Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
12 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 12 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Hanes Elementary School 5

Posted June 04, 2015
- a community member
Great school my daughter loved it here her teacher is a great teacher she helped her and encouraged her. As parents we are also a very important role in our kids education so whatever you do at home with your child will reflect at school. Teachers and parents should work as a team... support your kids teacher and i grantee you your child will do great. Very satisfied with Hanes

Hanes Elementary School 5

Posted August 25, 2013
- a parent
My children both have attended Hanes. I had one attend from 2006 until 2012 (all 6 years). I also have one that has gone from 2009 and is presently going into the 4th grade. I love this school so much that when we moved out of their boundry I have had them transferred. The teachers are great. They work very hard to help all the children succeed. They help children who are struggling with reading and math by having after school tutoring. Teachers work for very little money with a low budget. Most the time they have to buy their own extra supplies or any thing else they need for their class. I believe the negative reviews probably have another story because no Hanes teacher would ever say just fail its ok. Parents need to realize they have to put in work at home too. I know shocking that you would actually have to do something with your own kid. And no I am not a teacher just a teacher advocate.


Hanes Elementary School 5

Posted August 16, 2013
- a parent
My daughter has been going to Hanes for the past 2 years and will be going into 4th grade this year. I think this school and the teachers are awesome! Not sure about the bad reviews written on here, but I have never had any problems with this school. We did have some issues with a child in my daughter's class, but the principal and the couselor got involved and immediately removed the child from the classroom. I give Hanes 5 Gold Stars!

Hanes Elementary School 1

Posted June 01, 2012
- a parent
This school is has not benefited my Kindergarten son. The teacher was bias, negative, unsupportive and offensive. She had very poor teaching skills and no motivation for my child to do his best. Any work my son excelled in was not revealed to me, but things he did not do well on was sent home in a folder. This school's staff really needs training in diversity. I was not given pertinent information, such as Spelling Bees or Awards Ceremonies. These are things I had to find out for myself, if at all.

Hanes Elementary School 2

Posted March 26, 2012
- a parent
This is my daughter's third year hear and she has been blessed to have really great teachers. Unfortunately, there has been an obvious change for the worse since the new principal came on board. Not only does there seem to be a new financial focus but the way she speaks at open houses really inflicts guilt and failure even in parents like me who contribute and participate in my child's learning and class in every possible way.


Hanes Elementary School 1

Posted April 09, 2011
- a parent
This school has really gone downhill since the new principal came into the picture in 2009. You can see that in 2010 every TAKS score went down and the school went from recognized to academically acceptable. The Principal is degrading to her teachers in meetings and she's inappropriate with the children. I will pull my child out of this school as soon as I'm able to move. I couldn't be more disappointed in this administration. I wish more parents would voice their concern.

Hanes Elementary School 5

Posted November 30, 2008
- a parent
My child has been at Hanes since 1st grade and is now in 4th. The teachers at Hanes are dedicated and sincerely care about the students including the principal, Mrs. Blevins. My child really looks up to her. I was originally worired about the no child left behind act, but Hanes has come up with ways to challenge the students who are a bit more advanced. Also, I must mention that the staff and PTA did a great job with the carnival this year! I really appreciate their hardwork. Christine

Hanes Elementary School 5

Posted July 17, 2007
- a parent
Two of our children have attended Hanes and one currently attends. We have been very pleased with academics, discipline, teachers and the administration. Every teacher we have had at this school has gone beyond the call of duty to not only teach our kids but especially to show them how much they care. One of the teachers my child had was recently named teacher of the year by a state organization. Another teacher took the time, along with the school nurse, to help our child deal with medical issues. We are very happy with this school.


Hanes Elementary School 4

Posted July 12, 2005
- a parent
Hanes has dedicated teachers and a very active PTA. They have a new principal and asst. principal starting in August but that should only bring good things to the school. The school population is very diverse. Students place well in art, music and other city and area-wide competitions.

Hanes Elementary School 4

Posted June 09, 2005
- a parent
My daughter loved going to Hanes. I would have any future children go there also. She excelled at Hanes and she excelled in middle school. They prepared her well.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Hanes Elementary School
2730 Cheyenne Street, Irving, TX  75062
(972) 600-3600
Last modified Hanes Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Hanes Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top