Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Faustina Academy

Private | PK-12 | 195 students

Formation of Character, Excellent Teachers, Challenging Academics, Sports

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

 
 

Living in Irving

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $109,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $730.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 13 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

25 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 24, 2014

How many parents have a peace of mind when it comes to where their kids are attending high school? I can honestly say that we do! This school and leadership are above all expectations! The staff is knowledgeable, friendly and has our kids best interests at heart! The families are made up of like-minded individuals when it comes to what is most important-the continued faith formation! More importantly, the leadership and faith direction from this principal is OUTSTANDING! Our kids are learning how to live in this world, not be "of this world"!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2014

Smaller class sizes allow teachers to work more closely with students and enhances the students' education. Excellent opportunities to participate in sporting activities regardless of student sporting skills (i.e. everyone gets the opportunity to participate)


Posted April 30, 2014

This school builds the "Culture of Life" character in each student. Very Prolife and Profamily school. Amazing teachers, instructors and familes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2014

Our children have attended Faustina Academy since its inception. It is truly a jewel! The teachers provide strong academics and Catholic values. It gives us peace of mind that our children are in a safe and moral environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2014

Faustina is the school that we have been looking for that best aligns with our faith and conservative values. My girls feel at home at the school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2014

Faustina Academy is a great family oriented school with strong academics. They concentrate on building Christian character as well as a well rounded scholar.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2014

Great school, good family values and strong academics! Everyone gets to participate in athletics and these programs are character building as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2014

Wonderful little school, where both values and academics are only rivaled by the motivation, dedication, and skills of the faculty. Communication is encouraged and teachers' availability and readiness to listen is second to none. We have the piece of mind that the values we instill into our children at home are paralleled and reinforced at school. This school is simply a blessing!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2014

I love that this school promotes learning, high morals, and serving others. My elementary-age children are now holding doors open for me and being more helpful without any signs of disrespect. The projects they do for class help them to use resources outside their textbooks. The field trips work in tandem with their lesson plans. Parents are highly encouraged to be involved at the school. The small class size promotes better relationships among the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2014

Our children have been at Faustina Academy for 3 years, and we love it! We have a high schooler, junior high student, and an elementary age student. All three children are receiving an amazing education as well as the formation that they need to help them become kind, good, and honest adults! The tuition is very affordable and the teachers are AWESOME!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2014

Faustina Academy is small, has a great sports program and they truly care about each child. My children love it here and have been here since the doors opened. Two of my children have graduated from here and they are both doing really well in College, so this school has prepared them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2014

Our family was seaking a school three years ago that was Catholic and one we could afford having a larger family. We were more than welcomed with loving arms. We have appreciated the conservative maintained standards the school and contributing families together try to uphold. The education is classical and our 4 children have excelled and learned so much these past 3 years. Much is kept clear, simple and to the point when it comes to academics, activities which is so nice in this age of so much noise and distractions. Sports are available as are other extracurricular activities. We have greatly appreciated the overall experience our children and family has had while being a part of the Faustina community. Definitely a find.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2014

Our school is one of a kind! It's educational, spiritual, inexpensive, high quality teachers and staff, wonderful families and great sports programs, with a band program and theater performances!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2013

Wonderfully faithful school, dedicated staff and teachers, holy kids and families, we are so blessed to be part of this community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2013

This may be a great school IF your already enrolled. They aren't very accepting to potential families though. Conversation over the phone: Me: Hi, I was wanting to see if your accepting new students in grades- (interrupted) Receptionist: -No we're full. Me: I didn't tell you what grades I needed yet. Receptionist: ...Oh...Well...What grades did you need? Me: 9th and 11th Receptionist: No, we're full. Me: Hm. Really? How many students to you allow per class? Receptionist: Um....15 Me: How many do you have in the 9th grade now? Receptionist: I don't know. Me: Can you check? Receptionist: Um...Sure....(long pause) Well....there's 12 in there right now. But it's full. That teacher won't take any new students. Me: I thought you said the class limit was 15. Receptionist:.....Well...It is... but we're all full. Sorry. Makes me wonder what kind of "Christian" values they're teaching the kids. Certainly not honesty.


Posted February 18, 2013

My Son has attended Faustina Academy the past 4 years. This school has been the best place to have our son educated. Faustina has the traditional College Prep education which is not watered down or hyped up with non essential busy work. True formation is actively lived and taught, not just printed and advertised. The teachers, staff and families are all the role models one would choose for their child. Most importantly, excellent leadership by the Principle who devoutly follows God's will. Because all of this takes place, the students at Faustina respect and care about each other. There is no bullying or ridicule, just true christian behavior. The Holy Spirit is truly present in this school! If you are looking for a great education, a safe and respectful environment with solid catholic values this place is for your children. We are very blessed to have this academic treasure in our Irving community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2012

My children have been attending Faustina Academy since they opened their doors 10 years ago. This school is one of a kind! Great academics, excellent devoted teachers and most importantly like minded families! It is like one big happy family! They offer all kinds of sports and fun events that the kids look forward to all year around. It truly is a school that is too good to be true and an answer to our prayers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2012

Superb place. Great families, dedicated staff, holy atmosphere. They won't win the state football championship, but if you are more concerned with getting your kids into heaven than into Harvard, this is the place to be. We love it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2011

I've been here for 9 years, and I love it! I've been here since the doors opened up, in Pre-K, and am planning on graduating here too! There aren't words that can sum up how much I love the school. It's small, but that means more attention for your children! The teachers care for the students, unlike other Public schools, and/or Private schools. If your looking for attention for your child, this is the PERFECT place! Their website: faustinaacademy.com. Love it!


Posted October 29, 2009

I have been a student at Faustina Academy since the school opened its doors in 2003, and I am going to be graduating in May. I can wholeheartedly recommend Faustina Academy to anyone who wants their child to have the best education possible in a safe environment. Also, despite the fact that the school is Catholic, they do welcome other denominations. Parents, please give Faustina Academy a chance!
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

College readiness and student pathways

Percentage of students going to 4-year college 100% (2012)
Colleges most students attend after graduation Texas A&M
University of Dallas
Franciscan University
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Foreign languages spoken by school staff None
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Top 50 Catholic High Schools (2012)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Kitchen

Gifted & talented

College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:10 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:15 a.m.
School Leader's name
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 4 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (972) 254-6727

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Classical (e.g., focuses on the "classics")
  • College prep
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • None
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer in the classroom
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$4000 - $6000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Texas A&M
University of Dallas
Franciscan University
College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
SAT/ACT prep classes
Students' post-graduation plans in 2012
4 year college - 100%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1621 W. Grauwyler
Irving, TX 75061
Website: Click here
Phone: (972) 254-6726

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Wesleyan Academe
Irving, TX





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT