Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 30 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


33 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Nimitz High School 1

Posted March 23, 2014
- a student
HMMMM what can is say about this school? -Racist fights -BAD ROACH PROBLEMS -Rude kids(seriously) - Teachers don't care about you ( my teacher told us at the end of the day he doesn't care if we learn because he still gets paid) If you plan on coming here RUN FAST! 40%OF STUDENTS ARE LEAVING THIS SCHOOL, and I am one of them.

Nimitz High School 1

Posted November 28, 2013
- a parent
My son attended Nimitz his freshman year. Nimitz is an okay school. Not as good as Irving and DEFINITELY up to par with MacArthur. The school has a lot of school spirit to be on of the weaker schools in the area. The school needs to hire more janitors. It's roach infested!


Nimitz High School 5

Posted August 06, 2011
- a student
The teachers at Nimitz ARE the best in Irving. With the best AP scores, Academic Decathlon team, Band, Football team, and Principal in Irving, Nimitz has more to offer than any of the other schools in Irving. Nimitz was the FIRST SCHOOL IN TEXAS with a planetarium, and the student laptop program at Nimitz ensures that all students know how to operate a computer. Unlike reviews that state that the laptops are a bad thing, teachers use the laptops instructively, and with the new grading policy so-called "busy work" is eliminated as a grade. Nimitz is the best school in Irving for advanced students (AP, Gifted and Talented, and Pre-AP) or for students looking to participate in successful extra curricular activities!

Nimitz High School 3

Posted July 08, 2011
- a community member
It is a great school; however the teacher are not what I have expected them to be. My niece had alot of problems with certain teachers that she could not get help with. It was very disappointing.
1 person found this helpful

Nimitz High School 2

Posted November 24, 2009
- a student
This school is to worried about getting students ready for tests rather than teaching them what they need to know. They also give alot of busy work rather than work which tests your intelligence. There are also to many students to one class. Nimitz does have a good extra activities. The football team went to the playoffs, we have a great tennis team, and a great decathlon team. I do believe they need to focus on all students more and the ap students less. They devote all their attention to them while the regular students are failing. One last thing, get rid of the laptops. They make the teachers lazy and they decide not to teach but to just give assignments through the laptops, to make it simple for them. The teachers are failing us.
1 person found this helpful


Nimitz High School 5

Posted October 03, 2009
- a student
Passionate teachers and students in my time there.

Nimitz High School 0
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
My son graduated from Nimitz in 2006 and he enjoyed his time there. They offer an excellent college prep ciriculum

Nimitz High School 4

Posted May 01, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Nimitz High School 5

Posted January 23, 2008
- a student
It has excelent teachers and the feeling you get there is like when your at home!

Nimitz High School 5

Posted August 04, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Nimitz High School
100 West Oakdale Road, Irving, TX  75060
(972) 600-5700
Last modified Nimitz High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Nimitz High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 33 reviews. Top