper due in the morning and sleeping next to you in class the next day. I can honestly say that without the love and support of my brothers and sisters, I would have died of a stress induced heart attack years ago, but just like a struggling family, my fellow Carnegeeks picked me up, bandaged my broken pride, and forced me to walk on with them. And even now as I type this review, I cannot help but cry.I will always love my Carnegie family. Carnegeek 4 Life!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 21, 2013

There are many factors to be consider a good high shcool. CVHS is a great shcool. But, one importmant factor, is, what kind of colleges are open to CVHS seniors? Are those senior really qualified for GT? Seems for me that not many students are accepted to top collages. To qualified for GT HS, we need to consider the college admission. Thanks for the great job from CVHS administration. We are hoping teachers and administrative will do better. Thanks CVHS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2013

Carnegie Vanguard high school is one of the best schools in Houston. The kids are more accepting and less cliquey than most high schools, the new facility is fantastic and modern while being open and eco-friendly as well. The extra curricular programs though limited athletically excel in their area, the theater department is fantastic and excellent as well as quite professional and the sports teams do well (especially considering the small student body) the teachers are over-all accommodating and will do their very best to aid the students and will honestly care for and remember each individual in their classrooms. The workload is great the stress high and the curriculum difficult put if one puts in the effort and dedication they may enjoy an enriched school life with a social life as well and will leave Carnegie with a glowing resume and experience that will prove especially useful in college. It is an amazing school that is just the right amount of quirky and will make you fall in love. It is a family in a sense for the students that attend , and is one of the best high schools in the nation.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 17, 2013

Making me attend Carnegie was probably the worse decision my parents imposed. They based their decision on the local and national rankings and ignored the lifestyle they were condemning me to. I never wanted to go there; and to this day, as a Carnegie senior, I still think it is the worse experienced of my life. But what is more alarming is that things are getting worse. With the new innovative campus, there is an overflow of applications of students who care only about the appearances. The admitting process is a lottery system whose only requirement is that the applicants is categorized as Gifted and Talented. There are many people who, in my opinion, should have never been allowed. Incoming students are rude and arrogant and have no sense of respect towards their teachers. Carnegie has consumed all of my social life. I see myself stressed over schoolwork everyday, wanting to just run away from my miserable life. I have no friends outside from the few I have at school. Activities are very disorganized and the school organizations/clubs are just a mirror of Carnegie's deplorable student body. Please choose your school wisely.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 13, 2013

I'm a sophomore at CVHS and I do love it there. However that feeling is somewhat lessening. The school's brilliance comes from the students and community itself. Where I will say the school is deserving of its status, that status is not due to the school itself, but the tenacity of the students and a handful of amazing teachers. The community at CVHS is amazing. The students are all very helpful and collaborative. The academic competition present in most schools is not present at Carnegie. The clubs created by the kids, and the intellectual society made by them is what really makes the school amazing. However, much of the staff detracts from the possible greatness of the school. Many teachers who are incapable or are unhelpful to the students are not urged to be better. In a school that has ranked in the top 10 schools in the nation, I am very disappointed by the quality of many classes. Teachers are uncompromising and many seem like they don't even want to be there, leaving the students to have to go and learn by themselves and the administration does little or nothing to resolve problems with teachers or other students.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 15, 2012

I'm a senior at Carnegie and it's the worst place in the world. Some of the teachers are good, but too many are self entitled and unhelpful to the kids who are having a harder time. The office workers are rude and the grown-ups that monitor everyone are useless, petty and are just so ridiculous about the dumbest things. The workload is stressful and awful. There's also nothing to do. No serious sports, no music programs, and the clubs are a joke. You can't even go off campus for lunch, even although the new neighborhood is nice. It's like a prison. But the absolute worst part of Carnegie is the students. The majority of them are pretentious, intellectual snobs with zero social skills. Everyone else is just angry at the world and who would blame them? The new campus is pretty I guess, but that's it. It's all looks but no substance. DO NOT GO HERE. I've never been so miserable in my life and starting Junior year I seriously wanted to kill myself. Carnegie ruined my whole high school experience and my life outside of school. If I could give it zero stars I would.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 21, 2012

The learning environment at Carnegie Vanguard is exceptional. Not only does this school provide a rigorous, competitive environment, it also provides nurturing understanding environment as well. There is no such things as public disturbance at Carnegie. Every other students and myself behave ourselves knowing when to talk and when to listen. The teachers care and try their best to help bring out the will to learn out of the students. They also provide motivations for the students to do good on their state exam (TAKS) like root beer floats and etc. Generally most students get a 3 and above on AP exams being prepared as they are during the beginning of school such as implementing AP taking skills early on in the beginning of the school year curriculum and etc. Overall my experience with Carnegie has been amazing! But they should give students who were kicked out a second chance so that they won't have to return to their public home school
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 4, 2011

i think that this school is a gret choice for all the students like me that entering the 9th grade.it has a great rank and great scores on test.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 17, 2011

Overall it is a good school that is working within their severly limited resources. As a parent I would like to more support for an already motivated group of students. Most of the students reach their goals because of who they are not because the teacher pushed them or the school set the stage for growth.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 18, 2010

This school is an elitist dream. OVERRATED and CLIQUES ABOUND. If you find yourself on the bottom two tiers of Maslow's Hierarchy, please don't waste your time or your child's peace of mind. You will be snubbed. It's not worth it. They point certain children out and plan their demise long before you even notice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 17, 2010

The academics leave much to be desired, the administration is uncooperative, disorganized, and mostly incompetent. It is definitely not deserving of its status. The teachers for the most part are mediocre, and not engaging or helpful. The administration does little or nothing to resolve problems with teachers or other students. Being unique is encouraged, but the many of students are not very open or friendly, and they are prone to gossip and petty rumors. it is not a supportive environment. Statements by those that had a good experience make it seem as if all of the people who dislike CVHS feel that way because it has such high standards. This is not the case. I consistently made the highest scores on national tests among my peers at Carnegie, with 5s on AP exams and National Merit PSAT scores, as well as doing well in various competitions. However, little,if any, of that success came from instruction at the school itself. Most was from self study. The curriculum is simple, and, though higher than most non magnet public schools, is not very challenging.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 13, 2010

Carnegie is the only Vanguard High School in Texas, and fosters creativity, collegiality, and critical thinking in a very diverse student population. Great teachers, dedicated administration, an involved parent group make this a school in which we can all take pride.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 89% in 2011.

150 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
99%
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2011.

146 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 91% in 2011.

131 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2011.

130 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2011.

130 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 93% in 2011.

129 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 95% in 2013.

105 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
99%
Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Science

The state average for Science was 95% in 2013.

105 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 98% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a

Math

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a

Science

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a

Social Studies

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Exemplary".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Exemplary".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Exemplary".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 78% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 97% in 2013.

120 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
99%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 85% in 2013.

199 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 84% in 2013.

152 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
99%
English I Reading

The state average for English I Reading was 65% in 2013.

199 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
100%
English I Writing

The state average for English I Writing was 48% in 2013.

199 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
98%
English II Reading

The state average for English II Reading was 78% in 2013.

151 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
n/a
English II Writing

The state average for English II Writing was 52% in 2013.

152 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
n/a
English III Reading

The state average for English III Reading was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English III Writing

The state average for English III Writing was 42% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 86% in 2013.

146 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
97%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
World Geography

The state average for World Geography was 75% in 2013.

198 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%
World History

The state average for World History was 70% in 2013.

150 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black or African American100%
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant100%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

Algebra II

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black or African American100%
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant100%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

Biology I

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black or African American100%
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant100%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

Chemistry

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black or African American100%
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant100%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

English I Reading

All Students99%
Female100%
Male98%
Black or African American96%
Asian96%
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Special educationn/a
Not special education99%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English99%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant99%
Gifted/talented99%
Not Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

English I Writing

All Students99%
Female99%
Male99%
Black or African American100%
Asian100%
Hispanic98%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged98%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Special educationn/a
Not special education99%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English99%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant99%
Gifted/talented99%
Not Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

English II Reading

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black or African American100%
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant100%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

English II Writing

All Students99%
Female99%
Male99%
Black or African American100%
Asian100%
Hispanic93%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged97%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Special educationn/a
Not special education99%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English99%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant99%
Gifted/talented99%
Not Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

English III Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a

English III Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a

Geometry

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black or African American100%
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant100%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

Physics

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a

U.S. History

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a

World Geography

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black or African American100%
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant100%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

World History

All Students99%
Female99%
Male100%
Black or African American100%
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White99%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Special educationn/a
Not special education99%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English99%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant99%
Gifted/talented99%
Not Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 41% 29%
Hispanic 26% 52%
Asian or Pacific Islander 17% 4%
Black 12% 13%
Two or more races 3% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient (LEP) 0%N/A17%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Beginning teachers 5%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Dance teacher(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
  • Jazz band
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Cantonese)
  • French
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • RAMON MOSS
Fax number
  • (713) 732-3692

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Cantonese)
  • French
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Cross country
  • Equestrian
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Jazz band
Performing arts
  • Dance
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1501 Taft Street
Houston, TX 77019
Website: Click here
Phone: (713) 732-3690

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT