Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public district
Irving, TX
Students enrolled: 2,718
 

3 stars
Based on 29 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Macarthur High School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted May 22, 2015
- a parent
At least half of the teachers should not be teaching kids EVER. They are either way past their prime for teaching or are right out of college and have no idea what they are doing.

Macarthur High School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted May 22, 2015
- a parent
Too much for AP. Not enough homework in other classes. Because of AP, they wouldn't have time anyway.


Macarthur High School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted May 22, 2015
- a parent
Only by threatening to have them arrested. Kids are afraid to take AP classes because they aren't learning anything. They are only reading and taking notes. No instruction at all.

Macarthur High School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted May 22, 2015
- a parent
A year ago, yes. Now, absolutely not. My kids hate this school now and would much rather move if we were able.

Macarthur High School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted May 22, 2015
- a parent
No it's a breeding ground for bullying, fighting and rudeness. The teachers stoop to a child's level to treat them with absolute disrespect.


Macarthur High School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted May 22, 2015
- a parent
They used to, but they don't care anything about your kids now. If they are honest, they are punished. And no it's not fair when it comes to the teachers. They pick their favorites and they treat the other students like dirt.

Macarthur High School 1

Posted May 22, 2015
- a parent
This school has gone from a 10 to a 1 in a matter of 9 months. I blame this 100% on the new Principal. This school is run like a military camp, with horrible food, unrealistic rules, and all 'fun' activities taken away. They are threatened with court and jail if they are tardy. Theft is so rampant at this school that it is unbelievable. AP History teachers give several hours of notes each night, instead of actually TEACHING while they are in class, which means no time for their core class homework or sports. They refuse, and I mean refuse to let your child out of AP, even when you have signed several slips for this to happen. Teachers obviously set you up to fail. They just don't care. This is true for 50% of the teachers at this school. And don't report bullying. Your child will be blamed instead of the child who is actually doing the bullying. And the parent is put down as well. We just don't report theft or bullying anymore. Not worth the humiliation and disrespect that the 'fine' staff at Mac makes sure you endure.

Macarthur High School 5

Posted November 28, 2013
- a parent
My daughters absolutely LOVE MacArthur high school! MacArthur has the most school spirit in the district as well as the highest AP scores. The AVID program (college prep) is new but very helpful, both of my daughters are in it and I see a lot of improvement. There's really something for everybody from FCA or Student Council to Skate Club and a Rock band called M5. There's AT LEAST 35 extracurriculars at Mac that I can name to you. This is what sets Mac apart from other schools. There are tutoring opportunities before and after school and there is even a late bus that will take the students that stayed for a club or tutoring. The teacher's at Mac genuinely care for their student's and it shows. The principal and VP's are very involved with the school, I see them at every school event! Everyone who gave Mac low rankings didn't take the initiative to actually get involved with the school or had students that didn't. Taking those higher AP courses and getting involved in a group is what makes the experience at Mac unforgettable.


Macarthur High School 5

Posted November 24, 2013
- a student
I am a sophomore at MacArthur and I absolutely love it here! The teachers try to help as much as they can. The students at the school are the most sweetest people. I love this school! I recommend this school for any high school student or parent that wants their child to have fun in school while they are learning.

Macarthur High School 1

Posted July 31, 2012
- a parent
This school is the bare minimum. Everything is done on the computer and there are no hands on teachers. A student can easily get lost and loose hope with this kind of environment. Most of the kids don't care and are just as disconnected as the teachers. If your child needs attention and hands on instruction, this is not the school for you. My son attended one semester and I suffered due to the severe change in his personality. He gave up because he felt ignored and did not receive good hands on teaching. The school does have good school spirit and I find that odd in this kind of environment, but it is a 5A school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Macarthur High School
3700 North MacArthur Boulevard, Irving, TX  75062
(972) 600-7200
Last modified Macarthur High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Macarthur High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 36 reviews. Top