Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Winfree Academy Charter School (Ri

Charter | 9-12 | 273 students

We are best known for dropout recovery program.

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Irving

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $320,600. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,050.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 1, 2012

I have been teaching math since 2001, and I have taught math from grades 4th-12th. I have taught at 3 other schools besides Winfree. This is my 5th year at Winfree, and I can say this past opening week has been the best. The students now have new Toshiba Satellite Laptops in the each 40 person classroom. They have an assigned laptop to use throughout the day. We also are implementing our Award Winning Courage Program on this campus. We are offering a night school program from 5-9:10 pm for our older students who are working or have family requirements during the day, but still want to get their high school diploma. Each year we seem to get more and more students from Richland College who want to come to our campus to either complete their high school credits or to get their high school diploma while working on their Associates Degree. I understand every person has their own personal opinion or comment, but please understand that the opinion is just that. Please come to our campus to get an info packet, attend one of our Parent University Information Sessions. If you are a local business and would like to team up with some School of Business Prep Students, please see me.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 1, 2012

Winfree Academy has been one of the biggest blessings of my school life. The ability to do what you need at the pace you can handle, has been amazing. In my two years here I have been able to not only finish school, but also grow as a person. The teachers here are a God-send , honestly. They have been a critical part of my success. I will always think back on my time here with a smile on my face. I couldnt have finished without Winfree Academy.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 28, 2012

Being a former student I wouldn't recommend this school to anyone homeschooling would of been more efficient. The classes are over sized with a teacher to student ratio of 50:1. Most of the classes are online but there are about 16 computers in a classroom of 35-50. It is a self-paced program so most students sleep or do nothing. The classroom is so loud its hard to think because they allow you to talk about whatever you want and even some teachers will join the gossip or vent about there personal life to students. Another major problem is the teachers for the most part are a joke. When I attended there were two respectable intelligent teachers that were a good role model(science and history). I often found myself completing all the quarters (half semesters) and waiting a week to get a grade back meanwhile doing nothing but attending. There is no honors or AP classes so don't expect to be challenged as a matter of fact the curriculum has to be dumbed down when I repeated some courses from public school. The counselors stress to do the recommended plan but with the current system in place most students switch to minimum plan just hurting themself when they attend college.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 27, 2011

This school is what your child makes of it, they are not there to make friends they are there to learn! So if your child can not work at his/hers own pace with little help, they will not get far here!!! I had 1 daughter and 3 sons that went here! & its a ok place! not great BUT OK!!! They have kids who do drugs there, so what.... they have them at all schools!!!! its up to your child & what they choose to do!! I think its a good place if your child works hard, and gets the packets done, the faster they do it, they faster they are out of there!!!! GOOD LUCK!!! parent involvement ....only if they get in trouble(lol) other than that you need to just pop up at school...like I did and spy!!! (lol)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

This school has saved the education of my son and my friends sons. My son has health problems and he was losing a lot of time and PISD was threatening to prosecute him and this school has allowed him to move at his own pace, and when he is sick they do not bother us. My friends sons has drug problems and they are working with both, one doing exceptionally well and the other well we will see.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2007

This school has gone though many changes and all for the better,the dedicated teachers are always there to help and support.
—Submitted by a staff


Posted September 17, 2007

Winfree is different, students work a self-paced 4 hour day in the same classroom all day. The school day is very focused on academic learning and gives students the opportunity to accelerate their performance to suit themselves. Staff are truly motivated to help each student on a one on one basis. Students can learn in privacy, without being under the scrutiny of their peers. So many parents have congratulated and thanked the school for not only saving their childs education but in many cases their lives and futures. The school enrollment is kept deliberately small so that staff can know each student and their needs.The mission statement of the school really says it all 'To create a supportive, safe environment that motivates, educates and trains students so that they can graduate from high school prepared with the abilities needed for higher education, employment,and life.
—Submitted by an administrator


Posted March 27, 2007

My son attended Winfree in 2006 to make up 1/2 credit. Coming from Plano ISD this was far less of an educational curriculum than expected. My son did graduate and immediately upon completion from Winfree he left and went to the military. The issue I have is we never received his diploma which I feel, if he couldn't pick it up or was not part of the little graduation ceremony, then his diploma should have been sent to our home which it never was. The school is a joke, you really get no assistance and thats quite sad. My family relocated here from another state for the purpose of attending Texas schools because of the academic level in which is taught but Winfree is a true disappointment. Take pride in any student that comes to your school and represent for all schools in spite of the size. Do better Please.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2007

Caring environment. This school provides lots of support services for studuents and families.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2007

Winfree is a life saver. Without this school my student would not have graduated. She is now in college and very successful because of the help we received at Winfree!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 27, 2006

Winfree Richardson is awful.Parent involvement is limited.Trying to visit w/some of the teachers is impossible. Do not send your child to this school as I've learned it's clearly about money. The longer they keep the students there working on subjects they've already passed but can't go on until they've completed the box the more funding they receive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2006

Winfree does not provide the services it promises for the students. They do not grade papers in a timely manner so that students can progress to the next level. They have not provided the assistance to pass the TAKS test that they promised. The special education teachers do not provide any services. They finally contacted my son about his 504 plan at the end of the school year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2006

My child has been at Winfree for 3 semesters. The principal works hard to build relationships with the students - he is out in the parking lot greeting students and parents (very friendly and concerned about the students. The office staff, guidance counselors go the extra mile to help these kids (they know each student and are concerned). I would strongly encourage improvement here: - large shortage of textbooks and copier paper. - Computers and programs sometime take weeks (at school start) to work. - No report cards mailed home, progress reports. accurate grade reporting (credits). - Many teachers unaware what my child was working on. (very disappointed with Special Ed.) The best way to contact teachers was to come to school, then they paid attention. My child didn't fare any better academically here than at Plano schools. This is self-paced program (self-motivation required!) More School Funding Needed-Shame on Texas!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2006

Worst educational experience by far. Winfree Academy is rather force their students to change school than admit their mistakes. Quality of academic programs - poor Availability of extracurricular activities - none
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 22, 2005

This is one of the worst schools my child has ever attended,that's the reason i took my child out.There is no supervision and it seems all the students do what they want. They talk to teachers very rudely,walk out of class whenever they want and use so so much profanity.I hate how things are 'ran' at this school. I would advise parents to check around for other schools don't choose this one at the richardson campus.Those kids and grown kids are bad!the teachers aren't too bright either.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2005

So far the school has been a blessing for our daughter. Even though there have been a few incidents between other students with that worried us our daughter has had fewer confrontations than she did at Armstrong Middle School. No school is going to be perfect, but Winfree has offered our daughter a good option and the teachers (especially math) have been great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2005

This school is great, it made my sun so proud when he got through school with ease .. Gosh its relieves me too know I found a great school for him.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2005

When I got pregnant at 16, I thought I had to drop out. The teachers here gave me the resources and support to finish. Not only did I finish (second in my class!!), I am now a Junior in college with a 4.0 in TWU's Nursing Program. Without Winfree, I would have been another statistic.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 20, 2005

This school is horrible. We were told it was a wonderful, safe school where students work at there own pace. They lock the bathrooms to prevent drug use, sex and destruction. The police patrol the outside in cars, on foot and on bicyles so the kids do not destroy neighboring buildings and property. Everything I have visted the kids are screaming, yelling, cussing and not working. My child tells me daily of arrests, fights, kids telling teachers to go F themselves. The school refuses to take any responsibility and calls to the principle only got a promise of a return call, but no call. We found if we move my son before the end of the year he gets not credit because of the pace system.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 89% in 2011.

44 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
80%
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2011.

54 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
22%

2010

 
 
33%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 91% in 2011.

63 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
73%
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2011.

58 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
46%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2011.

57 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
53%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 93% in 2011.

55 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 95% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
68%
Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
66%
Science

The state average for Science was 95% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
77%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 98% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students82%
Female86%
Male78%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic83%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged82%
Special education58%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a

Math

All Students46%
Female49%
Male44%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic50%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White47%
Economically disadvantaged45%
Special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a

Science

All Students78%
Female84%
Male72%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic79%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged76%
Special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a

Social Studies

All Students86%
Female92%
Male80%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic84%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged88%
Special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "AEA: Academically Acceptable".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "AEA: Academically Acceptable".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "AEA: Academically Acceptable".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 78% in 2013.

19 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
50%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 97% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 85% in 2013.

6 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
n/a
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 84% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English I Reading

The state average for English I Reading was 65% in 2013.

17 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
40%
English I Writing

The state average for English I Writing was 48% in 2013.

22 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
9%

2012

 
 
40%
English II Reading

The state average for English II Reading was 78% in 2013.

7 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
n/a
English II Writing

The state average for English II Writing was 52% in 2013.

8 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
25%

2012

 
 
n/a
English III Reading

The state average for English III Reading was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
70%
English III Writing

The state average for English III Writing was 42% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
37%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 86% in 2013.

8 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
n/a
Physics

The state average for Physics was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
World Geography

The state average for World Geography was 75% in 2013.

6 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
83%
World History

The state average for World History was 70% in 2013.

5 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
29%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

All Students32%
Female50%
Male11%
Black or African American38%
Asiann/a
Hispanic29%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged20%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special education35%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English33%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant32%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted32%
Bilingualn/a

Algebra II

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

Biology I

All Students67%
Female60%
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special education67%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English67%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant67%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted67%
Bilingualn/a

Chemistry

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

English I Reading

All Students41%
Female55%
Male17%
Black or African American43%
Asiann/a
Hispanic38%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged33%
Not economically disadvantaged60%
Special educationn/a
Not special education47%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English43%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant41%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted41%
Bilingualn/a

English I Writing

All Students9%
Female7%
Male14%
Black or African American0%
Asiann/a
Hispanic0%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged6%
Not economically disadvantaged20%
Special educationn/a
Not special education10%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English11%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant9%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted9%
Bilingualn/a

English II Reading

All Students57%
Female67%
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged60%
Special educationn/a
Not special education57%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English80%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant57%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted57%
Bilingualn/a

English II Writing

All Students25%
Female29%
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged33%
Special educationn/a
Not special education25%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English33%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant25%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted25%
Bilingualn/a

English III Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

English III Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

Geometry

All Students50%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged50%
Special educationn/a
Not special education43%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English50%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant50%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted50%
Bilingualn/a

Physics

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

U.S. History

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

World Geography

All Students50%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special education50%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English60%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant50%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted50%
Bilingualn/a

World History

All Students60%
Female60%
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special education60%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English60%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant60%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted60%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 37% 52%
White 33% 29%
Black 24% 13%
Asian or Pacific Islander 3% 4%
Two or more races 3% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient (LEP) 8%N/A17%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school Richardson ISD
Plano ISD
Dallas ISD
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Beginning teachers 7%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • German
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • RICK PANTER
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Fax number
  • (972) 234-9975

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Core knowledge
  • Honors track
  • Virtual school
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • German
  • Spanish

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Remediation
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
School facilities
  • Computer
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Neither uniforms nor dress code
More from this school
  • 100% Highly qualified staff-very dedicated faculty who are creative in finding ways for all students to be successful. We have so many programs that can appeal to any student regardless of their academic or socioeconomic background.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
Richardson ISD
Plano ISD
Dallas ISD

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Collin College
UT Dallas
DCCCD
College preparation / awareness offered
Community college courses
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
College presentations or information sessions
SAT/ACT prep classes
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6221 Riverside Drive
Irving, TX 75039
Website: Click here
Phone: (972) 234-9855

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT