Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 82 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


82 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


The Highlands School 5

Posted November 28, 2014
- a parent
Our family came to the Highlands almost 9 years ago and our hearts have been engaged ever since. First and foremost is the formation that our whole family has received by being a part of the community not only from the on staff priests and consecrated women but via each staff person to family to individual. We have seen the school maintain a steady overall underlying virtue of charity and truth while offering formation not only for the students but for the whole entire family.

The Highlands School 5

Posted July 25, 2014
- a parent
PreK3 last year, starting education with the right foot, the best decision as parents we could had made, our daughther is growing in both areas, academicaly and growing in the love of God. The THS is like a big family and we are happy to be part of it.


The Highlands School 5

Posted July 24, 2014
- a parent
My daughter has been attending the school for past 5 years now, and we have had an excellent experience with the school. Not only are they imparting a leading edge education to our daughter, but are also instilling the life values in her to make her an excellent human being. They have high quality educators at every level to guide and mould the young minds into independent thinkers and high achievers.

The Highlands School 5

Posted February 21, 2014
- a parent
We are parents of a 4th grade boy and a 2nd grade girl. We love everything about the school. Fee quite low compared to some of the highly reputed schools in Dallas area resulting in high student to teacher ratio. However, the school still manages to train children with good values and education, thanks to the wonderful community spirit amongst parents and teachers.

The Highlands School 5

Posted November 16, 2013
- a parent
We have been at The Highlands School for the past 7 years. I am continually impressed with the academics of the school and the compassion and knowledge of their Religious support staff. The principal is passionate about education and the team at THS carries the schools mission of 'always higher'. I could not of found a better school for my children and my family.


The Highlands School 5

Posted September 19, 2013
- a parent
This is our second year at THS. I am very impressed with the rigorous academics and commitment to Catholic values. The average class size is 16 to 18 but our son has 12 in his class this year. The individual attention given by his teacher is amazing. She knows each child's learning preference and works hard to help each child succeed. Our first grader is reading at a third grade level thanks to the excellent foundation in phonics provided by his Kindergarten teacher. They read in small groups of 4 to 5 with a teacher. The top readers can practice material above grade level while other students get on grade level reading every day. Math in the lower school is by the Saxon method. In addition to nightly fact sheets, there is a worksheet covering math theory and concepts. Handwriting is taught in the younger grades and helps provide a good foundation for life. I am so impressed by the school's commitment to the building blocks of education. Phonics, math facts and handwriting are mastered by first grade so each year builds so such a wonderful foundation. My son is also taught compassion, respect and love for others. THS is a blessing for my son!

The Highlands School 4

Posted September 11, 2013
- a parent
We have been at THS for 6 years. My son's Moral, Academically and Spiritual Formation are the best; As a Catholic School is one of the best in Texas. Thank you to all the Teachers, Priest, Consecrated, Staff and Employees for your dedication, time, effort you give to the school and the Families. God Bless you all.

The Highlands School 5

Posted September 06, 2013
- a parent
The Highlands is a near perfect fit for my two high school students. They have undergone a huge transformation in the last few years. Academics are strong and the students are more than ready for college. The formation is incredible and the teachers spend an immense amount of time with students who need help as well as students who are working through AP classes. The Highlands is different, special and worth a look.


The Highlands School 5

Posted September 04, 2013
- a parent
We have 3 children at The Highlands School. What is important to us and what we have found in The Highlands is the strong character formation, morals, values and academics. It is a true Catholic school in every sense of the word. The teachers are excellent, the class sizes are small and the academics are rigorous. The Priests and Consecrateds are a constant presence in the hallways. As our senior prepares to graduate and enter this crazy world, we feel confident in her abilities and the strong, God-filled young woman she has become, in large part, due to her formation at The Highlands.

The Highlands School 1

Posted August 03, 2013
- a community member
This is a dirty school in disrepair and though the tuition is outrageous, it is obvious most of the families pay little or no tuition. It's a no don't go to families of means.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

The Highlands School
1451 E Northgate Dr, Irving, TX  75062
(972) 554-1980
Last modified The Highlands School is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
The Highlands School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 82 reviews. Top