Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
61 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
7 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 19 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


North Texas Leadership Academy 5

Posted December 09, 2015
- a parent
My daughter is in the Kndergarten 5 program at NTLA. From the moment we toured this school last year, we knew our daughter would thrive! NTLA offers a project-based curriculum, low class sizes (max 12 students per class), and a team of highly educated professionals, many with graduate degrees in their field of study. Each student is given individualized attention and teachers are able to tailor and differentiate curriculum to fit the needs of each student. NTLA is a modest yet growing school. My spouse and I have seen remarkable growth in our daughter's academic and leadership ability. We are truly impressed and plan to stay at NTLA for the long haul.

North Texas Leadership Academy
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted December 09, 2015
- a parent
I LOVE that thy don't assign homework for busywork. If there's homework, and that's not often, it's because they are focusing on a topic that needs some refining and reinforcement from parents. I love that my time at home with my son is family time and not BUSYWORK time.


North Texas Leadership Academy
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted December 09, 2015
- a parent
The rigorous curriculum and planning to studrnts' strengths helps them try new things and excel at things they are learning.

North Texas Leadership Academy
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted December 09, 2015
- a parent
I've been more than impressed how these students use manners, which has translated to home as well.

North Texas Leadership Academy 5

Posted December 09, 2015
- a parent
Our sons loves going to school each day. He is challenged and pushed and doesn't necessarily fall into a grade level. He's allowed to individually progress at his own speed, and the teachers are meticulously involved to know what each student needs, as the classes are small and will stay that way. They have the opportunity to be involved in clubs and service opportunities, which is important to me for character development. All grade levels interact with each other, which provides the older kids an opportunity to mentor and the younger kids the ability to learn from their true peers. They participate in projects so they have a well-rounded aspect of their subjects- they all intermingle- and then present what they have learned every 6-8 weeks. I love that I can go in and KNOW what he is learning. There is a sense of community, where the parents are deeply involved. I am able to have personal contact with anyone at the school at any time. After contemplating whether we should continue in our homeschool or pursue an outside school, we were not comfortable with public school and how it would likely fall short of meeting our son's academic needs. When I toured NTLA, I immediately knew it was home for us, and we haven't looked back.


North Texas Leadership Academy
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted November 30, 2015
- a community member
The kids have homework when it is only necessary. When they do have it, it's just not to "check a box" but truly something important to their learning experience.

North Texas Leadership Academy
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted November 30, 2015
- a community member
The kids are involved in service projects consistently throughout the year. Some past projects include picking a non-profit organization to volunteer at and then create a presentation on to making items to sell from recycled goods and donating the money from the sales to a charity the kids pick.

North Texas Leadership Academy
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted November 30, 2015
- a community member
Not only do they develop it, they recognize it! Kids who exhibit these skills are recognized and they are encouraged and taught along the way to help build these strong traits.


North Texas Leadership Academy 5

Posted November 30, 2015
- a community member
The curriculum is rich with balancing hands on learning and "book studying" which helps prepare them for upper class curriculum but also to make sure they learn by hands on experience which keeps them more engaged.

North Texas Leadership Academy
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted November 30, 2015
- a community member
I am grateful to all the staff at NTLA. They are truly dedicated to not only my kids getting a wonderful learning opportunity but also a fun experience on the way.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

North Texas Leadership Academy
10200 Alta Vista Rd, Keller, TX  76244
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. (817) 562-2931
Last modified North Texas Leadership Academy is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top