Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Heritage Elementary School

Public | K-4 | 638 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

25 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 5, 2013

Heritage is a very good school. My daughter had an awesome year last year and we are looking forward to another great year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2013

We have had nothing but good experiences with the school. Our child's teacher is wonderful and communicates with us regularly via email. She has gone above and beyond to help our child succeed academically and socially. We are so grateful for her. We also really appreciate the guidance counselor for all that he does to help students. He has been a wonderful role model for our child. Any complaints about the leadership at the school are likely about one person whose communication style could use some improvement. She comes across as hesitant and confrontational, but when asked to explain more she is usually cooperative and more patient. Teachers are staff are still learning, too, and we need to support them in that process just as we support our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2013

I had all 3 of my kids go thru Heritage. My oldest one is in high school now and is top of his class. The other two are on their way to be academically successful as well. Demographics have changed a lot for this school over the years. The district probably could invest a little more on the school. There has been tremendous growth in the area. Overall teachers and specially administration do a good job considering the lack of resources. We were lucky enough to have some great teachers, many of them who are still there. Yes there are some bad apples that try to take advantage of the system, for the most part it s all good people at the school. I guess that is true of every school/work place. I would highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2013

The teachers at HES are fabulous! But the principals are HORRIBLE. In every meeting I've had with them, they've been disrespectful and rude to and about the teacher--I couldn't believe it! They never smile and act like this is just another meeting for them and I don't think they even care about the kids...just something else they have to do. They act like they don't even like kids too and are not friendly. I love my child's teacher and know she is doing the best for him. I just wish the principals would at least act like they cared and wanted to help my child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2012

We've had a great experience with HES! I have 2 kids there and LOVE the teachers they have and have had. I even have positive interactions with teachers they do not have. Both my husband and I have earned our college degrees and value the type of education our children receive and we have not been diappointed with HES. All of my childrens' teachers have done an excellent job at keeping us informed and following up on any questions/concerns we have ever had. I do feel that the principal could be more of a prescence in the school. My interactions with her are somewhat superficial. But I've never had any reason to meet with her personally as there have never been any pressing issues or concerns. The PTA has had issues in the past. I do believe your volunteer experience there is what you make of it. Just like any other place,You can choose to not get involved in the drama and the gossip. I will say that this year things have calmed down quite a bit with the prescence of a male PTA president. Overall, I've been happy with HES as well as my children and if given the choice, i wouldn't chose another elementary school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2012

Heritage is a great school. This is my daughter's first year and I have no complaints. My child is learning in a wonderful environment. The school keeps you informed in various ways: emails, call outs, written notes
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2012

From the principal to about 70 percent of the staff they are not engaged with the quality of education or students. Thank goodness we've moved, now my child will be going to a better school. HES is considered a C+ school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2011

What an AWESOME school!!! My child has attended HES for the past 2yrs and has had an amazing experience. The teachers at HES are wonderful and truly love their profession. HES PTA is wonderful as well. These men & women donate so much of THEIR free time setting up school events that bring the staff and parents closer together and helps create a perfect team for the students. I won't want my child anywhere else!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2011

This would be a great school if it had a different principal. She never looks anyone in the eye and seems to only care about how the school looks and not so much about individual students. Most of the teachers are caring. The PTA was great the last few years, but this year they are not very welcoming or helpful. They were rather rude when I asked about getting a shirt for my daughter. So glad it is our last year there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 5, 2011

All of the staff work very hard to ensure the students are given opportunities to succeed at different topics and skills. The school provides a good balance of physical education, art and music classes for every grade level. They have a good Gifted and Talented program. The parents and community get involved during several events throughout the year, including an annual, week-long 4th grade class trip to a nature center where the kids can get some real-world learning. The school could improve a little on more timely communication and student release organization.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2010

Overall, this is a good school. My child has learned a lot while there, and really enjoys going to school. I am comfortable with their safety and discipline policies, there are a lot of extracurricular activities (thanks to the PTA). That being said, there are a number of teachers that do not even speak to parents (won't even make eye contact!), and do not greet the children in the mornings. These teachers act as if they do not want to be there, and that this is merely a job to them. If you do not love children, you are in the wrong profession! I feel that relationships between the teacher and parents is very important, as well as a loving caring touch when dealing with young children. The parents feel alienated, and the children are treated like cattle. My Mom and Mother-in-Law commented on the way the teachers ignored them, also.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2010

Heritage lacks leadership and trust between administration, parents, and teachers. Although my child is happy there many parents are not happy with the communication. The PTA has been wonderful this which is a change to years in the past. There is not much parent involvement and that is partly due to the principal not being welcome to the help of volunteers. The only thing the school really has is good teachers and rich traditions for our children. It could be so much better with the right leadership.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 17, 2009

Heritage is an excellent school my little one is in kindergarten and he loves his teacher he loves going to school too. He is learning a lot and everybody is so kind. I'm so happy to have my kid in this school, specially because is my first time school expirience, I really appreciate everybody for a great job!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2009

Heritage is a wonderful school. Most of the teachers love this school and love my children even more. When I walk into the school I feel warm and welcome. While it may be true that some teachers act as if they do not want to be there - that is not the case for the majority. They go above and beyond the call of duty to make sure my children are loved, feels secure and gets the best education possible. What my children are learning is AMAZING. Mrs. Johnson has made some wonderful improvements to the physical environment. You could not ask for a better place to send your children!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2009

I have 2 children that attend this school & even with the principal change and the rapid growth, I believe this school lacks cohesion. There are some great teachers here, however, communication between teacher's & administration is absent. Some teachers look like they don't want to be there. Some will not greet you. Some just look mad & unwelcoming. Still waiting for the principal & asst. principal to get it together.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2008

This school is pretty good, but is going through many changes due to a rapidly growing district and changes in the school's administration. It seems more organized, but communication is still lacking from it's prinicipal. She just doesn't seem all that friendly or communicative.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2007

My child really enjoys his teacher, however as a whole the school needs more structure and better communication.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2007

This school has the best teachers and principal, they are very thoughtful and they have high expectations for our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2007

The art program and librarian are amazing!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 28, 2006

Heritage is a warm friendly school. The PTA is great and very helpful. My children are so comfortable there.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 89% in 2011.

98 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2011.

100 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2011.

149 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 88% in 2011.

146 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
92%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 90% in 2011.

146 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students88%
Female88%
Male88%
Black or African American81%
Asian89%
Hispanic94%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged73%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Special education100%
Not special education87%
Limited English proficient (LEP)78%
Proficient in English89%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant88%
Gifted/talented92%

Math

All Students80%
Female86%
Male75%
Black or African American68%
Asian78%
Hispanic88%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White84%
Economically disadvantaged65%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Special education86%
Not special education80%
Limited English proficient (LEP)60%
Proficient in English82%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant80%
Gifted/talented92%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students89%
Female89%
Male88%
Black or African American87%
Asian91%
Hispanic81%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged84%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Special education78%
Not special education89%
Limited English proficient (LEP)65%
Proficient in English92%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant89%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students82%
Female84%
Male79%
Black or African American79%
Asian91%
Hispanic69%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White87%
Economically disadvantaged72%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Special education67%
Not special education83%
Limited English proficient (LEP)50%
Proficient in English85%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant82%
Gifted/talented100%

Writing

All Students94%
Female99%
Male89%
Black or African American88%
Asian100%
Hispanic92%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged92%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Special education75%
Not special education95%
Limited English proficient (LEP)94%
Proficient in English93%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant94%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

115 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
80%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
72%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

105 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
85%
Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2013.

105 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
65%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 71% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
72%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students83%
Female88%
Male78%
Black or African American80%
Asian87%
Hispanic75%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Native80%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Special education89%
Not special education83%
Limited English proficient (LEP)64%
Proficient in English86%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant83%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted82%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students69%
Female68%
Male70%
Black or African American70%
Asian83%
Hispanic55%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Native60%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White76%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Not economically disadvantaged74%
Special education50%
Not special education71%
Limited English proficient (LEP)57%
Proficient in English70%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant69%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted66%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students71%
Female82%
Male58%
Black or African American45%
Asian79%
Hispanic81%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White79%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Special educationn/a
Not special education73%
Limited English proficient (LEP)50%
Proficient in English73%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant71%
Gifted/talented88%
Non-Gifted69%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students65%
Female67%
Male62%
Black or African American35%
Asian73%
Hispanic71%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White74%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Special educationn/a
Not special education65%
Limited English proficient (LEP)50%
Proficient in English66%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant65%
Gifted/talented80%
Non-Gifted62%
Bilingualn/a

Writing

All Students74%
Female83%
Male62%
Black or African American62%
Asian73%
Hispanic86%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White74%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Special education20%
Not special education76%
Limited English proficient (LEP)75%
Proficient in English73%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant74%
Gifted/talented81%
Non-Gifted72%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Academically Acceptable".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Recognized".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Recognized".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 46% 29%
Hispanic 25% 52%
Black 13% 13%
Asian or Pacific Islander 10% 4%
Two or more races 6% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient (LEP) 8%N/A17%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Beginning teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4001 Thompson Road
Keller, TX 76244
Website: Click here
Phone: (817) 744-4900

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT