Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 19 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


21 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Saegert Elementary School 5

Posted June 23, 2014
- a parent
I have had 4 kids go through this school. Currently I still have two there. My gifted and talented children did great here, but my two with special needs were allowed to fall through the cracks. We have had both amazing teachers, and not so great ones at this school. But I will say that if you are a very hands on parent and stay involved, your kids can be happy and successful at this school. They do have a very good PTA that does a lot for the kids and families which is nice. We have had more good experiences than bad here. Out of the 3 schools in KISD that my kids have attended, Saegert has by far been the nicest, cleanest, and best in our opinion.

Saegert Elementary School 1

Posted May 27, 2014
- a parent
I have a child attending this school. we are new to the area and recently visited the school during field day (i understand kids were antsy and excited to have field day) BUT we were shocked at the way a certain teacher was behaving towards the children! finger pointing in their faces and talking very nasty to the kids, ignoring certain kids when they needed to use the restroom for more than an hour!. clearly this one teacher is in it for a paycheck and not the children. Thankfully we are not staying at this school and that there is only 5 days of school left or I would yank my child out in a heart beat! This behavior is completely unacceptable especially coming from an educator teaching and molding our little ones! That experience has really opened my eyes to possibly home schooling. It seems as if it is mass producing children with over 1100 kids in the school!


Saegert Elementary School 1

Posted April 13, 2014
- a parent
My child attended this school from PK to 5th grade and I always heard her complaining about the bullying. The worst part is, most of it came from the teachers! Some were very kind and others were rude. I remember one of them told her santa wasn't real. A teacher! I don't recommend attending Saegert Elementry at all!

Saegert Elementary School 5

Posted January 02, 2014
- a parent
I HIGHLY recommend this school. My children have attended 2 other schools in KISD (due to military) and Saegert ES, by far, has been the best. This is our 3rd year at Saegert and my children, husband and I have experienced nothing but positive, friendly, professionalism from secretaries, teachers, and administration. I love their school wide positive behavior system that allows students to earn points throughout the school day. The other campuses took points away and it was punitive. My son does receive SpEd services and the school has been nothing but helpful and thorough in the whole process. Teachers are willing, on their own time, to tutor before, after school and even on Saturdays! I'm thankful for Saegert ES putting kids first!

Saegert Elementary School 2

Posted October 22, 2013
- a parent
I won't recommend this school, to start the office people are so rude, you hardly ever see the principal and when you see her she doesn't interact with the parents at all! their ati-bully program doesn't work at all. Most of the teachers think that they are dealing with little soldiers. my kid came home telling me that after my conference with the teacher, my kid's teacher and other women started talking about me. There is some very good teachers like the librarian, she is very helpful, my kid really likes her.


Saegert Elementary School 1

Posted May 18, 2013
- a parent
I have had several concerns with this school. They do not follow their own policies that they put out and then blame me for making a mistake in following their vague policy. They have a poor Anti-Bully program set up that unfortunately left my child helpless and the teacher feeling as if she has to tolerate poor behavior from children. The teachers yell at the children regularly based on my daughter's own concerns. I spoke with administration in reference to this matter and they told me that I should have not gone to the teacher and reported the bullying to them. The administration has yet to contact me in regards to this matter. The admin asitants are rude and enjoy talking about parents in front of other parents. There is a braekadown in their system that needs to be fixed.

Saegert Elementary School 2

Posted June 29, 2011
- a parent
I have to find out issues about my child from the bus drivers and not the teachers. How am I supposed to know what is going on with my child if the teachers are not communicating his needs. He has a little paper he comes home with every day and the comments section is NEVER filled out. How am I supposed to know if anything special is going on or how my child is doing if all they are doing is circling pictures on a page and not expanding on such in the provided COMMENTS section. I am thankful that I am not sending my child to this school for a whole school year and just for summer school, I would pull him out of this school and NEVER send him back

Saegert Elementary School 1

Posted May 25, 2011
- a parent
The school has over 1200 students attending it! The student to teacher ratio is unacceptable and there doesn't seem to be any real logic when determing which student is put in teachers classes such as balancing male to female ratios. My daughter has only 3 girls in her class of a total of 23 students! As you can imagine the behavioral issues with having so many males in one class. Also, the Principal and Assistant Principals are never available to talk to when issues arise. I've always had to make an appointment for the next week in order to speak to them, they also don't return messages in a timely manner. Also if you have a child with special needs, don't bother with this school. The staff is inefficient in the special education process and not knowledgeable about federal guidelines. I initiated the ARD process in August and now it's May and my child still doesn't have an IEP because they've denied her services. Then when I requested an IEE, they stalled two months before answering. Next time, I'm just going to hire an attorney because it's unacceptable that my child hasn't rec'd services all year because of incompetent administration.


Saegert Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted April 20, 2010
- a parent
This school is fantastic. We see very well how much our little girl is advancing. We are constantly surprised with the knowledge she is bringing home!

Saegert Elementary School 5

Posted November 07, 2009
- a parent
I have 5 kids that go to this school and I love it! Teachers are awsome and the allow the parents to be very active in the class! I have to move to Flordia soon and my biggest dissapointment in leaving is taking my kids away from this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Saegert Elementary School
5600 Schorn Drive, Killeen, TX  76542
(254) 336-6660
Last modified Saegert Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Saegert Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. Top