Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Chisholm Trail Academy

Private | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Keene

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $92,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $780.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 8, 2013

I am alumni. I went to this school for all 4 years of high school. IT is a wonderful school. The leadership and involvement of the teachers and staff is excellent and has grown more and more as I continued to go there. Each year was an improvement on the last. They are always willing to help out and make sure the students understand what they need to learn. The elective programs are fun and diverse. The after-school activities and trips are educational and amazing. Sports are diverse and well-coached, the field trips bring students closer together and also educate them. I learned so much, academically and just about life in general from this school. The teachers are the best. They are all genuinely invested in your learning, and have a very good sense of humor. Class was an enjoyment as well as educational. I will send my kids here.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 20, 2010

CTA is a good school with some great students and families. The varied interests of the student body are reached through developed programs in music, art, athletics, AP course in English, dual credit course in history, and leadership roles. Greatest of all is the opportunity for faith based activities such as mission trips, leading out in church programs and chapels, and visits to nursing homes and other such events. I would also recommend this school because there is much diversity in economic background, cultural habits, and race.


Posted August 7, 2009

I am a mother of four girls, three of which have graduated CTA, and the youngest is going to be a sophmore this year. My husband and I have been very pleased with the results of sending our children there. It has not only enriched their lives by being in a christian learning environment, but also ours. The teachers have always been very helpful in answering any questions we might have had and have always tried to make sure that their students have help on any problems they might be having, whether academic or spiritual. I have been very pleased with CTA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2009

I am a CTA alumni. I attended all four years and graduated with honors. I loved it! The staff, the trips, the student bonding, and expecially the christian atmoshpere. It helps keep students close to God in the most critical times of their teenage years and helps them have a positive self attitutde about themselves, their peers, and life in general. I am so blessed to have been apart of such a great school.


Posted July 26, 2009

i attend CTA and the teachers really put an effort to help with everything. the ambiance is great too. Amazing mission trips and sport trips also!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 6, 2007

Great Extracurricular activities, very structured basketball program
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 25, 2006

I really don't like my school, its really run down.... but the teachers are ok, except Mrs Ortiz! Mr Furr is so great I had him as a algebra teacher he's so funny! I really like him as a principle. He disciplines but doesn't kill you...lol
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 21, 2006

I was a student there for four years and it was the best school I ever attended! I went from school to school when I was younger, but cta became my home! Love you Mr. Jones!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 9, 2006

I loved CTA when I was enrolled there. The teachers are great always willing to help a student bring up their grades. Extracurricular activities are great with gymnastics, baseball, basketball, and volleyball.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted July 31, 2005

I think that this school should have better acedemics and start focusing more on the students and their needs. This school has way too many trips so, the students don t learn as much as they need too.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 22, 2005

I went to Chishold Trail Academy for four years. Overall, I had a very positive experience there. Benefits: Located in a small, safe town. Small setting; teachers know all students. Hands on learning through trips for classes like biology, US government and US history. Unique oppurtunies like leadership camps and optional ski trips over winter break. Spiritual emphasis and christian environment with all Christian Staff. Staff and teachers invest a lot into the school, in and outside of their classes Problems: Discipline is weak. Trips can be costly, although they are cheap when compared to what it would cost to go on your own. Limited or no special-ed for students with learning disabilities due to small size of school. I would say that students who are self-motivated and disciplined will do best at CTA. Although this is the case at any school, I think it is more so at CTA. This review is based on my experience four ago; I graduated in 2001.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 11, 2005

This school has pretty bad academics. They students score a 1200 and under on their SAT's. The school does not focus on preparing their students for college. It has a very poor music program, but art is fairly good. The parents are very involved with the school.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 51% 31%
Hispanic 29% 51%
Asian or Pacific Islander 6% 4%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 6% 0%
Black 5% 13%
American Indian/Alaska Native 3% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Seventh-day adventist
Associations
  • GCSDAC
Fax number
  • (817) 556-2009

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

Po Box 717
Keene, TX 76059
Phone: (817) 641-6626

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Godley Jjaep
Cleburne, TX



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT