Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 42 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


46 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Ranchview High School 5

Posted January 03, 2014
- a parent
My school is Ranchview High School (Irving, TX), part of Carrollton ISD ranked #7 top ISD in Texas!, Ranchview offers so much to develop students looking to go to college or be ready for the next steps.. Great teachers, great kids, caring administration, solid athletic program. At Ranchview, you can either take IB courses to prepare for college or you can get an IB diploma if you want to commit to the whole program after your sophomore year. The Student athlete will love the coaching staff and the opportunity to excel in one of the most competitive athletic districts in the state of Texas. Football, track, basketball, volleyball, tennis, golf. Ranchview has been gaining momentum in all sports at this new school. You compete with Celina, Argyle, Frisco Lone Star and other powers and the coaches are great and care about the kids. The music program is incredible too, award winning orchestra and bands, a few of the excellent extracurricular activities that your kids can get involved in. Looking for a place to develop young leaders and a great high school experience? Drop in to Las Colinas and see what others are finding ....Wolfpack pride in achievement !

Ranchview High School 4

Posted December 29, 2013
- a parent
Both of my teenagers attend this school. I am pleased with the teachers, coaches, and administration. They all exhibit care and concern for the students. My children are doing well thanks to this highly engaged and responsive staff. I am excited about a more positive culture that came with the leadership changes in the school this year. This is a very small high school compared to the average, which has obvious benefits. I can rate the school higher once they figure out how to effectively deal with the behavior issues of a handful of very toxic students.


Ranchview High School 5

Posted April 16, 2013
- a student
1. Has very good education 2. Teachers are great 3. Coaches are great leaders and examples 4. Very well organized 5. Awesome athletic program 6. Healthy environment to learn and get help

Ranchview High School 5

Posted March 22, 2013
- a student
I am a student a Ranchview and I really like how the teacher care about the students and try to help get As. The only problem I have is that everyone puts this school down and its really not that bad. The school needs more money and more students so that the school become a better place .

Ranchview High School 2

Posted December 07, 2012
- a student
Im currently a freshman and i hate how they made us check-out textbooks when we don't even use it outside of school. They even make us pay $60 or more if we lose it, which is pretty unfair since we barely or never use them. They also used the money they gained to get the new iMacs, which in my opinion is a waste. They could've gotten better teachers and better food with all they money they spent on those. Some teachers are extremely great teachers, however some aren't so great.


Ranchview High School 1

Posted November 04, 2012
- a student
RHS focuses too much on dress code! There is no need to be constantly hounding students on what their wearing. The focus should be on education! They are too consumed on rules and regulations instead of teaching us students. This school kills any form of self expression and creativity when it shouldn't even be a topic at hand. How do you pride yourself on being academically superior and providing a family environment but treat us like untouchables? Most of the teaches are RUDE! Most of them don't even care about the students. This school needs to step it up, WE'RE ALL READY TO LEAVE!

Ranchview High School 2

Posted January 02, 2012
- a parent
My child attends this school this year as a freshman. The asst principal mcmurray needs to be replaced fast and the teachers lack leadership and direction they are very lazy NOT all but the ones that teach my son. Teachers do not follow up with parents, lose work, give very little instructions and expect the kids to know what to do. The students are somewhat rowdy and on several occasions have had religious conversations. There are muslims there and are very outspoken. This is my childs first year and I'm already thinking of moving him to another school. I gave it 2 stars because of the 2 teachers who are nice and helpful other than that horrible school. Let's not discuss the football team or lack of ugh!

Ranchview High School 5

Posted July 01, 2011
- a community member
This is a great school. The curriculum is awesome. The teachers love the students and the students love the teachers. Great activities, fun field trips for the kids, and a reasonable amount of challenging homework.


Ranchview High School 3

Posted March 23, 2011
- a student
I go to this school, and it isn't anything special by ANY means. The principles are very dedicated as well as the teachers, but there is definitely a quantity over quality issue when it comes to their staff. Their only good sports teams are basketball, and volleyball. Half the teachers at Ranchview make you slam your head on the desk in frustration of poor explanation, and boring BORING assignments.

Ranchview High School 1

Posted February 24, 2011
- a parent
This school is severly lacking in leadership. The saying that "the inmates run the asylum" is very appropriate at this school. The current prinicipal (Hicks) will tell you what he thinks you want to hear but will not follow up on anything discussed. The learning enviroment that is set forth is not conducive for learning and furthermore the leadership does not care.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ranchview High School
8401 Valley Ranch Parkway East, Irving, TX  75063
(972) 968-5020
Last modified Ranchview High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Ranchview High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 46 reviews. Top