Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
13 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 27 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Travis Middle School 5

Posted May 26, 2016
- a parent
The staff, across the board, is very responsive and attentive. Teachers and staff go the extra mile. My child is very happy and has excelled in all areas at Travis. The student body is very diverse. I'm very happy our experience.

Travis Middle School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 26, 2016
- a parent
I want to thank math teacher, Ms. Maue, and science teacher, Ms. Glowacki. Band Teacher Ms. Shine is also outstanding. I also want to thank Principal Gilcrease and all the staff who go out of their way to help things run smoothly for students.


Travis Middle School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted May 26, 2016
- a parent
My child has excelled in different subjects because of the strength of her teachers. She had proactively told me about how good some of her teachers are.

Travis Middle School
Amount of homework: Don't know

Posted May 26, 2016
- a parent
On the topic of homework, I can't say much. I don't have a strong opinion on how much is enough. What I can say is that my child has learned a lot either way.

Travis Middle School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted May 26, 2016
- a parent
The athletics program in particular stands out. They do instill a sense of grit in the students. Band is also led by very passionate teachers.


Travis Middle School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted May 26, 2016
- a parent
I have seen the school and it's staff appreciate their students. They speak very positively, and the overall behavior of kids' here is about as good as you can expect from a middle school. Yes, I have observed shenanigans and tomfoolery, but as much is expected. Overall, the kids are respectful of each other and adults.

Travis Middle School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted May 26, 2016
- a parent
In observing how staff interact with students, I see the compassion. I've never heard staff speak to students in a demeaning way nor has my child complained of such.

Travis Middle School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted May 26, 2016
- a parent
My child has never complained to me about feeling neglected or overlooked by her teachers. Minor things can happen, but she is generally very content by how she is treated by Travis staff.


Travis Middle School 1

Posted January 13, 2016
- a community member
If your child has special needs.. even minor needs.. this is not the school for you. While I feel many of the teachers and staff have great intentions.. the environment gets in the way. The majority of the kids are unruly. The staff struggles to maintain safety. There are weekly physical fights. Witness tend to give accounts based on friendship so if you child is not in good with the tough kids... you child will be blamed. The principals are not supportive of finding a solution or separating kids when they are known to have issues with each other. This is keeps the battles going and interferes with learning. They are told to report incidents immediately but are not supported when they do. The staff.. in particular the councilors and principles have a lot of excuses but no resolution or follow through. This has been a very stressful year for my child and we are going to be pulling her out of school to a new school. We are in fact, moving to a different district to protect her safety at school. My stomach is in knots everyday that she has to attend. She has been called names, beat on, antagonized, made fun of, and down right humiliated. She has very few friends and none of whom are willing to stand up to the mean kids. I can't blame them. At this point there is no hope for change unless the administration is changed. The principal is unwilling to engage in productive conversation and makes you feel judged as a parent only trying to get to the bottom of the situation, even if that means your child is in the wrong. As parents we can't fix what is broken and we have been very vocal about wanting to know if our child is behaving poorly. I have had the principal roll her eyes, heavy sighs, sits with arms crossed and if I come back later with questions she is "put-out" that I am still talking about it. I would not recommend sending your child to this school.

Travis Middle School
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted November 02, 2015
- a community member
The toxic environment prevents excellent teachers from doing their jobs effectively. Teachers intimidated by administration for trying to do their jobs.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Travis Middle School
1600 Finley Road, Irving, TX  75062
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 27 reviews. (972) 600-0100
Last modified Travis Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top