Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
30 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 43 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Macarthur High School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted May 03, 2016
- a parent
They two ladies up at the front desk / door are very respectful From the entire school they both show compassion and friendliness to respect The ladies from attendance desk are also rude they don't even say hello , good morning or how can I help you they just ignore you until you say hello can you help me

Macarthur High School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted May 03, 2016
- a parent
From teachers to principal to Vice Principal entire staff needs re training We need new staff from front to back


Macarthur High School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted May 03, 2016
- a parent
Most work is on the computer Yes I do think they give too much work My child was reading a poem given by a teacher The poem is very sexual and excessive content for a minor even if it's a poem from English Class

Macarthur High School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted May 03, 2016
- a parent
Students do the best they can the adults show no compassion towards the students no understanding If they don't do it to parents they surely do not do this to the students

Macarthur High School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted May 03, 2016
- a parent
I don't believe they do care or show any compassion. They enforce without seeing the reality of these young adults and their needs. The emotional stress or emotional conflicts are not taken seriously The bulling the students receive and disrespect from teachers and officer ,VP and principal are not taken into account


Macarthur High School 1

Posted May 03, 2016
- a parent
I have had the worst experience at Mac this week. My child was harassed, scared , intimidated , questioned , bullied by the truancy officer when I reported the incident the VP had no time to see me the Principal offered to move my child to another school he was rude and disrespectful the degree he holds is worthless he accused me of harassing him and his staff when I asked for answers the officer took my daughter into his office alone which caused her to be scared the principal and VP are very unprofessional when in meeting to discuss the situation we were interrupted and had to remind him of what we were discussing I wrote a letter to both P and VP that my daughter was not to be questioned without her parents present the ignored the request and allowed it once again the response from Principal was that he has no control of everything that happens at the campus which is very concerning This may be due to being preoccupied with other non Mac Arthur's HS issues or him not being able to handle this position he allows bulling from his staff our children are learning from these people parents concerns are ignored the example set from these 3 adults give much concern the Irving ISD needs to reevaluate the position the truancy officer the principal and the vice principal hold as they are not doing a good job

Macarthur High School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted May 22, 2015
- a parent
At least half of the teachers should not be teaching kids EVER. They are either way past their prime for teaching or are right out of college and have no idea what they are doing.

Macarthur High School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted May 22, 2015
- a parent
Too much for AP. Not enough homework in other classes. Because of AP, they wouldn't have time anyway.


Macarthur High School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted May 22, 2015
- a parent
Only by threatening to have them arrested. Kids are afraid to take AP classes because they aren't learning anything. They are only reading and taking notes. No instruction at all.

Macarthur High School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted May 22, 2015
- a parent
A year ago, yes. Now, absolutely not. My kids hate this school now and would much rather move if we were able.

Nearby schools

Macarthur High School
3700 North MacArthur Boulevard, Irving, TX  75062
(972) 600-7200
Last modified Macarthur High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top