Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Fellowship Academy

Private | PK-12 | 338 students

Our school is best known for providing a well rounded educational experience.
 
 

 

Living in Kennedale

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $205,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $970.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 19, 2014

My kids range in age from Pre-K to 8th and they all love this school. Fellowship is truly their home away from home. The administration and teaching staff are genuine, involved, caring and truly interested in the best education for every student. Like any school, there are lots of differing personalities and backgrounds and students are not always perfect. However, the students are taught to respect one another and show kindness, compassion and forgiveness one to the other. There is an over arching sense of unity and family that is felt throughout the school. I feel my children are not only receiving a great education but also learning how to be good friends, colleagues and citizens. I am truly blessed with the opportunity to send my kids here and encourage you to look into it if you're considering a school for your children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2013

If you are looking for a quiet environment for your kindergartener this is not the place. We were very disappointed with the lack of classroom management. Your child will be exposed to the same behaviors as public school. There is also no technology for the children to use. :(
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2013

My child attended FA for five years. After switching to a different school, we are not on the same grade level you should be on. I have spoken with several parents whom have taken their children out, and they to are behind. So we now are spending more money getting tutoring!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2013

We love this school. My son just started 9th grade this year and it has been a really positive experience. My daughter will also be attending next fall.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2013

Our family loves Fellowship Academy! Our daughter has attended this school for the past 4 yrs & absolutely loves it! The teachers & admin staff are wonderful, caring & encouraging! The love you see & feel between the students is something I really did not see in public school. Our daughter is about to enter the next chapter of her life..high school! I do not have a worry one when dropping her off at school each and every morning! I do not agree with the way the STARS testing system in public schools decide whether or not my child, whom makes A's & B's, is going to be promoted to the next grade level! At Fellowship this stress is eliminated & taken off the students, teachers & parents! The child-staff ratio is less than public school therefore, our daughter receives a lot more one on one personalized attention and teaching! As a result, the teachers seem much more at peace with their students! The curriculum includes studies of the bible, which will help make her a stronger Christian with better values & morals! We have and will continue to refer Fellowship Academy to any parent looking for that one really great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2012

This school is wonderful. My child was GT in public school and has been challenged with the academics at Fellowship. It offers so much with a resonable tuition. My child was welcomed and loves going to school. It has also awakened a new love for reading The Bible and going to church. The teachers and staff are caring and knowledgeable. Thanks Fellowship for being so great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2012

My son attended Fellowship Academy from 2nd grade thru senior year. He graduated from Fellowship Academy in 2010 and will be a junior at college in the fall - and doing well academically. At Fellowship he was encouraged to do well in his classes, and had some challenging subjects. The teachers were engaged and gave him every opportunity to excel. My son enjoyed the school events, played in sports and enjoyed his childhood years. Today he is a respectful young man, doing well in a college in Denton, and I am thankful to Fellowship for helping to mold him into this young man that he has become.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2012

My entire family loves this school. Every year is better than the last and I believe next year will be the best one ever as we will be in our brand new facility! Every year, the school offers a little more than the previous and tuition increases have been minimal. The teachers here genuinely care about your child's learning experience. The staff is always available and wiling to listen to concerns. They really partner with parents to ensure your children receive the best education and school experience possible. This is truly a second home for my children. They love their teachers. They love the students and we love them. If you're considering school options for next year, give this school a look. You won't be disappointed!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2011

We are so pleased with our choice to leave public school and enroll our child at Fellowship Academy. At Open House we were amazed to see students cheering for their teachers. We have felt surrounded by God's love and grace at every turn at Fellowship. They are building a brand new campus in Kennedale, Texas. The school has wonderful field trip opportunities for their students. They value parent involvement. Our child is safe, happy, loved and getting a well rounded Christian education at Fellowship.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2009

I really love this school as far as the students and teachers are concerned. The teachers are loving and you can tell everyone has a love for God. I do think that the overall education needs some beefing up. I think the cirriculum is way to easy, but other than that its a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2008

Both my kids attended FA - one graduated and is now attending university, the other still is. The school is accreditted in the STate of Texas, which opens up scholarships and other benefits in the public higher education system. Both kids have had the opportunity to do many things that would otherwise not be available to them in public schools. The teachers and administration are fair and compassionate in general. If there is any issue, it can be addressed and resolved. These are good-hearted people with a passion for molding good-hearted kids fit for today's world, but with a Godly perspective. I thank God for FA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2008

This has been a wonderful school for my child. He has been at FA since kindergarten and has kind, loving teachers every year. He is challenged and encouraged to be the best he can be. They were also recently accreditated.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2008

Fellowship Academy has given my children a wonderful education. The staff cares about my kids and my family. The teachers are Godly examples and they go above and beyond to help students who are struggling. I HIGHLY recommend this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2008

This school helped my grow as a person and teach myself that I am a valuable individual. Public school supressed my talents and personality and taught me to discriminate. Now I am a friendly person, love to meet people, and am now pursuing my passion as my career. :)
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 21, 2008

I hate this school, the principal does not know how to handle issues and when you student fails or is having issues with any subject nobody cares! Do not send your childe here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2007

This school offered my children nothing. The teachers were inadequit as well as unorganized. The school advertises as a Christian school yet my children experienced no Biblical principals within the school. The turnover is very high as well. This school is not recommended for any child hoping to attend college.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 78% 31%
Hispanic 9% 51%
Black 6% 13%
Two or more races 4% 2%
Asian or Pacific Islander 3% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Percentage of students going to 2-year college 44% (2013)
Percentage of students going to 4-year college 50% (2013)
Percentage of students going to the military 1% (2013)
Percentage of students going directly into the workforce 5% (2013)
Colleges most students attend after graduation University of North Texas
Dallas Baptist University
Tarrant County College
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Special education coordinator
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff None
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Drum line
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Honors track
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • Community college courses
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:15 am
School end time
  • 3:15 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Monica Collier
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 4 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Block scheduling
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI
Fax number
  • (817) 483-2404

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Dual Credit College Courses
  • Honors track
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • None
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Career/college counseling
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • Community college courses
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Internet access
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Softball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • None
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Drum line
  • Fellowship of Christian Athletes (FCA)
  • National Honor Society
  • Student council/government
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Parent Prayer Group
  • Volunteer in the classroom
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


10 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
338
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
350

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$5000 - $6000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
University of North Texas
Dallas Baptist University
Tarrant County College
College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
Community college courses
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Students' post-graduation plans in 2013
2 year college - 44%
4 year college - 50%
Military - 1%
Workforce - 5%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1021 Bowman Springs Road
Kennedale, TX 76060
Website: Click here
Phone: (817) 483-2400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Kennedale High School
Kennedale, TX





Fourth Street School
Arlington, TX


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT