Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Winfree Academy Charter School (Le

Charter | 9-12 | 171 students

 
 

Living in Irving

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $320,600. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,050.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 22, 2013

My school is Winfree Academy Charter School. This will be my first year trying it out. From the orientation, I talked to the teachers and they are just willing to move you and get you out of high school with a High School Diploma. One thing I love is that you can graduate ahead of time and with a High School Diploma not a GED.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 30, 2012

Winfree Academy cares for the students that they serve. The students receive one-on-one attention giving them more of an individualized education. Winfree Academy Lewsiville even has teachers who stay after school to offer free math tutoring. These teachers do not get paid to do this! They see a need and work to meet that need. Winfree helps students that need to get caught up on credits that they are behind on or to graduate early. The opportunity is there for anyone who wishes to take advantage of it. If a traditional high school is not meeting your needs, you should check out Winfree Academy!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 30, 2012

I recently graduated from Winfree Academy in Lewisville. I can honestly say that I would not have graduated without the help of the teachers and staff at Winfree. Unlike my previous schools, the teachers at Winfree care about student success and would not give up on me even through times where I had given up on myself. Thank You Winfree!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 15, 2010

Winfree has hel[ed thousands of students graduate. The staff and the atmosphere is truly amazing.


Posted August 8, 2009

My daughter, Colleen started attended Winfree in late spring of 2009. Colleen is Type 1 Diabetic which has caused her to be absent alot, keeping up with her academics, and then dealing with server depression. Winfree was an answer to our prayers! Being able to work on assignments in her time has helped her stress level. Colleen and I were invited to attend the Winfree summer conferance. A big thanks to Winfree's staff for their dedication, knowledge and support. Winfree is equipped to teach each student with different styles of learning which has helped my daughter tremendously. I look forward to meeting other parents while voluntreeing at Winfree!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2009

I love winfree!!! It is the best school I could've ever attended and I love my teachers!!! :):):) I hope to graduate this coming December of 2009
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 20, 2009

Winfree Academy is Helping me out SO MUCH! The hours are great because it Flexes with my Job and the teachers are excelient! If I have any problems with what I'm working on I can ask for assistance and someone will be there to help me step by step! I'm proud of my school I'll be attending there another year in hopes of graduating! Things that I like about winfree are that event though when rules get strict I Can still have fun and know that I'm working at my own pace and I'm Willing to Get out of highschool on my own time!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 15, 2008

I thought this school would be great you know only have to be there for 4 hours a day but i was wrong this school is hard the teachers dont know anymore than i do. How am i supposed to graduate if the teachers dont help me understand what im trying to learn
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 15, 2008

I love winfree it enabled me to graduate a full year early! The teachers are friendly and want you to succeed and do well. The 4 hour school day allowed me to work and save money for college. I now attend UNT on a partial scholorship and couldnt have done it without winfree and my teachers encouragement. :]
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 18, 2007

This is a great small school environment which allows teachers to know each student. Students can learn at their own pace and graduate without the peer pressure that's associated with traditional public schools.The school now has a new Principal but continues to offer the same quality and attention that it has done for years. Winfree really care and it shows.
—Submitted by an administrator


Posted April 19, 2007

Awesome!! They worked with my son who did not fit into the mainstream and would not attend as he was supposed to. It took him longer than he thought, only because he kept stopping and starting. This would not have worked in a public school. They seemed to understand his issues and be willing to work with him as long as he put forth effort. He would not have graduated without Winfree!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2007

My student received individual attention and the teachers care whole-heartedly about their students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2006

academic programs = academic music, art, sport, extracirricular activities = ropes, loud mp3 players, and freestyles in the backs of classrooms. parent involvement = most of the students are parents
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 19, 2005

The school is basically a diploma mill. There is no accountability and very little learning going on. The students who succeed here would succeed anywhere because they work at it. The others get a free ride.
—Submitted by a staff


Posted June 29, 2005

great place for the hard to place child
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 28, 2004

If you child is in danger of not graduating high school or behind academically, then this is the place. It is only for the 'troubled' student, as there are no activities or 'traditional' school activities. There is a drug rehab program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 2, 2004

Excellent opportunity for at risk kids. Focus is on completing high school. The staff are very much on the kid's side, very encouraging. Kids can feel successful more easily without the focus on how they are dressed, etc. I would highly recommend this school for any child at risk of giving up or dropping out of high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 89% in 2011.

38 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
91%
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2011.

40 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
25%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 91% in 2011.

20 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
81%
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2011.

19 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
29%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2011.

19 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
48%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 93% in 2011.

19 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 95% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
70%
Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
64%
Science

The state average for Science was 95% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
76%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 98% in 2013.

42 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students87%
Female96%
Male77%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic93%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Special education64%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a

Math

All Students61%
Female57%
Male67%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic46%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White73%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Special education64%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a

Science

All Students84%
Female96%
Male70%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic83%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Special education75%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a

Social Studies

All Students93%
Female91%
Male95%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic83%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged87%
Special education82%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "AEA: Academically Acceptable".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "AEA: Academically Acceptable".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "AEA: Academically Acceptable".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 78% in 2013.

11 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
n/a
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 97% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 85% in 2013.

5 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
n/a
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 84% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English I Reading

The state average for English I Reading was 65% in 2013.

13 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
n/a
English I Writing

The state average for English I Writing was 48% in 2013.

17 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
18%

2012

 
 
n/a
English II Reading

The state average for English II Reading was 78% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English II Writing

The state average for English II Writing was 52% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English III Reading

The state average for English III Reading was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English III Writing

The state average for English III Writing was 42% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 86% in 2013.

8 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
n/a
Physics

The state average for Physics was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

10 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
81%
World Geography

The state average for World Geography was 75% in 2013.

11 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
n/a
World History

The state average for World History was 70% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

All Students55%
Femalen/a
Male71%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White67%
Economically disadvantaged60%
Not economically disadvantaged50%
Special educationn/a
Not special education60%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English60%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant55%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted55%
Bilingualn/a

Algebra II

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

Biology I

All Students60%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant60%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted60%
Bilingualn/a

Chemistry

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

English I Reading

All Students31%
Femalen/a
Male44%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White33%
Economically disadvantaged0%
Not economically disadvantaged67%
Special educationn/a
Not special education27%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English40%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant31%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted31%
Bilingualn/a

English I Writing

All Students18%
Femalen/a
Male23%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic0%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White25%
Economically disadvantaged0%
Not economically disadvantaged43%
Special educationn/a
Not special education19%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English21%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant18%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted18%
Bilingualn/a

English II Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

English II Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

English III Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

English III Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

Geometry

All Students75%
Female67%
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special education75%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English71%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant75%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted75%
Bilingualn/a

Physics

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

U.S. History

All Students40%
Female0%
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White57%
Economically disadvantaged17%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special education40%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English50%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant40%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted40%

World Geography

All Students27%
Femalen/a
Male43%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White50%
Economically disadvantaged33%
Not economically disadvantaged20%
Special educationn/a
Not special education33%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English38%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant27%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted27%
Bilingualn/a

World History

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 50% 29%
Hispanic 31% 52%
Black 15% 13%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Asian or Pacific Islander N/A 4%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Two or more races N/A 2%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient (LEP) 10%N/A17%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Beginning teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: CRDC, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6221 Riverside Drive
Irving, TX 75039
Phone: (214) 222-2200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT