Advertisement
Advertisement

Wesleyan Academe

Private | PK-1 | 110 students

We are known for our small class size, christian base, and advanced curriculum!

 

Living in Irving

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $109,600. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $820.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 8, 2014

This school is amazing! As a professional educator I wanted the best for my son that I adopted from Russia. I found the best at Wesleyan Academe! Everyone who works at Wesleyan is loving and strives for excellence. The kindergarten teacher is amazing. My son comes home everyday ready to go back to school. His teacher has taught him about the world and how to read and write. He loves chapel, music and Spanish. He quotes his teacher all the time telling about what he has learned. It is exciting to see him so excited about learning. I am so thankful for Wesleyan Academe and everyone who works to make it the best school. I wish I could give this school a million stars!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2011

This school is wonderful. I have 3 children enrolled there, which is certainly not cheap, but well worth it. The staff is truly caring and interested in each and every one of the children as well as their families. I feel like I have mothering eyes watching over my kids when I am not, which is very comforting to a parent. There is a strong parental presence as well. GREAT parents! My only suggestion would be to integrate Christian values into the curriculum. The school is multi-cultural but it IS a Christian school and I do believe they could integrate Christianity even more.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2010

Awesome school! I am the parent of a current Pre-K student. We picked Wesleyan Academe for the reason that they have very caring teachers and administrators who are tuned in to the needs of the children and parents on a individual basis. The curriculum, the school set up, and the teacher's attitude gives me as a parent the confidence that my child is in great hands. My child is not only acquiring great learning skills, but social skills in a structured yet fluid environment. If you want your child to flourish as a confident individual who learns to make wise and responsible choices early on than this is the school for you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2010

I am a parent of 2 year old student and absolutely love this school. Even in the younger class rooms they are very christian based and have a structured, yet fun, environment for the children to learn, play, and make friends. My son has made some great friends here! The student-teacher ratio is excellent for all grades and the teachers make it easy for the students to enjoy learning! Excellent school! I've never had any problems or complaints :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2010

If you want a Christian school with core values, this is not the school for you. If your child does not get along with the teacher, they will kick him out with no recourse, yet allow family students to stay no matter how bad they are. They do not teach any Christian values in the classroom, only so called chapel which is well above any child's level. They have pagan holiday celebrations and rituals as well. This was just a few of the reasons my child found a better school with more Christian-based teachings. There were many more, but not for this forum.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2008

It is a great Christian School. Children are allowed to pray and have devotions. Its teacher-student ratio is excellent and it offers excellent Pre and After-School Care. It offers bi-lingual education from pre-school to fifth grade. Students are introduced to computers from pre-school and throughout. Caring staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2008

This school is wonderful. Great early and after care program. The teachers are wonderful and the children have a lot of character. My children love it and the youngest, the introvert, became outgoing and fun. This school is awesome. Small size offering large amounts of opportunity to grow and learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2008

My daughter was 21/2 when she went to this school.I really like Miss Belinda,she is very loving and caring for every child.My daughter never cried to go school as she had good time thethth
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2007

This is my sons second year here and I am very pleased. He is progressing at a nice pace and loves it. The teachers are wonderful and there is a very close knit family feel to the school. I will say this, if you are looking for a very strict school with super high academics for K-2 this is not the school for you. They let every child develop at his or her own pace for K-2 and then it really picks up academically and in structure for 3rd grade. My son went on at least 10 or more field trips and had other special events. The price is very reasonable and what you get is priceless.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2005

I really like this school. The class sizes are relatively small (though the kindergarten class has 17 students this year) and the teachers are great. They have separate classes for music, art, Spanish and physical education. My only disappointment is that it only goes through 5th grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 64% 37%
Two or more races 15% N/A
Black 13% 14%
Asian 5% N/A
Hispanic 4% 47%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Music teacher(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Music
Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Music room
Music
  • Choir / Chorus

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
School facilities
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 3:15 am
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 a.m.
School Leader's name
  • Janet Manfull
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 2 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Extended/longer school day
  • Part-time study
  • Year-round
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Methodist
Fax number
  • (972) 594-8693

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Teacher-run
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Foreign languages
  • Music
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • Accessible via public transportation
School facilities
  • Auditorium
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Recess
Girls sports
  • Recess

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Boy scouts
  • Community service
  • Girl scouts
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer in the classroom
More from this school
  • We have an amazing staff of professional teachers! We engage with our parents on a daily basis! Our children are each given individual attention due to our small class sizes!
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


2 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
110
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
500

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$2000 - $7000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
public gifted programs
private
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1615 West Airport Freeway
Irving, TX 75062
Website: Click here
Phone: (972) 252-4733

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Faustina Academy
Irving, TX



All Campuses
Irving, TX


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT