Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Faustina Academy

Private | PK-12 | 195 students

Formation of Character, Excellent Teachers, Challenging Academics, Sports

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

 
 

Living in Irving

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $109,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $730.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 7, 2014

Our school is one of a kind! It's educational, spiritual, inexpensive, high quality teachers and staff, wonderful families and great sports programs, with a band program and theater performances!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2013

Wonderfully faithful school, dedicated staff and teachers, holy kids and families, we are so blessed to be part of this community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2013

This may be a great school IF your already enrolled. They aren't very accepting to potential families though. Conversation over the phone: Me: Hi, I was wanting to see if your accepting new students in grades- (interrupted) Receptionist: -No we're full. Me: I didn't tell you what grades I needed yet. Receptionist: ...Oh...Well...What grades did you need? Me: 9th and 11th Receptionist: No, we're full. Me: Hm. Really? How many students to you allow per class? Receptionist: Um....15 Me: How many do you have in the 9th grade now? Receptionist: I don't know. Me: Can you check? Receptionist: Um...Sure....(long pause) Well....there's 12 in there right now. But it's full. That teacher won't take any new students. Me: I thought you said the class limit was 15. Receptionist:.....Well...It is... but we're all full. Sorry. Makes me wonder what kind of "Christian" values they're teaching the kids. Certainly not honesty.


Posted February 18, 2013

My Son has attended Faustina Academy the past 4 years. This school has been the best place to have our son educated. Faustina has the traditional College Prep education which is not watered down or hyped up with non essential busy work. True formation is actively lived and taught, not just printed and advertised. The teachers, staff and families are all the role models one would choose for their child. Most importantly, excellent leadership by the Principle who devoutly follows God's will. Because all of this takes place, the students at Faustina respect and care about each other. There is no bullying or ridicule, just true christian behavior. The Holy Spirit is truly present in this school! If you are looking for a great education, a safe and respectful environment with solid catholic values this place is for your children. We are very blessed to have this academic treasure in our Irving community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2012

My children have been attending Faustina Academy since they opened their doors 10 years ago. This school is one of a kind! Great academics, excellent devoted teachers and most importantly like minded families! It is like one big happy family! They offer all kinds of sports and fun events that the kids look forward to all year around. It truly is a school that is too good to be true and an answer to our prayers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2012

Superb place. Great families, dedicated staff, holy atmosphere. They won't win the state football championship, but if you are more concerned with getting your kids into heaven than into Harvard, this is the place to be. We love it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2011

I've been here for 9 years, and I love it! I've been here since the doors opened up, in Pre-K, and am planning on graduating here too! There aren't words that can sum up how much I love the school. It's small, but that means more attention for your children! The teachers care for the students, unlike other Public schools, and/or Private schools. If your looking for attention for your child, this is the PERFECT place! Their website: faustinaacademy.com. Love it!


Posted October 29, 2009

I have been a student at Faustina Academy since the school opened its doors in 2003, and I am going to be graduating in May. I can wholeheartedly recommend Faustina Academy to anyone who wants their child to have the best education possible in a safe environment. Also, despite the fact that the school is Catholic, they do welcome other denominations. Parents, please give Faustina Academy a chance!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 23, 2008

My kindergardner is already reading at a 2nd grade level. Our children love the school and the leadership is devout and agreeable. Everyone that I talk to loves Faustina Academy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2008

Finally! A small school...Like a huge happy family. I am so sick of big schools. The bigger the school, the bigger the chance of your child mixed in with rotten kids! No thanks. What kids today are exposed to is shocking! And the kids at Faustina are of like mind and so innocent. Perfect! Is there such a thing as a perfect school? Well there is now.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2007

I love this school. The school actually cares for the kids. Something that other schools should look into. I would highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2005

I love Faustina Academy so much that I moved from another city to be closer. visit their website at www.faustinaacademy.org. There is not enough room here for me to tell you everything that we like about the school. School goes from Pre-K all the way through 12th. Thank you, Scott Killian
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2004

This school is absolutely perfect. The students are all so respectful and kind to each other. The families are so involved and active in doing whatever they can for the school. It is a wonderful disciplined, christian atmosphere at all times. Everyone that goes here loves it. The teachers are not only qualified but passionate about what they teach and the education program is designed to challenge everyone to their potential. As a parent, you couldn't ask for anything better especially when your child can't wait to go to school every day.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

College readiness and student pathways

Percentage of students going to 4-year college 100% (2012)
Colleges most students attend after graduation Texas A&M
University of Dallas
Franciscan University
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Foreign languages spoken by school staff None
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Top 50 Catholic High Schools (2012)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Kitchen

Gifted & talented

College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:10 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:15 a.m.
School Leader's name
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 4 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (972) 254-6727

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Classical (e.g., focuses on the "classics")
  • College prep
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • None
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer in the classroom
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$4000 - $6000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Texas A&M
University of Dallas
Franciscan University
College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
SAT/ACT prep classes
Students' post-graduation plans in 2012
4 year college - 100%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1621 W. Grauwyler
Irving, TX 75061
Website: Click here
Phone: (972) 254-6726

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Wesleyan Academe
Irving, TX




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT