Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 28 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


29 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Macarthur High School 5

Posted November 28, 2013
- a parent
My daughters absolutely LOVE MacArthur high school! MacArthur has the most school spirit in the district as well as the highest AP scores. The AVID program (college prep) is new but very helpful, both of my daughters are in it and I see a lot of improvement. There's really something for everybody from FCA or Student Council to Skate Club and a Rock band called M5. There's AT LEAST 35 extracurriculars at Mac that I can name to you. This is what sets Mac apart from other schools. There are tutoring opportunities before and after school and there is even a late bus that will take the students that stayed for a club or tutoring. The teacher's at Mac genuinely care for their student's and it shows. The principal and VP's are very involved with the school, I see them at every school event! Everyone who gave Mac low rankings didn't take the initiative to actually get involved with the school or had students that didn't. Taking those higher AP courses and getting involved in a group is what makes the experience at Mac unforgettable.

Macarthur High School 5

Posted November 24, 2013
- a student
I am a sophomore at MacArthur and I absolutely love it here! The teachers try to help as much as they can. The students at the school are the most sweetest people. I love this school! I recommend this school for any high school student or parent that wants their child to have fun in school while they are learning.


Macarthur High School 1

Posted July 31, 2012
- a parent
This school is the bare minimum. Everything is done on the computer and there are no hands on teachers. A student can easily get lost and loose hope with this kind of environment. Most of the kids don't care and are just as disconnected as the teachers. If your child needs attention and hands on instruction, this is not the school for you. My son attended one semester and I suffered due to the severe change in his personality. He gave up because he felt ignored and did not receive good hands on teaching. The school does have good school spirit and I find that odd in this kind of environment, but it is a 5A school.

Macarthur High School 1

Posted January 09, 2012
- a parent
Lousy teachers with no teaching experience and sometimes no certification, definitely a warehouse school, runs like a cattle drive, lousy counseling, cafeteria food very unhealthy, campus too large, teachers aren't preparing students for state tests, and after school, no programming or effective tutoring, and very high failure rate. Principal cares only about sports.

Macarthur High School 4

Posted February 26, 2011
- a student
Get the most out of MacArthur. I am a junior at Mac taking many AP classes and involved in many activities. If you are a student, get in to as many extracurricular activities as you can. Not only will it enrich your high school experience, you will feel like you are actually part of the school. Personally, I am a leader in Band, an improviser in Jazz Band, a healer in Sports Medicine, a tutor in UIL Science, and a team captain in UIL Literary Criticism. Regarding the school's AP program, Calculus is strongest due to Mr. Tillerson's skill and experience at being both an AP teacher and grader, but Physics and Chemistry could be considered substandard AP classes; yes, the subjects themselves are difficult, but the teachers simply are not cut out to teach AP which reflects in students' AP exam scores. Other AP classes are slightly above average mainly due to some well qualified AP teachers. All in all, MacArthur is a school best for those who wish to be a part of its legacy and motto, Fide et Opera.


Macarthur High School 4

Posted June 06, 2009
- a student
I graduated from MacArthur, and I thought it was great school. School spirit is high, and for those students who want to excel academically, every opportunity is there. There was a remark earlier about MacArthur warehousing kids and it bothered me. It is the parent's responsibility to make sure their child succeeds. I loved my years there and it was always safe, clean, and fun. Go Mac!

Macarthur High School 5

Posted April 18, 2008
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

Macarthur High School 0
no rating

Posted March 26, 2008
- a student
Mac Arthur is all about the money. Unless your parents make more that 100K a year you are nobody. The halls are overly crowded and people all try to be something they're not. I hated MHS because they are all stuck up even the staff.


Macarthur High School 2

Posted December 01, 2006
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Macarthur High School 5

Posted August 17, 2006
- a parent
This is truly an exceptional school. It has a diverse student body with programs and oefferings for every kind of student. It has a true family atmosphere. My daughter has been very successful here. I cannot imagine her going anywhere else. It is no wonder the school has been a Blue Ribbon School and a 21st Century School of Distinction!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Macarthur High School
3700 North MacArthur Boulevard, Irving, TX  75062
(972) 600-7200
Last modified Macarthur High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Macarthur High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 29 reviews. Top