Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-5|Private
177 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
19 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 34 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


The Sloan School 5

Posted February 15, 2016
- a parent
Both of my children attended The Sloan School from 2yrs old through the 5th grade. We had a great experience. They received a great education and enjoyed everything about the place (teachers, staff, program). Everyone knew their names and it truly was a home away from home for them and us.

The Sloan School 5

Posted February 15, 2016
- a parent
I could not disagree with the previous review more! This school has the most tenured staff I could find when I visited schools in the area. I was on a waiting list to get in which tells me their enrollment is at capacity. I asked the Sloans about their other school and learned it is co-owned by them and another couple and each owner is at that school one day a week. I see Darin or Christy most everyday-I don't know of another school whose owners are more hands-on.


The Sloan School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted February 15, 2016
- a parent
All you have to do is ask each teacher as you take a tour how many years they have been there to learn how happy they are. Happy teachers=happy school. In this environment of love and happiness, the sky's the limit on what the children are capable of academically, socially, physically and spiritually. Some of the afternoon teachers attended the school when they were little. Lots of love here!

The Sloan School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted February 15, 2016
- a parent
Homework is directed from the curriculum, not the teachers or administration. Respect for family time is a high priority of the owners of this school.

The Sloan School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted February 15, 2016
- a parent
The curriculum is advanced. A consistent routine and strict following of the lesson plans ensures the children learn all they can. The learning environment is fun (lots of learning games) and encouraging.


The Sloan School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted February 15, 2016
- a parent
Harshness, sarcasm and name-calling is not tolerated at this school. The staff and teachers are friendly and kind.

The Sloan School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted February 15, 2016
- a parent
Disputes among the children are handled using the Love and Logic approach which, at its core, leads children to take responsibility for their actions in a very caring, empathetic way.

The Sloan School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted February 15, 2016
- a parent
The school has a strong mission statement and purpose. They seek to develop excellence in the whole child. The foundation of love and high character creates an environment where children can learn to their fullest potential.


The Sloan School 1

Posted April 18, 2015
- a parent
This school is not what it used to be. Enrollment is down considerably, teachers change every year and the front office is very difficult to deal with. They are really not preparing your child for the world. It's not wonder not many families in Irving are sending their kids to this school anymore. The Sloans bought another school and are more concerned with the profits of the schools now than the real one on one personalization they used to have.

The Sloan School 2

Posted December 17, 2014
- a parent
Came to pick child up in summer. 45 mins outside in 100 degree weather and under age four. Always thirsty the whole time at Sloan. Had to bring a cup of milk with me in afternoon because only give one cup a day at lunch. My parents came to grandparents day. Asked where her cup was and teacher said couldn't go back and get it because no one to watch kids. Playground old and wooden for young kids,but older kid playground is great. Too many office staff in the front talking and not helping teachers in the back. Came to the school and the teacher said she couldn't change diaper because she was waiting on help so I changed it. Also told another mom that who came in behind me. It may be good for k-5, but was not impressed with child care. The teachers are sweet, but do not have enough help during the day. I now am at a school where papers and belongings handed to me, no searching, milk is kept in the class so never thirsty and they have an indoor play area for bad weather days. Sloan School means well and I know they care about the kids, but there is more monitoring and organization that needs to take place. My child is a totally different child and is not near as fussy at end of day.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

The Sloan School
3131 North O'Connor Road, Irving, TX  75062
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 34 reviews. (972) 659-1199
Last modified The Sloan School is a Private school that serves grades PK-5
Top