Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Bammel Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1273 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 30, 2014

Bammel Middle school is striving to be the best it can. Under the new leadership of Dr. Hyder I see a difference in the staff and the children. They truly care and strive every day to ensure the kids are learning and have the necessary tools to be successful
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2013

I am a former student. I now moved to a school in Minnesota and I'm about to be a class of 2014 senior. I understand that the dress code is strict. But I rather have that than have kids run around in short shorts/low tank-tops and saggy pants. As the years go by, the gang violence seems to be getting worse too. It starts at home. The parents need to watch their kids and teach them how to behave like human beings. Not like animals. If they were raised in a controlled environment, they would be well behaving students. I'm sure there are teachers who try their BEST. And you will always have your teachers who seem to have chosen that profession as a back up plan. Those are the ones that just don't care. Discipline is obviously lacking. And again with dress code, it COULD be a bit less strict in my opinion. I remember I used to freak out because I forgot my school ID. They were crazy about that too. As someone who has been through all that, there is always a way to handle things. The school should focus on getting the kids active so they can handle their frustrations, have counselors, and teach with enthusiasm! Not that they aren't already. But there's always room for improvement.


Posted December 18, 2012

i am currently attending bammel middle school as a 6th grader and i am withdrawing tomorrow.I believe bammel should not be called a middle school more like a prison because of all the strict regulations,dress code is the worst part,you have to wear red,white or navy blue shirts everyday to school and kakis ONLY on mondays and fridays you can wear ONLY jeans thats it and if you want a nice looking backpack thing twice the only choice backpacks is see thru or mesh thats it and there is high rate of bullying there also gang activity so in don't recommend this school don't go there!


Posted November 1, 2012

This school is a War Zone.They have no control and staff do not do there job.My daughter hair was cut by a male student and the got spit in her face from this same male student and we weren't notified.But yet I get a call saying she was absent from class.Im pulling my daughter from this school tomorrow and the police will be notified of this incident along with the superintendent .Something has to be done,before I take actions into my own hands.This will not be tolerated ,too much happened for me not to be notified.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2011

I am a parent of 2 children that attend Bammel Middle school, and I understand that we can't find perfection at any school and that all schools have problems, but Bammel Middle school in particular has a strict dress code, fighting, bullying, stealing, etc. Now I am against dress code but I understand dress code and why the whole thing was put in place and as a matter of a fact, my kids previous school had dress code. At Bammel Middle School there school dress code policy is too strict, meaning no shorts, no jeans, mesh or see through back packs only. I personally think that this school is focused more on the the kids dress code and less on their education. I would rather home-school my children or put them in another school than to let them go to Bammel Middle School which is why I am withdrawing my children tomorrow. In addition I will like to say that this school does have some great teachers, but very few!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2011

I go to this school and i love it! Most of the teachers are nice and the lunch is good but it's 10 dollars a week for me.I think that we shouldn't tuck are shirts in because that's dumb.There would be a couple fights once in a while. Some students get picked on but the teachers try to do something about it.Other students would steal or try to steal your things.Some students hate this school others don't but I give it 4 stars.Shine On fellow patriots:)


Posted July 3, 2010

As a teacher at BMS, I feel compelled to respond to some of the negative criticism that has been directed toward our school. We dedicate 10-14 hours a day to Bammel during the week. We spend a countless hours contacting the parents of students who are causing trouble in an attempt to resolve their behavior so that they may be successful in school and in life (as we all know they can be). We love our kids and struggle daily to save them from the surrounding in which fate has left them.That said, however, we are not miracle workers and are not God. We do the best we can for a group of kids that comes from a rough background and do not get paid much for our efforts. We do the absolute best we can for our kids because we love them. I don't know what else we can do.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 15, 2010

- Bammel Is Not As Bad As Parents Say It Is, Yeah Obviously There Is Problems At Bammel But Other Schools Are No Different. I Believe Teachers Are Great And They Do Teach. The Pricipal, Mr. Wadley Is Great And There Is Really No Bullying Around, Im A 6th Grader, About To Go To 7th And Bammel Is Great, Really There Is No Problems With 8th Graders Or 7th Graders. Bammel Is A Great School. ShiNE ON !


Posted May 12, 2010

My daughter attends this school and I am so happy she will graduating to Senior High. The past 3 years has not been pleasant for her with all of the bullying, fighting, bad language and inappropriate dress. I dropped my child off one morning and saw male students walking into the entrance of the school with their pants hanging below the waist. My daughter has been touched aggressively by male students and she has even told me that the teachers doesn't do a thing about it. This school needs to be closed and the principal and teachers (most, not all of them) need to be retrained on handling teenage kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2010

i rate this school zero i think this is the worst school ever teachers don't even teach they talk about there personal life instead i think this school should be dun with ....and pluse there takes scores are horrible
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2009

i was am an 8th grader in the 2009-2010 year at Bammel Middle School. I dont think it is as bad as everybody makes it seem. It has problems, but so does every school. we have an excellent band and football team, and i am very supoortive of my school. Alot of good things have happened to me mhile i have been here, and im looking foward to a great 8th grade year!!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 27, 2009

great academic program and excellent athletics
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 23, 2008

My child attends this school and comes home constantly conplaining about the bullying problems in the classrooms, in the halls and during the bus ride home. It's an everyday event at Bammell. I am seriously thinking about transferring her to a different district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2007

I must say that the academic program here is not at all impressive, the students are not encouraged to respect adults and the dress code is not enforced consistently. I was very disappointed in the quality of education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2005

Student basic attitude at BMS is extremely poor. disrespectful of administrators, teachers and peers is rampant. Leadership is lacking, or if attempted is poorly concieved and badly executed. Support of teachers by top administrators within BMS is virtually non-existent, inconsistent or at cross-purposes to maintaining proper order and discipline. Mid-level administrators do the best they can to carry out sound practices under very inconsistent and supressive leadership. Parent involvement and cooperation is totally absent in the majority of cases, strong and positive for a very small percent of of students. The lack of top leadership quality and parental concern means poor education now, with little potential for improvement.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 18, 2005

Bammel middle school is a terrible, unsafe enviornment for kids...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2005

Belongings were often burglarized from lockers through 2003. Use of lockers has been prohibited since 2004. Other policies were added to improve security in 2004. As of 2005, buses are so rowdy that they occasionally go into 'lockdown' mode requiring police to come aboard to restore order. A rigid dress code was enforced in 2002 to minimize economic differences in appearance. As of 2005, if you're a white student, the only extracurricular activity you're likely to feel comfortable in is the Marching Band. Many parents don't have much confidence in the current principal (Crittenden). The percentage of white students has been declining in Bammel for many years and this is expected to continue.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 84% in 2011.

419 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
72%
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2011.

420 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
55%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2011.

431 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
77%
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2011.

431 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
60%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 94% in 2011.

431 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2011.

404 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
92%
Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2011.

401 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
76%
Science

The state average for Science was 79% in 2011.

400 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
67%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 95% in 2011.

400 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students71%
Female74%
Male69%
Black or African American68%
Asian83%
Hispanic74%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White75%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Special education6%
Not special education74%
Limited English proficient (LEP)53%
Proficient in English73%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant71%
Gifted/talented97%

Math

All Students63%
Female63%
Male63%
Black or African American58%
Asian92%
Hispanic70%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White63%
Economically disadvantaged61%
Not economically disadvantaged75%
Special education12%
Not special education66%
Limited English proficient (LEP)65%
Proficient in English61%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant64%
Gifted/talented93%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students75%
Female81%
Male70%
Black or African American70%
Asiann/a
Hispanic83%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White74%
Economically disadvantaged73%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Special education29%
Not special education78%
Limited English proficient (LEP)48%
Proficient in English76%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant75%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students55%
Female58%
Male53%
Black or African American50%
Asiann/a
Hispanic64%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White68%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Not economically disadvantaged68%
Special education11%
Not special education58%
Limited English proficient (LEP)42%
Proficient in English55%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant55%
Gifted/talented95%

Writing

All Students89%
Female93%
Male85%
Black or African American87%
Asiann/a
Hispanic93%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White84%
Economically disadvantaged87%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Special education53%
Not special education91%
Limited English proficient (LEP)75%
Proficient in English89%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant89%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students88%
Female90%
Male87%
Black or African American86%
Asian100%
Hispanic89%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged88%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Special education37%
Not special education92%
Limited English proficient (LEP)55%
Proficient in English89%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant88%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students66%
Female66%
Male67%
Black or African American58%
Asian100%
Hispanic75%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White72%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Special education30%
Not special education69%
Limited English proficient (LEP)58%
Proficient in English66%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant66%
Gifted/talented100%

Science

All Students57%
Female51%
Male63%
Black or African American50%
Asian100%
Hispanic61%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged53%
Not economically disadvantaged73%
Special education39%
Not special education59%
Limited English proficient (LEP)50%
Proficient in English58%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant58%
Gifted/talented100%

Social Studies

All Students93%
Female92%
Male93%
Black or African American91%
Asian100%
Hispanic94%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged91%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Special education79%
Not special education94%
Limited English proficient (LEP)92%
Proficient in English93%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant92%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 71% in 2013.

407 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
54%
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2013.

403 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
46%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

401 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
66%
Math

The state average for Math was 71% in 2013.

392 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
45%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2013.

399 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
50%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 84% in 2013.

380 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
67%
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

376 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
47%
Science

The state average for Science was 75% in 2013.

397 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
54%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 63% in 2013.

397 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
33%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 78% in 2013.

28 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
100%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 97% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 85% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 84% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English I Reading

The state average for English I Reading was 65% in 2013.

29 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
79%
English I Writing

The state average for English I Writing was 48% in 2013.

29 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
55%
English II Reading

The state average for English II Reading was 78% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
92%
English II Writing

The state average for English II Writing was 52% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
69%
English III Reading

The state average for English III Reading was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English III Writing

The state average for English III Writing was 42% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 86% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
World Geography

The state average for World Geography was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
World History

The state average for World History was 70% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students52%
Female54%
Male49%
Black or African American49%
Asian60%
Hispanic54%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White60%
Economically disadvantaged49%
Not economically disadvantaged66%
Special education8%
Not special education54%
Limited English proficient (LEP)32%
Proficient in English55%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant52%
Gifted/talented87%
Non-Gifted47%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students50%
Female53%
Male47%
Black or African American39%
Asian80%
Hispanic61%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White67%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Not economically disadvantaged66%
Special education12%
Not special education52%
Limited English proficient (LEP)49%
Proficient in English50%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant50%
Gifted/talented83%
Non-Gifted45%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students59%
Female65%
Male53%
Black or African American53%
Asian83%
Hispanic66%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White0%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Not economically disadvantaged71%
Special education8%
Not special education62%
Limited English proficient (LEP)32%
Proficient in English64%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant59%
Gifted/talented92%
Non-Gifted54%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students49%
Female51%
Male49%
Black or African American44%
Asian67%
Hispanic58%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White17%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Not economically disadvantaged48%
Special education0%
Not special education53%
Limited English proficient (LEP)38%
Proficient in English51%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant49%
Gifted/talented88%
Non-Gifted44%
Bilingualn/a

Writing

All Students55%
Female65%
Male47%
Black or African American55%
Asian50%
Hispanic57%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White17%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Not economically disadvantaged59%
Special education8%
Not special education58%
Limited English proficient (LEP)26%
Proficient in English61%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant55%
Gifted/talented92%
Non-Gifted50%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students64%
Female69%
Male61%
Black or African American63%
Asian57%
Hispanic67%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White54%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged68%
Special education11%
Not special education67%
Limited English proficient (LEP)33%
Proficient in English67%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant64%
Gifted/talented92%
Non-Gifted61%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students53%
Female50%
Male56%
Black or African American49%
Asian67%
Hispanic57%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White71%
Economically disadvantaged51%
Not economically disadvantaged61%
Special education5%
Not special education56%
Limited English proficient (LEP)41%
Proficient in English55%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant53%
Gifted/talented83%
Non-Gifted50%
Bilingualn/a

Science

All Students53%
Female53%
Male53%
Black or African American47%
Asian100%
Hispanic56%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White74%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Not economically disadvantaged66%
Special education13%
Not special education55%
Limited English proficient (LEP)35%
Proficient in English54%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant53%
Gifted/talented88%
Non-Gifted47%
Bilingualn/a

Social Studies

All Students46%
Female42%
Male50%
Black or African American43%
Asian75%
Hispanic47%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White63%
Economically disadvantaged44%
Not economically disadvantaged55%
Special education6%
Not special education48%
Limited English proficient (LEP)31%
Proficient in English47%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant46%
Gifted/talented83%
Non-Gifted39%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

All Students96%
Female93%
Male100%
Black or African American91%
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged95%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education96%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant96%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted88%
Bilingualn/a

Algebra II

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

Biology I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

Chemistry

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

English I Reading

All Students93%
Female87%
Male100%
Black or African American100%
Asiann/a
Hispanic85%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged87%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education93%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English93%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant93%
Gifted/talented95%
Non-Gifted86%
Bilingualn/a

English I Writing

All Students86%
Female73%
Male100%
Black or African American88%
Asiann/a
Hispanic77%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Special educationn/a
Not special education86%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English86%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant86%
Gifted/talented91%
Non-Gifted71%
Bilingualn/a

English II Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

English II Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

English III Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

English III Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

Geometry

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

Physics

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

U.S. History

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

World Geography

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

World History

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Academically Unacceptable".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Academically Unacceptable".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Academically Acceptable".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 54% 13%
Hispanic 41% 52%
White 3% 29%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Asian or Pacific Islander 1% 4%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient (LEP) 15%N/A17%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Beginning teachers 7%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • H P HYDER
Fax number
  • (281) 891-7901

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Library
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

16711 Ella Boulevard
Houston, TX 77090
Website: Click here
Phone: (281) 891-7900

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT