Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

The Highlands School

Private | PK-12 | 405 students

We are best known for academics and formation.

 
 

Living in Irving

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $109,600. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $820.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 27 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

74 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 25, 2009

This will be our 4th year at The Highlands School! We couldn't be happier! We have 3 children at the school, one in lower school and 2 in middle school. The mission of the school is lived out by the administration, staff, teachers and parents. This school has strong academics but the real gem is the strong moral character and formation that our children receive that cannot be duplicated anywhere else. Another advantage is the small class-size. If you are looking for an outstanding Catholic education for your children, and a place where your children can be themselves and grow in their moral character, than please checkout The Highlands School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2008

Highlands has reached a new level of excellence in every area of a student's academic or extra-curricular life. New leadership, funding, facilities, faculty, staff, and coaches are all creating an environment that allows fulfillment of the school's mission. There is mot another K- 12 Catholic school in Texas doing a better job than Highlands at the present time.


Posted November 1, 2008

It is a great school my daughter is in 7th grade there and has been there ever since 3rd grade! My son is in 2nd in a public school and I am putting him back in the Highlands because of the love and support I get there I get at The Highlands!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2008

My children have been at THS for 6 years. I have seen alot of growth in leadership and the faculty over the years. We couldn't be happier! The formation my children receive have made them such strong individuals. We have a great family atmosphere at THS, the chilren, teachers, staff and administation all work together to make this the BEST school in the metroplex!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 3, 2008

Our 3 children have been going to THS since they were in PreK which has been over 9 years. This school has provided a wonderful educational environment with a low student/teacher ratio and emphasis on critical thinking, self-reliance, spirituality/formation and self-confidence. Not to mention that almost every family we have had the pleasure to get to know, has had the same goals for their children as we have. Because of this, it's comforting to know that our children are receiving consistant messages in our home, at the school and from the parents of their friends which, as we all know, is a rare thing in today's world. The Administration, staff and teachers are wonderful especially the dynamic Fr. Alfonse who has BIG plans for the future of the school! We hope you will consider sending your children to THS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2008

Aside from the strong academics and formation the Highlands offers a sense of community and more importantly a devotion demonstrated by the faculty to both the students and their families. One doesn't realize the tranquil and respectful atmosphere the campus maintains until you are somewhere else and experience what the majority of students in this country's schools are like. That is an unfortunate fact and it is not lost on me that my family is extremly lucky to be able to send our child to a private school; however my husband never attended a private school and after the Highlands he will never send any of our children to the public schools no matter what it takes to pay the tuition. I am pleased with the changes the school has undergone and I look forward to the future. Thank you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2008

I have been at the Highlands for several years now and have enjoyed every minute of it. We have beautiful families and students as well as dedicated and qualified faculty and staff members. As a student very aptly put it, 'the Highlands isn't just a school - it is a lifestyle.'
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 3, 2008

I have 2 children at The Highlands School. We could not be happier with the academic, social, and formation aspects of the school. After reading many of the reviews, it is true that there have been many changes in recent years....ALL for the BETTER. The tuition is reasonable, comparing costs to other private schools....I am looking forward to my 2 children progressing thu the lower school, and eventually, graduating from the Highlands School....HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2008

excellent place for children to be educated as well as learn moral values and the Catholic faith
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2007

Parents beware! this school is horrible. They treated by child horribly. They have a very high turnover of students, as well as, faculty. The after school program is a joke. They have no knowledge of appropriate child behavior. Everything a child does and says is always miscontrued as evil and dirty. The best thing I ever did was to remove my children from this potentially harmful environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2007

I would strongly not recommend this school. Some teachers do not care for their students education and/or safety. Administration does not listen to parent concerns/complaints. I will not be sending my children back to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2007

If you want your child to be well rounded in academic, character, and spiritual, The Highlands School is where you want your child to be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2006

The education given at this school is just amazing. My children are all young, from pre-k to grade 5 and each year here at The Highland School only gets better. Outstanding teachers and academics. Thats why I pay from them to go to private school!
—Submitted by a staff


Posted June 4, 2006

I recieved an excellent education when I atteded the highlands school. The teacher really care about the students and the other staff members are highly involed with every thing at the school. The sports program is always growing and getting better every year. I will send my future children there.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 10, 2006

My kids loved it on the other hand I must also admit administration is poor and teacher morale is low.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2006

After 5 yrs we have been very pleased with the school, especially the formation, academics, parent involvement, and overall feel of the school. There has quite a bit of change in leadership, but all for the good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2005

Good academic programs. Disappointing athletics.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2005

Wouldn't recommend for the larger family with children of differing abilities as the school's acceptance of some of their children but not the others can create a division as well as extreme inconvenience on the family as a whole. A good choice for the student who excels academically and desires a small school environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2005

Good school, Great catholic education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2005

Great formation program. Good academics. Orthodox catholic. Programs growing.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 48% 31%
Hispanic 35% 51%
Asian or Pacific Islander 14% 4%
Black 2% 13%
Two or more races 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Honors track
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:05 am
School end time
  • 3:40 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Fr. Daniel Ray
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Fax number
  • (972) 721-1691

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Classical (e.g., focuses on the "classics")
  • Honors track
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • None

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Playground
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Dallas
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2011-2012 school year
$8000 - $11000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
No.

Planning ahead

College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1451 E Northgate Dr
Irving, TX 75062
Website: Click here
Phone: (972) 554-1980

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





The Sloan School
Irving, TX



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT