Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Thornton Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1329 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

23 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 22, 2014

When I heard the rumors about this school, I was nervous about my son attending. However, these last 2 years at Thornton have been wonderful. His teachers are very involved and great about responding to emails, etc. when I have questions concerning his grades or conduct. My son says there are almost never any fights, and that they have a very strict tardy policy so students are never in the halls after the bells ring. The teachers say that the kids are very well behaved. Nowadays, you are always hearing about kids cussing teachers out in schools but I've never heard of an incident like that at Thornton. The Administrators are very caring and honest. All in all, I can't figure out why the school has a negative reputation at all. I mean, what other middle school or school in general spends and entire first week of school just trying to play games and find ways to get to know the kids and build relationships with the teachers? And they are doing great with the new STAAR exam scores, which is amazing since most campuses throughout the state failed. For a campus that is so diverse, and is considered economically disadvantaged (lower income), this campus is doing an incredible job.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2011

I was a studet in this School and people here would mature once they are in high school. These kids just came out of elementary so why do people expect them to mature so fast. This school was fun for me when i was there but honestly i believe the principal there messed it up bad. So dont blame the kids or the teachers blame yourself expecting your kids to be so mature at a early age.


Posted January 3, 2011

Great school rarely any bully's, great teachers, has a great learning system, and its just a great school to be in.


Posted April 8, 2010

I am an 8th grader at Thornton, and this was my first and last year. For 6th and 7th grade, I went to Hodges Bend Middle School. I have to say, HBMS does not come close to Thornton. IN education and behavior. The teachers and students are nice to you, and the teachers take time to help you to make sure you pass. At HBMS, there was a lot of stuff I didnt understand, but Thornton teachers explained it to me very well. I am very sure that this school is awesome!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 2, 2009

this year thornton changed. barely any fights and the kids have really improved their behavior.


Posted November 19, 2009

Thornton is a horrible school. The students don't have any respect whatsoever for each other. Also the way things are ran there need to be corrected.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 30, 2009

I am a student at Thornton MS I also think my school has had its ups and downs but we still all got through them.Personally I love this school the teachers treat you very well and you also have fun in some of the classes. But no matter what people say about our school to us ,students, we will always love this school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 20, 2009

I am a student at Thornton Middle School and most of the reviews here say that we are a school that has many fights and the students are always getting in trouble, but that is not true. From the year of 2006-07 to the year of 2008-09 fights have reduced by 65% according to the school paper and the 2008-09 year 94% of 8th graders passed the reading TAKS test and 42% recieved commened. So before you think of this school being bad come to the school and learn the real facts becauses the parents that have put bad reviews on here don't go to the school and don't have a real taste of Thornton Middle School.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 6, 2009

over the years this school has gotten better. i mean the passing rate of the reading TAKS was 91% this year i am an 8 grader. this school may have had its downs but right now we are all on top. this scool is the best
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 22, 2009

I'm a 6th grader at the school.what i think is this is probally the best middle school. i really don't care what all the parents think.they are way to over protective. there are alot of clubs you could join and the teachers are so cool. thorten rock
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 30, 2008

My daughter is a 6 grader. To be honest i was very worried before the school yr started, simply because of the reviews on this website. My daughter seems to enjoy the school. Although we both find there is not enough extra curr. Available to the students. I am a firm believer that in order for our children to succeed we must as parents keep in constant contact with the school and teachers. Its our resp as parents to express to our children that we expect their best efforts in their school works. I find that email is an excellent communication for busy working parents. I think the only thing lacking in this school is better extra curr for the students, some thing to make them interested in learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2008

I have an 8th grade and a 6th grade student at Thornton and I have found that this school is not a good place for either of my children. Both of my sons are good students and well-behaved in public and at home. This school lacks leadership from the 'adults' teachers, principal, counselors. The kids run this school, and the curriculum needs improvement. This school needs a definite internal makeover, and discipline for the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2007

I go to Thornton and im in the 8th grade. Really, the reason why the school has so many misbehaving students is because the school does not have any excitement. If they would spend their money better, then we might have some decent things. But the Principle is cool and has alot of respect from most of the students. Overall, the school is alright but has alot to improve.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 5, 2006

My son went to this school for about 4 months and I was so happy to get him out! The kids at this school have all the control! There is a major lack of supervision. Parent involvement day was really an eye opener for me as a parent! Teachers are not able to teach and the school is seriously overcrowded!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2005

The music department of Thornton is exceptional. I find that the administrative department is lacking and the safety for my child was not a priority. I have a child who has never been a disciplinary issue and yet is afraid to attend school because the staff doesn't protect him from children they KNOW are trying to pick on him. I would say that Thornton is a very unsafe environment to put your child in.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2005

I really liked the school. I had two children attend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2005

Most of the staff is very personalble. I will say that the teachers that my child dealt with were exceptional. The best my child has ever had.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2005

I have not been very pleased with this school. My son has attended this school since 6th grade and now he is in 8th grade. The school seems to lack displine and control of the students. I am not pleased with the amout of drugs and weapons that have been found on kids at school. I am also not pleased with the way that the TAKES test doesn't seem to match up with the way that the teachers teach their everyday classwork. My son struggles every year with the TAKES test when he is a strong 'A' 'B' student. He is even in many advanced classes. During this school year my son was also informed by a visitor to his class that if they don't pass the TAKS test that their parents will have a hard time selling their houses. Not an apporpriate worry for 8th graders about to test.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2004

My child is in the 7th grade at Thornton and while I have found the instructional staff to be quite accommodating in returning my e-mails and/or phone calls keeping me abreast of my child's progress in their classes the adminstrative staff at Thornton seems to fall short. Specifically in the area of diversity and ensuring that biases are not being integrated into the procedures used to dicipline children at Thornton. I belive a diversity Sensitivity review should be given to all School district emloyees as including the importance of treating everyone fairly and equally and link this to how our children view the world around them and treat one another.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2004

The problem with Thornton Middle School is a lack of leadership. The principal does not make the education of the children that attend the school her first priority. Parents are not informed about activities and announcements in a timely manner. The monthly calendar cames late if at all, the newsletter anniounces events that have already passed. We parents need to hold the school and district adminitrators accountable, after all these are our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 84% in 2011.

441 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
86%
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2011.

441 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2011.

419 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
87%
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2011.

415 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
70%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 94% in 2011.

411 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2011.

402 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2011.

396 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
88%
Science

The state average for Science was 79% in 2011.

400 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
79%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 95% in 2011.

399 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students82%
Female89%
Male74%
Black or African American83%
Asian100%
Hispanic80%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White85%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Special education39%
Not special education84%
Limited English proficient (LEP)44%
Proficient in English87%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant82%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students73%
Female70%
Male75%
Black or African American66%
Asian100%
Hispanic73%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White83%
Economically disadvantaged70%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Special education44%
Not special education74%
Limited English proficient (LEP)42%
Proficient in English77%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant73%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students87%
Female90%
Male85%
Black or African American85%
Asian100%
Hispanic88%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White93%
Economically disadvantaged86%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Special education50%
Not special education89%
Limited English proficient (LEP)60%
Proficient in English89%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant87%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students76%
Female78%
Male74%
Black or African American67%
Asian88%
Hispanic80%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White80%
Economically disadvantaged74%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Special education40%
Not special education77%
Limited English proficient (LEP)66%
Proficient in English77%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant76%
Gifted/talented100%

Writing

All Students97%
Female98%
Male96%
Black or African American94%
Asian100%
Hispanic98%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged96%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Special education92%
Not special education97%
Limited English proficient (LEP)94%
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant97%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students95%
Female97%
Male93%
Black or African American92%
Asian100%
Hispanic95%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged93%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Special education61%
Not special education97%
Limited English proficient (LEP)89%
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant95%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students86%
Female87%
Male84%
Black or African American78%
Asian100%
Hispanic88%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged83%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Special education59%
Not special education87%
Limited English proficient (LEP)53%
Proficient in English88%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant86%
Gifted/talented100%

Science

All Students72%
Female69%
Male76%
Black or African American63%
Asian69%
Hispanic72%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Special education33%
Not special education74%
Limited English proficient (LEP)39%
Proficient in English75%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant72%
Gifted/talented100%

Social Studies

All Students98%
Female99%
Male97%
Black or African American97%
Asian100%
Hispanic98%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged97%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Special education85%
Not special education99%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant98%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 71% in 2013.

408 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
79%
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2013.

406 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
68%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

434 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
79%
Math

The state average for Math was 71% in 2013.

419 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
69%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2013.

427 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
68%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 84% in 2013.

423 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
79%
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

281 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
67%
Science

The state average for Science was 75% in 2013.

417 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
64%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 63% in 2013.

419 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
56%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 78% in 2013.

137 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
100%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 97% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 85% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 84% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English I Reading

The state average for English I Reading was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English I Writing

The state average for English I Writing was 48% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English II Reading

The state average for English II Reading was 78% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English II Writing

The state average for English II Writing was 52% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English III Reading

The state average for English III Reading was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English III Writing

The state average for English III Writing was 42% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 86% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Physics

The state average for Physics was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
World Geography

The state average for World Geography was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
World History

The state average for World History was 70% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students74%
Female72%
Male76%
Black or African American73%
Asian91%
Hispanic72%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White83%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Special education40%
Not special education76%
Limited English proficient (LEP)26%
Proficient in English78%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant74%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted74%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students77%
Female79%
Male75%
Black or African American74%
Asian91%
Hispanic76%
Multiracial83%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White85%
Economically disadvantaged74%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Special education50%
Not special education78%
Limited English proficient (LEP)48%
Proficient in English78%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant77%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted76%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students75%
Female77%
Male74%
Black or African American70%
Asian100%
Hispanic76%
Multiracial91%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White76%
Economically disadvantaged74%
Not economically disadvantaged78%
Special education31%
Not special education77%
Limited English proficient (LEP)38%
Proficient in English78%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant75%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted74%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students76%
Female77%
Male74%
Black or African American63%
Asian100%
Hispanic79%
Multiracial91%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White83%
Economically disadvantaged73%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Special education54%
Not special education76%
Limited English proficient (LEP)60%
Proficient in English77%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant76%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted75%
Bilingualn/a

Writing

All Students64%
Female73%
Male56%
Black or African American59%
Asian73%
Hispanic64%
Multiracial82%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White75%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Not economically disadvantaged69%
Special education29%
Not special education65%
Limited English proficient (LEP)23%
Proficient in English67%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant64%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted63%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students86%
Female92%
Male80%
Black or African American83%
Asian100%
Hispanic87%
Multiracial91%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White85%
Economically disadvantaged83%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Special education39%
Not special education88%
Limited English proficient (LEP)42%
Proficient in English88%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant86%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted86%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students63%
Female67%
Male59%
Black or African American62%
Asiann/a
Hispanic61%
Multiracial83%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White70%
Economically disadvantaged60%
Not economically disadvantaged70%
Special education35%
Not special education65%
Limited English proficient (LEP)24%
Proficient in English66%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant63%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Gifted63%
Bilingualn/a

Science

All Students69%
Female67%
Male71%
Black or African American64%
Asian100%
Hispanic70%
Multiracial73%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White76%
Economically disadvantaged66%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Special education20%
Not special education71%
Limited English proficient (LEP)38%
Proficient in English71%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant69%
Gifted/talented89%
Not Gifted69%
Bilingualn/a

Social Studies

All Students61%
Female61%
Male60%
Black or African American51%
Asian100%
Hispanic62%
Multiracial55%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White76%
Economically disadvantaged58%
Not economically disadvantaged67%
Special education6%
Not special education63%
Limited English proficient (LEP)19%
Proficient in English63%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant61%
Gifted/talented89%
Not Gifted60%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

All Students99%
Female100%
Male97%
Black or African American100%
Asian100%
Hispanic99%
Multiracial80%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged99%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Special educationn/a
Not special education99%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English99%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant99%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted98%
Bilingualn/a

Algebra II

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

Biology I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

Chemistry

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

English I Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

English I Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

English II Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

English II Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

English III Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a

English III Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a

Geometry

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

Physics

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a

U.S. History

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a

World Geography

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

World History

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Academically Acceptable".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Recognized".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Academically Acceptable".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 56% 52%
Black 30% 13%
White 9% 29%
Asian or Pacific Islander 3% 4%
Two or more races 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient (LEP) 9%N/A17%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Beginning teachers 6%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Nurse(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • LAURA PERRY
Fax number
  • (281) 345-3160

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Library
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

19802 Kieth Harrow Boulevard
Katy, TX 77449
Website: Click here
Phone: (281) 856-1506

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT