Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
44 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 54 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Ranchview High School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted April 29, 2016
- a parent
Ms. Martinez she is an English teacher at the school. She is the perfect example of a "TEACHER". She truly cares about her students. Even when a student has given up on themselves, she will push them for better. She will not hesitate to contact a parent and find a plan to work together to help the children! Each one of my family members have been lucky to have her at some point and she is absolutely awesome!! We need more teachers like her that still care about the success of the children and realize they are kids and have a chance.

Ranchview High School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted April 29, 2016
- a parent
In the 3 years my child has went, the 3 my niece and the 4 a extended family member has went. There have been 3 teachers that showed any kind of actual concern for any of the kids or the struggles they had in class. Most seem to be there for a check or to win a game.


Ranchview High School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted April 29, 2016
- a parent
My child comes home 4 out of 5 days with no homework! When speaking with the teachers to verify if that was correct. Almost every teacher confirmed with me they do not assign after school work.

Ranchview High School
Develops grit: Disagree

Posted April 29, 2016
- a parent
No, children are not taught how to push forward or how to try harder or in different ways to succeed! If there is an issues the child is ignored. There are few teachers that care enough to ouch the children in this manner.

Ranchview High School
Develops respect: Disagree

Posted April 29, 2016
- a parent
There is not enough focus on the children in the school or how to better them as growing youth.


Ranchview High School
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted April 29, 2016
- a parent
Definitely not!! They have major issues with bullying in the school. I have yet to hear of anything being done to help the issues. Depending on who the bullying is coming from, I have seen it brushed under the rug as if it never happened. Leaving the bullied child to feel unsafe in school.

Ranchview High School 3

Posted April 29, 2016
- a parent
The school is good however the coaches that teach classes do not care about the children and the grades made in their classes. Even as a parent trying to speak with them you get this I'm to busy for this attitude. Which lets me know if you treat a parent as if they are a hassle! Then you most definitely treat the kids that way and no wonder the kids struggle in the class. If sports are the only thing that a coach is concerned with. Then they don't need to teach a regular class. My child has been in this school 3 years and EVERY class taught by a coach has been the same issue. A lack of concern for the children and the grades made in the class.

Ranchview High School 1

Posted January 14, 2016
- a community member
Principal, vices, staffs, representatives, and counsel-mans of Ranchview High School: I have walked the halls of this institution and I have seen more than enough to explain to you the gravity this certain topic of concern. Although not the foremost of issues relating to this school, it is of great necessity that I address the actions that have taken place in the counseling office of Ranchview. In the events involving student assistance, confidentially, the response regarding the staff were horrendous. A child of the school faced medical issues, unable to attend his education for numerous time spans, and was ultimately fined due to previous county education laws. An official offer for help or a professional counselling session was never proposed. Almost a year later, when it finally was, but in an informal way, the same counselors and staff were spewing undeserved anger at the student when the child was well enough to return to school. The adults spoke of how the student should just "get over it" and self-constituted themselves to claim the nonattendance were unnecessary, as if the child who yearned for his education chose to be sick. After reprimanding the student for hours and forcing them to miss even more class time, the student was threatened to be expelled, despite the child's numerous attempt to communicate his reasons and doctor's notes with the school. I, as a scholar and an advocate for acquiring the utmost education, for our future lies in the erudite children of today, completely and utterly stress the importance of public education (most of all attendance). I, as one privileged of being highly educated, also believe in basic human empathy. The words, tone, and actions that took place in the offices of the counselors was irrefutably uncalled for. Although signs of truancy reflects badly on the school and the student, the resolution is not to emit fear into a child by rambling on with illegal threats. But lastly, and most importantly, I believe in the great potential of this school. The responses to this issue was understandable, but not excusable. It is not impossible to fix and amend the damage that you have inflicted; and if not for the child you have wronged, then for those of the future who might one day suffer the same experience as this student did. Please attempt to at least reflect, reconsider, and revise your views and actions.


Ranchview High School 5

Posted January 03, 2014
- a parent
My school is Ranchview High School (Irving, TX), part of Carrollton ISD ranked #7 top ISD in Texas!, Ranchview offers so much to develop students looking to go to college or be ready for the next steps.. Great teachers, great kids, caring administration, solid athletic program. At Ranchview, you can either take IB courses to prepare for college or you can get an IB diploma if you want to commit to the whole program after your sophomore year. The Student athlete will love the coaching staff and the opportunity to excel in one of the most competitive athletic districts in the state of Texas. Football, track, basketball, volleyball, tennis, golf. Ranchview has been gaining momentum in all sports at this new school. You compete with Celina, Argyle, Frisco Lone Star and other powers and the coaches are great and care about the kids. The music program is incredible too, award winning orchestra and bands, a few of the excellent extracurricular activities that your kids can get involved in. Looking for a place to develop young leaders and a great high school experience? Drop in to Las Colinas and see what others are finding ....Wolfpack pride in achievement !

Ranchview High School 4

Posted December 29, 2013
- a parent
Both of my teenagers attend this school. I am pleased with the teachers, coaches, and administration. They all exhibit care and concern for the students. My children are doing well thanks to this highly engaged and responsive staff. I am excited about a more positive culture that came with the leadership changes in the school this year. This is a very small high school compared to the average, which has obvious benefits. I can rate the school higher once they figure out how to effectively deal with the behavior issues of a handful of very toxic students.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ranchview High School
8401 Valley Ranch Parkway East, Irving, TX  75063
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 54 reviews. (972) 968-5000
Last modified Ranchview High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top