Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

5-12|Private
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
14 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 15 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Cistercian Preparatory School 3

Posted July 29, 2014
- a community member
Thre are reported cases of bullying at Cistercian. Also, in the past some students have been humiliated by their form masters. In their application package you can see that their SAT scores are ok (in the 600s) but they have gradually been declining in the last few years. In their application package they ask what your religion is, church you attend and baptism information. If your child is not a member of a catholic church, baptized, or your child doesn't go to some of the catholic feeder schools in Dallas then it's very difficult for the applicant to get accepted here. On the good side, this school teaches Latin for the full 8 years program which no other school I know offers, and it's particularly strong in religion (subject taught by the monks from the abbey).

Cistercian Preparatory School 5

Posted December 07, 2013
- a parent
We have 2 boys at Cistercian and cannot say enough about the rigorous education and, more importantly, supportive environment. To describe it as outstanding would be an understatement. The school works tirelessly to foster respectful relationships between the students. Many hours are spent on character development. I am always struck by how polite and respectful the boys are. The teachers are also incredible, e.g., the 7th and 8th grade math teachers are accessible, helpful PhDs. Our sons have a lot of interest in their subjects -- primarily because of their teachers' infectious enthusiasm. The families are open, down-to-earth, and family focused. The boys enjoy school, feel like they have many new "brothers" as classmates, and have incredible, honorable mentors as teachers and Form Masters. Cistercian is an excellent school; we feel so fortunate to be a part of the community.


Cistercian Preparatory School 3

Posted August 29, 2013
- a parent
Incredible formation but like another reader said, the pressure is too much and there is bullying. We were warned by a parent at another all-boy school in Dallas that told us: "if I could go back and do it all again I would never put my son through that kind of pressure again". They left the school as so did we and others. Some classes lose more than others but our son was MISERABLE in 5th and 6th grades. As soon as we left, he loved having a life again. You have to think of your child's passions and talents, not just the "name" of the school or where we want them to graduate from. Amazing parents and community as mentioned in other comments. The bullying here was much higher than other schools we've had all our children in combined. Enough said.

Cistercian Preparatory School 4

Posted December 10, 2010
- a parent
An incredible school with exemplary academics but you have to be lucky to get a Form Master who knows what he's doing. If you get a young priest he may not know how to handle a lot of situations that arise in middle school. Very challenging, must have a self-driven son to handle the excessive work, tests, quizzes and quests almost daily. However, the formation they receive is incredible if your son can handle the pressure.

Cistercian Preparatory School 5

Posted July 20, 2010
- a community member
CPS is the most formative education you can offer your adolescent son. The bedrock of the institution is a focus on character development that you will be hard pressed to find elsewhere. I'm a grad, went to the Air Force Academy, completed my service, and am now at Columbia Business School.


Cistercian Preparatory School 5

Posted September 19, 2008
- a parent
Cistercian Prep is an amazing place...smart young men compete academically and athletically in a focused, morally grounded, Christian environment. Graduates soar at the college level...where ever they decide life takes them. The 8 years under the same Form master creates brotherhood among most of the boys. I have one graduate and 2 still at CPS.

Cistercian Preparatory School 5

Posted March 16, 2006
- a student
I'm an alum, went to Stanford after graduating Cistercian. I really thrived in Cistercian's challenging environment and would recommend it for gifted children.

Cistercian Preparatory School 5

Posted February 07, 2006
- a parent
Top notch academic standards. The boys have a form master (mentor) that stays with them throughout their years at Cistercian.This is a great advantage for the boys. All the teachers have at least a Masters degree in the subject they teach. The extracurricular activities such as sports provides a great bonding experience for the boys. Each form becomes a family, with its unique qualities and features. If you have a son at Cistercian, you and him are blessed! It doesnt get any better than this in Texas!


Cistercian Preparatory School 5

Posted May 15, 2005
- a student
First class academics, greatly improved facilities, and world-class religious instruction in an environment that is designed for exceptionally bright young men. As a monastic order, the Cistercian monks have centuries of experience in the education of boys. Their experience with socialism and communism enables them to stimulate bright young minds with a uniquely pro-american viewpoint.

Cistercian Preparatory School 5

Posted April 10, 2005
- a parent
This is an incredible all boys Catholic school (grades 5-12) which incorporates VERY strong academics along with spiritual growth and a strong sense of community.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Cistercian Preparatory School
3660 Cistercian Rd, Irving, TX  75039
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. (469) 499-5400
Last modified Cistercian Preparatory School is a Private school that serves grades 5-12
Top