Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public
Irving, TX
Students enrolled: 838

3 stars
Based on 17 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


18 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Johnston Elementary School 4

Posted January 26, 2012
- a parent
My children attended AS Johnston in the 90's, and now my grandchild is attending his 2nd year. The school has improved, greatly. In the 90's I ended up pulling my children out and homeschooling them. However, I believe my grandchild is receiving top-notch education. The teachers are available, daily, for conferencing. They always answer their email. The teachers seem to be sincerly concerned about the child's progress. The principal is very approachable and actively involved in the daily operations of the school. The classes are small (in spite of the operation cuts). I would highly recomend this school.

Johnston Elementary School 1

Posted May 06, 2010
- a parent
Would not reccommend this school to anyone. Three of my children have gone here, and I regret daily my decision to move into the neighborhood so they could attend a 'better school.' Communication between teachers and parents does not exist. Principal has a very condesending attitude, and only TAKS skills are taught. When my oldest child went on to 6th grade in the GT program, his new teachers have commented that he is far behind other students who attended other IISD schools.


Johnston Elementary School 5

Posted July 29, 2008
- a parent
Johnston has come a long way. It has changed in so many ways. The administration is great. They are always thinking about the students. And yes they do have new teachers, but very good ones at that. Changes do happen in a lot of places and school is also a place where changes are made. Always remember that changes are good. And by reviewing the TAKS scores you can also see the effort is has taken to come this far. And also the students are very very happy. Also Johnston does need more parent volunteers in the school. But again I would highly recommend A.S. Johnston to anyone. Johnston will shine!

Johnston Elementary School 5

Posted July 29, 2008
- a parent
My child has attended Johnston for 3 years. I have been extremely impressed with the science, math and reading curriculum. My child enjoys the hands on experience in science and math. I have been impressed with the administrative push towards reading. I have had several conversations with ASJ's new adminstrative team. WOW! they really know curriculum and they seem to care about my child and the other 500+ students at the school. They are really trying to build a community within the school. This is refreshing.

Johnston Elementary School 5

Posted July 29, 2008
- a parent
As a parent, I feel that Johnston is a great school. My child has gained tremendous confidence in herself academically. I know that she has enjoyed attending Johnston and cannot wait to return next year.


Johnston Elementary School 5

Posted July 28, 2008
- a parent
I am proud to say I am a very happy parent at Johnston. I have had 2 chilren go through Johnston and I now have a child in the first grade. Under the new administration the school has completely turned around. The TAKS scores speak for themselves. They went up considerably from previous years and that is hands down due to the new administration. Teachers are more involved then ever before. If more parents would get involved it would be close to perfect.

Johnston Elementary School 1

Posted May 21, 2008
- a parent
This school lacks communication skills to inform parents of students progress in class as well as conduct of their children. I would not recommend this school to no one who is thinking about sending their child there. Though the teachers are good there still that huge lack of communication which is not good for a parent to hear. The administration staff there is a lack as well. I would recommend Townley Elementary they are more structured and invovled in communicating with parents. No school is perfect, but Johnston does not get my vote.

Johnston Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted January 20, 2008
- a parent
Not seen bad school than this. Staff looks negligent and school administration does not care. Teachers change and parent does not know.


Johnston Elementary School 3

Posted October 31, 2007
- a parent
I feel the school has poor promotion of what they would like to see at the school. There is poor communication between some of the teachers and that effect parent involvement. This is my childrens first year in Irving ISD and I think the district not just the school has a cry for help, more involvement of the public and community would help the schools along the road to success

Johnston Elementary School 1

Posted March 01, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Johnston Elementary School
2801 Rutgers Drive, Irving, TX  75062
(972) 600-7700
Last modified Johnston Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Johnston Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. Top