Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


12 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Houston Middle School 2

Posted June 28, 2014
- a parent
Sam Houston is a great school but, it could be better.Some of the teachers are rude and complain on a daily basis. I think Sam needs more money because, they're very cheap.Also they never call or inform parents, and kids have to find information on there own.A little work here and there it could better.
1 person found this helpful

Houston Middle School 4

Posted June 24, 2014
- a teacher
I've taught at Sam Houston for 7 years. Even though I'm no longer faculty there, I am still a great advocate of what these educators are doing there. Irving ISD teachers are dedicated to their students, work long hours, and provide learning opportunities for all the kids. There are staff members who have devoted 10, 15, and 20 years of service to the students of this campus alone! Send your kids to Irving and we'll help grow them into something amazing!


Houston Middle School 5

Posted October 10, 2009
- a parent
As with any school, SHMS has it's minor aggravations, but overall it is a great school. There are teachers who have been there from the day the school opened working alongside new teachers to provide continuity and creativity to the education process. I transferred my child to attend SHMS and have been pleased with the education received. My complaints include the fact that there is not a lot of parent involvement in the school even though there is a PTA and opportunities are available and the lack of professional dress among some staff. Both things are correctable and I am sure that in time, they will be.

Houston Middle School 5

Posted May 04, 2009
- a parent
I think Sam Houston is a great school because the students are encouraged to make good grades and try to keep the parents envolved.

Houston Middle School 5

Posted April 10, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Houston Middle School 0
no rating

Posted February 14, 2009
- a student
Some people say Sam Houston Middle School is not that good when it comes to grades, but their wrong. I am a student at Sam Houston and I do very good, i am and honor student and the teachers always help you if you need it. On some sights it says that the students don't get high test scores, but thats their decision to pass of fail. So they might not say its a good school, and i was unsure at first, but when i'd been there for a year I knew i loved that school. Now i dont want to leave!

Houston Middle School 4

Posted May 08, 2006
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Houston Middle School 0
no rating

Posted August 03, 2005
- a parent
I have heard from a couple of students that they enjoy Houston Middle School.


Houston Middle School 4

Posted April 25, 2005
- a parent
Academic programs are great, I like how the students are encouraged to make good grades with teacher and parent support in the school.They offer morning and afternoon tutoring to help the kids out. They have fun activities such as dances and pep rallies. Overall a great school.

Houston Middle School 3

Posted April 21, 2005
- a student
Sam Houston can be a great school with the right people and administaters that have those kids in line. The only thing Sam Houston needs is more money. Sam needs more technology!
1 person found this helpful

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Houston Middle School
3033 Country Club Drive West, Irving, TX  75038
(972) 600-7500
Last modified Houston Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Houston Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top