Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

950 students|Manara Academy
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
40 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 46 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Manara Academy 1

Posted November 21, 2015
- a parent
Worst experience ever. The teachers are inexperienced and too young to be teaching grades like 1st and 2nd. The school staff is unorganized and doesn't seem to know what they're doing. The kids don't respect the teachers or the principals plus they not have counselors. If you're going to enroll your kid there, be prepared to receive a phone call every now and then about some stupid stuff on your child. They always blame your child over something (again due to their lack of experience and inability to resolve problems). The withdrawal rate is increasing. I had to withdraw my child and enrolled him in a different school. If you're looking for a good education for your child, this school is not it. Run!!!!

Manara Academy
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted November 21, 2015
- a parent
My 1st grader was suspended for 10 days over some stupid stuff. They do not offer counseling and the teachers always blame the kids. The lack of experience that the teachers, the staff and even the principals have, is unbelievable. I withdrew my child after they decided to suspend him.


Manara Academy 5

Posted July 27, 2015
- a parent
Manara Academy Public Charter School is the best decision we have made for our children in their educational career. We started them in August of this school year. We have read all of the reviews and I dont think some of the parents appreciate what their children are receiving here at Manara or they have truly never been to a traditional public school. My children are so excited to go to school everyday because they use a hands on learning approach, the classes are small, and the teachers seem to care a great deal. Communication is good between the teachers with the parents and their websites are fantastic. You wont find hands on learning in collaborative groups or Foreign Languages being taught in K-8 in any traditional public school. The Superintendent seems to always be present, available and responsive to needs.. The feeling is that he is steering the school with an academic focus. The staff is young in some areas, but each year they gather another year of experience. This school is going to continue to thrive and get better each year.

Manara Academy 5

Posted May 19, 2015
- a parent
My daughter went to LCE from K to 2nd. We were so frustrated with the teachers that we moved her to Manara starting 3rd grade and we have never looked back. I wished we started her at Manara since K so she does have to work so hard to make up the knowledge gap. She absolutely loves Manara and her teachers. She misses school, her friends and teachers when the shcool is out. I read some parents complain about the school lunches, buses and grades. If you want just a free education, you should probably go somewhere else. If you truely interested in investing in your kids' future, Manara is the place. The fundraising is necessary as charter schools don't get the same amount of money as other public schools. I pack a heathly lunch for my daughter every day as she doesn't like the food at school. Grades is not the sole indicator of your kids' achievement. What matters most is whether and how much she/he has grown/learned. We are sending my daughter to 6th grade at Manara in the Fall. The middle school is ranked A+, as good as any other school other, but with caring little and great languages program.

Manara Academy 4

Posted March 17, 2015
- a parent
Manara is a great school!! The expeditionary style of teaching really makes learning fun for the kids. All the teachers are very caring, patient, and kind. They are like family. I have had kids in Manara for 5 years now and I am very pleased with the education they have had.


Manara Academy 4

Posted March 16, 2015
- a parent
I have been with Manara Academy for 6 years, the school s EL (Expeditionary Learning) and world languages programs not only provided academic knowledge for my 2 children but also enriched their characters. My children are more engaged and interested in learning, they love to go to school and love their teachers, the staff are so warm hearted, they make me feel like family :)

Manara Academy 5

Posted March 01, 2015
- a parent
The staff are great, they treat the students with care. My kids attended that school since the second year the school was made. The kids enjoy the school and will beam with happiness. Manara Academy is an EL school and they go on expedition to teach the students.

Manara Academy 5

Posted March 01, 2015
- a parent
Manara Academy is undoubtedly a great school. Where the focus is not only on the curriculum but on the grooming, character building and of course the expeditionary learning. One of the main assets of Manara Academy is the teachers who are always focused and concerned about each and every student.


Manara Academy 3

Posted February 26, 2015
- a student
I am a student at Manara Academy Irving Middle School. At Manara, our community is a diverse community, our classes are separated boys and girls. Manara allows us to choose a language to take between arabic or french. Minor problem at our middle school is the cafeteria food, most of the time the food served isn't well, either its soggy, burnt, or old. The most important thing of all is that we know each and everyone in our community.

Manara Academy 4

Posted February 25, 2015
- a student
manara is one of the only expeditionary learning schools in Texas. it provides me an amazing education. my school offers 2 different languages for kids to speak arabic and french! manara is very diverse. Manara is a place where i feel safe, and a place where i know that the schools putting in as much as effort as i am. i can proudly say that i attend manara academy.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Manara Academy
8201 Tristar Drive, Irving, TX  75063
(972) 304-1155
Last modified Manara Academy is a Charter school that serves grades K-9. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Manara Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 46 reviews. Top