Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Monday Primary School

Public | 1-2 | 621 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 20, 2012

I am so happy that my son is out of this school.The teachers are awful and I hope by next year they have all new office staff. I have never in my life met such rude people! They way they treat parents is uncalled for. They should be happy that parents are involed in their childrens education but they are not and they want to tell you how to do things. Im so sick of their dress code and it makes my kids unhappy as well! Im serious about the teacher awful teachers. I had to correct the teachers mistakes on his homework all the time. She was marking stuff wrong that he got righht and giving him lower grades.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2008

The teachers are pretty good teachers that seem to care about their students. My concern is that the parents are not informed about the benchmark test giving to the first and second grade students. If they do not pass the benchmark test they can not go to the next grade, regardless of their report card grades. This is only required by the Kaufman School District, the state does not require the students to pass the test until third grade. My question would be why put such young children through the stress of testing?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2007

I just came back from lunch with my child. If my child talked to the aids in the cafeteria like they talked to the other students there, I think she would have been suspended. I really encourgage parents to go and observe them 'in action'. They obviously have no business being in charge of children. The issue has been raised to the pricinpal before, and she ignored it last year, and it looks like verbal beratement of the kids will be ignored this year again. If you're looking to be in this district, it gets better after you get through Monday Primary-- but it's heck getting there. Phillips Elementary is a gem with very caring teachers. I wish Monday would take notes from them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2007

This is my grandsons first year at Monday Primary where he is in the first grade. We have really enjoyed him being there. We have noticed that each child is encouraged to do their best without being judged in any way. He has an excellent teacher who seems to be skilled and works hard to bring out the best in each child. All of the staff at Monday Primary that I have spoken with there seem to know my grandson by his name and not just as a student which means alot. I want to thank each and every one of them for being the type of leader they are and bringing out the best in not only my grandson but those children in which I have witnessed them being around. They have given my grandson the encouragement and confidence he needs to go onto the next level of education!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2006

I am very impressed with this campus. The teachers are helpful and the administration is very supportive. I have come to appreciate the small things, and I can attest to the fact that the staff at Monday Primary really cares about what is really important caring for and educating each child to his/her fullest potential. I read of the offenses people have suffered and I wish they knew how wonderful a school and principal we really have. Education is a demanding field to be in, and many things go unseen and unappreciated. Monday Primary is full of professionals that truly care about what they bring to the table each and every day.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 16, 2005

Awesome teachers!! Work well with parents! Amazing one of a kind Kid Tracs Science Lab with Awesome teacher!!!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 9, 2005

This is an excellent school with great parent involvement!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2004

The experience that my child and I have received from this particular school has been disappointing at best. I felt the principal to be unconcerned with individual progress and quick to judge. Many of the teachers were helpful. My child learned more about the teachers home life than the activities in class.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2003

Monday Primary is a school that is very concerned about the education of its students. Most of the teachers are fairly new to education careers, so the students are getting all of the new concepts and ways of learning taught to them on a daily basis. I am most pleased with this school. The discipline is great and the principal is very involved.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Recognized".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Exemplary".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Exemplary".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 47% 52%
White 44% 29%
Black 5% 13%
Two or more races 3% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Asian or Pacific Islander N/A 4%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient (LEP) 27%N/A17%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Beginning teachers 9%N/AN/A
Source: CRDC, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • JULIE JOHNSON
Fax number
  • (972) 932-2758

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

905 South Madison Street
Kaufman, TX 75142
Website: Click here
Phone: (972) 932-3513

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT