Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 111 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


115 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Universal Academy - Flower Mound 5

Posted November 05, 2014
- a parent
My kid love the school.I am so happy with the changes the new principal is making.I am sure the school will reach new heights in near future.The bus service has improved and now there are many new bus routes.With a teacher for a subject the quality of education has improved drastically.The homework has been reduced compared to last year.GT result have been declared and the qualified students have received a letter.The teachers are motivated and Ms Moshier is a true leader.For those who complain,I am pretty sure you will not be happy with any other school if you are not happy with this one.Good job Ms. Moshier.
1 person found this helpful

Universal Academy - Flower Mound 5

Posted November 04, 2014
- a community member
Universal Academy s change in administrative structure is not unlike any other administrative changes that take place in other academic institutions. UA has met six distinction last academic school year: Academic Achievement in Reading/ELA; Academic Achievement in Mathematics; Academic Achievement in Science; Academic Achievement in Social Studies; Top 25 Percent Closing Performance Gaps; and Postsecondary Readiness. I applaud the new principal in her efforts in achieving this level of excellence.
2 people found this helpful


Universal Academy - Flower Mound 5

Posted November 03, 2014
- a teacher
The ACE s program requires a $25 flat fee regardless of the students course selection. The fee is used to purchase supplies and materials for the program. This way teachers do not have to utilize supplies from their class rooms, in order to support the program. If students were asked to switch classes, it s only because we ran into an overflow situation and in order to keep classes manageable, students were asked to select an alternative, before any new placements were assigned. As a parent, if you have any questions or concerns regarding the ACE s program, please speak to any UA administrative staff member and we are more then happy to explain the program parameters to you in detail.
2 people found this helpful

Universal Academy - Flower Mound 1

Posted October 26, 2014
- a parent
I agree it sounds good ACES for UA students But imagine this your pay 25$ per semister and sign your kids as per the class they want and then the school switches them around on a weekly rotation . In short u pay for per month and then do not get what you sign up for ! That's the irony. Not to be disrespectful to anyone but it's a shame and a farce .
1 person found this helpful

Universal Academy - Flower Mound 1

Posted October 17, 2014
- a parent
My child gave the G/T test in June and we are still waiting for the results.Now they have different teachers to teach a subject and a group of 4 classes follow the same pattern.School says that the students of all these 4 classes are at same level.I am shocked since my child is much advanced than the kids in other 3 classes.I am not under estimating any kid and I do believe each kid has his own pace to learn but then why do they claim they have advanced classes for bright kids.My child was in a advance class last year too.If they do not depend on the test results for grouping kids why do they take test at the first place?I loved the school last year but cannot say the same this year.If the same continues I might pull my kid out before the end of the year.
3 people found this helpful


Universal Academy - Flower Mound 1

Posted October 17, 2014
- a parent
Teachers and students move from one class to another.No organized pattern for the students in the class.It's a mess particularly with the change in school's principal.The school lacks proper communication with parents.School is downgrading for sure.
1 person found this helpful

Universal Academy - Flower Mound 1

Posted October 16, 2014
- a teacher
COMING FROM A TEACHER: I would NEVER send my child here. Unsatisfactory "gym" and "cafeteria," there is no kitchen you must send your child with lunch or have it delivered. Staff members loose children or put them on the wrong bus, and switch the teachers and students around regularly, one day they may have this teacher and take this class and the next day is totally different. Your first grader could end up in a class with fifth graders. Emotionally challenging for the students. School is always is a state of disarray and confusion.

Universal Academy - Flower Mound 1

Posted October 03, 2014
- a teacher
The administration hires the majority of its teachers from alternative teaching certification programs, so most of the teachers at UA Coppell have absolutely no classroom experience; and the administration places many expectations upon teachers that cannot realistically be met with the poor training that new teachers receive (teacher turnover rate over the past several years has been about 50%). At teacher training, the teachers were instructed to lie to parents about this being their first year teaching. The school offers a "Gifted and Talented" program called ACES in which P.E. teachers, fine arts teachers are required to teach subjects to children in which they have no certified expertise. Last year, the administration had teaching aides (who are not certified teachers) teaching kindergarteners for as long as four months. Today, the school moved several Coppell teachers to UA Irving (and for elementary children, it is traumatic to suddenly lose a teacher). Teachers were not supposed to tell their students that they are leaving. Also, I see that the "parents" who are posting glowing reviews of UA use a lot of terms that the administrators have used to market the school.


Universal Academy - Flower Mound 5

Posted September 05, 2014
- a parent
Universal is unlike any other school in the area!!! Accelerated learning, Gifted and Talented program, Golf, Young Inventors programs and much more. This school received the States highest academic award in both 2012-2013 and 2013-2014. The school has expanded it's facility and it's student base. Universal Academy has a proven record of academic success and truly focuses on the belief that "All Children are Gifted and Talented". As a parent I know my child is being prepared to achieve Global educational success.
1 person found this helpful

Universal Academy - Flower Mound 1

Posted May 01, 2014
- a parent
MY son will be in 5th grade fall 2014 and wanted to be on the swim team which is sad because I had to tell him he can not be a part of it since there is no swimming pool at this campus so the pack kids on a bus everyday for swim practice with no assigned seats so my 10 yr soon could be sitting next to a 15 or 16 yr old 9th grader. There is a huge difference between a 10 yr old boy and a 16 yr old boy or girl for that matter. This is not set up age appropriate and these facts were not given to me until I asked. Patents ask the questions because this Academy does not volunteer information.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Universal Academy - Flower Mound
1001 E Sandy Lake Rd, Irving, TX  75062
(972) 393-5834
Last modified Universal Academy - Flower Mound is a Charter school that serves grades PK-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Universal Academy - Flower Mound Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 115 reviews. Top