Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-4
Public
Keller, TX
Students enrolled: 497

4 stars
Based on 13 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Freedom Elementary School 1

Posted October 11, 2014
- a parent
Very unhappy. The administration doesn't support the teaching staff, and overloads the classrooms with children who suffer from behavioral disorders. There's no one on one teaching, even with the minimal class sizes, and kids are academically grouped together, which leaves many kids behind. Hopefully the new vice principal won't be so quick to fly off the handle at children, like the last one

Freedom Elementary School 5

Posted January 24, 2014
- a parent
This is our 3rd school in 3 years. My kids have never been happier. Their teachers care about academics as well as social issues. My fellow parents are easy to approach and quick to solve issues. The co-curr teachers are excellent. The librarian is possibly my favorite ever, and I'm a library dork. The main office lady, Lynn, is grumpy pretty consistently, but I won't hold one person against the whole school's rating. The nurse is excellent. The cafeteria staff is helpful and friendly.


Freedom Elementary School 5

Posted September 26, 2011
- a parent
Our experience at Freedom has been excellent. Kindergarten orientation, meet the teacher, and the first few weeks of school have gone exceptionally well. My daughter loves her teacher and especially enjoys her co-curr classes. The admin staff is great and helpful! Great job,

Freedom Elementary School 1

Posted August 23, 2011
- a parent
very unprofessional and rude office staff. Insufficnient breifing for Kintergarden kids. Not at all wemcomed at the initial phase of curriclum, which basically starts with meet the teacher. Prejudice in many aspects, and tendency to presume, parents are unnecessarily anxious!

Freedom Elementary School 3

Posted July 15, 2011
- a parent
My understanding is that Freedom has nice teachers and does fairly well getting kids ready for the standardized exams that get them high state ratings, but I was shocked to learn how far behind it and other KISD schools are in curriculum. This is not necessarily Freedom's failing, but appears to be the district's problem. Despite the widely accepted studies that elementary ages are the best for children to learn languages, KISD elementaries do not offer ANY foreign language until 8th grade. Not even Spanish. Other nearby school districts as well as several less well-funded districts around the states have moved to dual-language programs for K-2 and multiple language offerings thereafter. Why is KISD still operating on 20-year old practices in this area? If I had known this when house-shopping a few years ago, it would have been a serious knock against moving to this school district.


Freedom Elementary School 3

Posted August 05, 2008
- a parent
The administrators all seem to be genuinely concerned with the children's well being. My children have been quite happy at Freedom. I'm concerned though about the Academically Acceptable rating they received this year. What happened?

Freedom Elementary School 5

Posted June 16, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Freedom Elementary School 5

Posted May 23, 2008
- a parent
Freedom is a wondeful school. The atmosphere is of a very happy and sincere staff. The children appear to very happy at this school. Just a happy family!


Freedom Elementary School 2

Posted May 16, 2006
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Freedom Elementary School 5

Posted May 06, 2006
- a parent
Freedom is a wonderrful school. My kids enjoy the learning, the challenge and the activities that the school offers. My children went through me and their father divorcing while attending Freedom and the teachers and councelors were very helpful in helping my youngest adapt.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Freedom Elementary School
5401 Wall Price Keller Road, Keller, TX  76244
(817) 744-4800
Last modified Freedom Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-4. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Freedom Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top