Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Holy Family Of Nazareth School

Private | PK-8 | 200 students

We are best known for early childhood and technology.

 
 

Living in Irving

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $109,600. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $820.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

23 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 31, 2014

My parents sent me to HFN because they tried to ensure that I would be receiving the best education possible. I thought the school was fine, until I transferred to a public institution for High School, and discovered that there were so many opportunities for me in terms of advanced classes, interesting people to meet, and sports to play. I know that the school was doing the best they could with what they had, but there didn't seem to be any interest in attempting to start after school programs for sports, academic clubs, or pushing talented students. Instead we had science classes that focused more on art projects and failed actors attempting to teach English. Do your kids a favor and send them someplace else where they can reach their full potential.


Posted August 5, 2013

We love Holy Family! Our children have enjoyed learning in a Catholic Christian environment along with loving and caring teachers. We highly recommend Holy Family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 22, 2012

this school is not that good ive been there and im talking with my expeirience
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2012

Holy Family is a wonderful Catholic School! We have sent our two oldest children through the school, from Kindergarten through 8th grade, and they excelled in this family environment. They did well both academically and socially. They currently attend a local Catholic High School, and they were well prepared, by Holy Family, for the rigors of high school work. Each of them is enrolled in Advanced Placement and Honors classes, and they have done extremely well with this difficult course work. We also have 3 younger children attending Holy Family. Each of them appears to be having a wonderful school experience. They like their teachers. They keep up with their class work. The have fun with their friends, and they are learning about the Catholic Faith. This is what we were looking for in a Catholic Private School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2011

When you look at the student to teacher ratio, you think that your child will be able to get extra assistance if they are not up to standard. Do not let the ratio fool you. I thought that since this was a christian school things would be different but it was worst. I had one child graduate from this school and it was great years ago but now this school has really hit rock bottom. If your child needs help do not look for it there. If a teacher has only 10 students and lets say 2 of them need more assistance to get up to standard with the rest of the class then this is not the school for your child. When you go from 400 students to 160 there is something wrong. My child got more help when I pulled her out and placed my child in public school. The teachers are not very christian. Christian go the extra mile. I rate the school one star for having an after school program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2009

Holy Family provides a christian family environment. The technology and teacher/student ratio makes it the right place for my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2009

Great school! When our son started 1st grade, he could only read with help and had to sound out each alphabet.. Three months later, my husband and I could see so much improvements in his reading skill. Right after New Year, his teacher called us for a conference. She told us that our son became one of the top readers in the class. Now reading become his favorite thing to do...we don't force him to read. He just loves to read everything in front of him - including reading stories to his little brother.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2009

I am a fairly new teacher here at HFN, but I can testify to the unity, faith, and devotion to academic muscle-building that this school embraces and fosters. Both my husband and I work here, and in these past two years we have become part of the 'family' here and can attest to the great heart that is at the center of this school. For a small school, it offers quite a lot.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 30, 2009

HFN School is an excellent Catholic school, and I am grateful that my daughter has the opportunity to attend it. I have had over 20 years experience with Catholic education and can say with certainty that HFN provides my daughter with many opportunities to excel academically, spiritually, physically, and socially. The curriculum is challenging and keeps her wanting to learn more. She is very involved in activities--sometimes wanting to do more than is possible time wise. The principal, teachers, and staff are truly caring people who know who we are and greet us as friends. It is a certainly a school that I would highly recommend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2009

Holy Family of Nazareth has been a blessing for my children. They enjoy going to school each day, love their teachers, and are getting a quality Catholic education. They are gaining all of the tools necessary to excel in anything they want to do with their futures and are deepening their relationship with God along the way. The curriculum is always evolving and the administration continuously strives to bring the most technologically up-to-date advancements to the classroom. I have benefited tremendously from my years of Catholic education and am glad my children have the opportunity to do the same at Holy Family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2008

Unfortunately our son attended HFN and was left there far too long. The academic opportunities were almost non-existent. The teachers are not very enthusiastic and the 'big family' is nothing more than propaganda.Our son is back in the Irving public school system and is excelling. Parents of prospective students do your 'homework' before enrolling your children at HFN.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 2, 2007

I am a former student who attended HFN for almost 7 years. When I first started going to school there, it was an awesome school with over 400 students. However, it started going downhill in academics and discipline. I started feeling isolated and like an outcast, spending my days reading. I fell far behind in my academics. When my parents finally pulled me out and put me in public school, I almost failed the first grading period. Since then I have caught up and am 2 years advanced in most subjects. I credit this to the greater opportunities in public schools. I have also met kids and teachers who are more Christian than a lot of the students and faculty at Holy Family. I am also receiving a greater Catholic education at church and home.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 13, 2007

Our children all went to HFN. We thought they were receiving a 'quality, Catholic education', but,unfortunately, they weren't. The 'big, happy family' statement is not true for everyone. Not everyone has a Catholic or Christian attitude there. After many years, time, money and tears, we made the move. This school is not equipped to handle gifted students or students who need extra attention. Children are labeled often and then are stuck with that label throughout their years there. Several teachers are very negative and set in their ways. The new principal was expected to make lots of changes but things seem to have gotten worse. I'm only sorry we didn't move our children sooner. Those were wasted years. They now have so many opportunities available to them. This school needs major changes soon.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2007

Holy Family is committed to spiritual leadership and boasts of its tight-knit community. The parents, staff members and students have blended together so well into one big family. Many families have become emotionally attached to this wonderful community. There is a particular teacher there who has made a difference in our lives - she has inspired a lot of students and we are blessed to have her in our school.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 25, 2007

I had previously attended this school and I now have noticed how bad it really was. The teachers help was very minimal, students safety and well being, low! Too many staff didnt seem to care much for bullies and what they did to other children. Overall score: 1
—Submitted by a former student


Posted October 6, 2006

I thought my child was getting a good education while at HFN but have found out other wise. Sorry we stayed at the school for so long. We have since moved on and struggled at first to keep up with the quality of education at our current school. I can also say that the teachers there were not the happiest.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2006

This school did not emphasize enough science when I attended. The math program was also sub par; when my little sister attended a public school, she was able to advance to math class three years more advanced than the class I was put into after finishing at HFN. My sister and I are often put into the same classes, so this was purely a result of her being able to take more advanced math, whereas I was limited in my options. The teachers were not involved enough in student life; my class managed to choke out the new students and make them feel incredibly distant and alone. The health of the individual student was not focused on. For a school that is supposed to cherish family unity and togetherness, they fell very short.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 12, 2006

Holy Family truly has a family-like atmosphere. The small class sizes and strong Catholic faith help foster an environment where students are educated in mind, body, and spirit. The school is undergoing a lot of positive change, and has the potential to offer students a high-quality Catholic education.
—Submitted by a staff


Posted July 22, 2005

Great school and fantastic in academics.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2003

I currently have 2 sons at Holy Family and am very pleased with the current direction of the school. The teachers and administration believe in the mission of the school, a strong academic curriculum in a loving, Catholic environment. My sons are receiving a solid education at Holy Family School.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 45% 31%
Hispanic 26% 51%
Asian or Pacific Islander 16% 4%
Black 11% 13%
American Indian/Alaska Native 3% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • PSIA District champions (2011)

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Dennis R. Poyant
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • TCC,NCEA
Fax number
  • (972) 252-0448

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Playground
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Dallas
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2323 Cheyenne Street
Irving, TX 75062
Website: Click here
Phone: (972) 255-0205

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT