Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Manor Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 727 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Killeen

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $78,600. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $670.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

26 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 11, 2013

This school has graduates who are now lawyers, educators (Masters and above), businessmen, ex pro-football players and many areas of life. On or about 2008, the new administrative staff through leadership and changes such as teachers working in teams, brought about additional improvements to improve the educationf for students attending MANOR Middle School. Overall, the academics and education provided, improved the student achievement as shown by the higher rating achieved 'RECOGNIZED'. This rating is shown on the building of the school.


Posted June 22, 2012

I love Manor it has the best teachers best athletic program i love going to this school because i trust every one and they know how to handle the situation the right way and Sports is what no other school can compare to the Manor Middle School!! Alexus Scharkley


Posted April 27, 2012

Please AVOID this school at all costs !!!! I have NEVER had this many problems in the other schools my child has been to.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2012

The Flames Are The Best Group Of Girls On Campus..They Work Hard Do Everything They Are Told And Treat Eachother With Respect ..They're Family & Sisters At Heart.. Chanel Has The Best Personailty And Is Out Going...Allison Is The Leader & Everyone Likes Her Better Then The Officers . Toni is the hard worker of the group and shes beautiful :) I am done :33


Posted March 22, 2012

First of all, I have to say that this website should be to inform the new students and their parents about the school rating in general according to your experience and NOT about your child, student, etc because if you have to post his/her name in order to be recognized or embarrass others probably you and your child have to work with the poor self-esteem. Secondly Flames is the Best MS Group of Dance in KISD and Emeralds (Ellison) the Best HS Group followed by Killeen HS. You are welcome to set up appt to walk thru the school's hallway to see the trophies, photos and recognitions. If you don't like the dance group you are free to walk away to other campus because almost ALL the schools have dance group but Manor MS is the only one in Killeen that participate in National Competition and the answer is obvious (they are confident of their talents and the trophies talk by itself). By the way, we CAN NOT JUDGE the teacher's performance in the dance group because it is a VOLUNTEER SERVICE and they are DONATING their time to train the girls to proudly represent the school and we have to appreciate that because it's not a regular class; it's extra and the teachers don't get pay for it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2012

BAD BAD BAD SCHOOL!! WOULDNT SEND MY DOG THEIR FOR EDUCATION.... Mr. Welch has his work cut out for him....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 30, 2011

Its a good school but I would not reccomend the dance program The coach Margarita Rodriguiez(Spanish Teacher) is unorganized with the program and dosnt pay enough attention all of the dancers/students. Mrs.Kristi Carr though is the assitant coach (who should be the main coach) is very caring towards the girls.Maritza Flores is the 3rd in command and (none of the girls like her). But that is one problem at Manor is dance. Lots of fights break out, Teachers only work for the money(Ms.Stacey Riles) also stay away from the Academic Adviser Mrs.Tibbs Jones who has an attitude problem. Mr.Welch the princpal is pretty cool and nice so he's a good part of the school. The special needs class is run by nice teachers Sandra Cahill and Mrs.Lewis. The help in the special needs classroom are the Teacher's Aid Mrs.Duren and Mrs.Santiago. I would rate this school a 2.5 out of 5 stars.


Posted August 19, 2011

Manor Middle School is a good school to be in. I've been going to Manor since 6th to 8th grade, and it has been an amazing journey there, although some teachers I don't like, but over all it's been a good year!


Posted May 28, 2011

I see plenty of negativity here. It seems many are following along with the popular notion of blaming educators for the lack of parenting in the community. One should not blame teachers for the lack of discipline, ambition, and respect of the students that attend this school. The previous poster is a prime example. This parent blames educators focus on discipline for the lack of it in the children attending? I have had two students go through Manor. Neither of them ever complained about the teachers, just student behavior. The oldest is graduating with honors from HS. The other has received Commended ratings on every TAKS exam since grade six, and is a member of the National Jr. Honor Society. Their success is directly attributed to quality instruction and high expectations from home. Not accepting failure from students and blaming the educators who are working hard to make to make their school successful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2011

After my previous post earlier, I picked up my son from school. 4 different fights broke out in the cafeteria. MMS really needs new staff and teachers. I can not stress how much this school is not concerned with teh best intrests of our children. I agree with some of the other posts. They are more worried about dress code violations then the academics and safety of the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2011

My oldest daughter went to middle school here and it was mostly a nightmare. They totally roll their eyes or act like you are exaggerating when a child complains of bullying, which is a huge issue at this school. There aren't enough supplies and books. The teachers seem only interested in collecting a paycheck. A few of the teachers seemed like shining stars but most of them seemed as though they were riding this job out until the next one. Poor individual attention for students and poor response to issues. My younger daughter will not be attending this school, which means I will be moving somewhere else before she gets enrolled here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2008

I was a student at Manor, I was there for all my 3 years of middle school, and I have to say with our last principle we did get away with alot of things than with the current principle. In my opinion most of the teachers are so focused on trying to get our TAKS score up that they forget to make sure we actually understand the material. They teach us and then send us home with homework that makes our parents have to reteach the whole subject. Manor's new principle is strict and partly because Manor students don't understand when enough is enough and it's not all the students, but my pint is if you constanly take away our privilages then you should expect rebellion.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 3, 2007

The teachers and principles at this school are involved as long as the parent is concerned. The biggest downfall is that to much of the teachers time is spent on discipline and rule enforcement not instruction. TAKS seems to be the primary goal with little time spent on anything else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2007

I am currently a student at Manor. Manor isn't that bad and the only reason a kid might be in ISS often or failing a class is because they aren't trying. I take all Pre-AP classes and I have only one B and the rest are A's. The teachers are okay but some don't seemed qualified. The electives are ok. The school is cheap though by not having the supplies needed to have proper learning.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 6, 2007

I think Manor Middle School is at its worst. This is my first year there, and so far, I have been in ISS half the whole year! I think MMS should focus more on their students education instead of their students attire. Everyday I come home telling my mother another teacher got onto me about what I wore. My parents don't have enough money to pay for more clothes just to impress the teachers, and unquestionably I have to sit in ISS because of theses strict rules. Honestly, I think this school has done lost there mind. And I know I am not the only one who thinks so.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 12, 2007

This is the worst school my daughter has ever attended. I would strongly recommend this school get new leadership. No effort is put into helping, educating, nor guiding their students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 2, 2007

Manor Middle School does not show any effort to try and encourage children to work. Seems to me the teachers are only there for a paycheck not to help the child pass.When a parent sees their child in danger and asks for extra assignments or worksheet to get sent home so the parent can cover it as well as getting them to understand the sheet should not be a problem, but it never gets sent home. My child is having a hard time and all he tells me is the teachers doesnt care. And from me calling the school trying to get help from teachers for my child and principal, their is always no response.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 29, 2006

Honestly i have little to say about manor middle school because of the poor leadership and behavoir instructment. The teachers dont really seem to care if you pass nor fail. Many teachers at MMS have a high failure rate because they are not giving the students a chance to show them that they can do the work. Personally, I rather not recommend any child, teacher, or volunteer to have come and be apart of such a undisciplined and well unestablished place they call Manor Middle School. Manor can't possibly mean success when the teachers aren't getting the students to aim for it. They dont deal with important issues that need to be acknowledged because they are to busy putting students in ISS due to dresscode. They should be more aware of how their students are performing in the classroom more than if they have on the right colored socks.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 26, 2006

Quality of academic programs has become a great concern of mine this year. My daughter has attended MMS since the 6th grade and yesterday was her last day of 8th grade. We struggled at this school from the begining. There are teachers there who need to retire. Yesterday my daughter experienced a heart breaking last day of her middle school. The students at MMS who has failed one class are not allowed to go to the gym and cheer on thier fellow classmates or have the pleasure of saying thier good byes. My daughter and others had to stay in another room until the celebration was over. How sad of a memory to have about the last day of your middle school exprience.I think this act was unkind and heart breaking to those tearful, sad students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2005

The teachers and administrators do not address problems of misconduct at the lower level as to prevent any further escalation of that specific incident from reoccuring of becoming a much more serious offense. A student should be able to go to a teacher and have some type of disciplinary action sought when they have problems instead of having the teacher overlook the event until is escalates. This allows events to go on until they become serious offenses. The school's counseling program is not adequate. Counseling is not used as a deterrent to prevent further escalation of problems because of that it isnt very effectively. A lot of the problems this school has could be dealt with if they address all issues students have and not have the student feel they have no help when it comes to faculty and administrators.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 84% in 2011.

193 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
80%
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2011.

193 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2011.

207 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
88%
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2011.

208 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
83%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 94% in 2011.

202 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2011.

202 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
93%
Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2011.

201 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
86%
Science

The state average for Science was 79% in 2011.

205 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
75%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 95% in 2011.

205 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students73%
Female80%
Male64%
Black or African American72%
Asian83%
Hispanic81%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White73%
Economically disadvantaged73%
Not economically disadvantaged74%
Special education20%
Not special education79%
Limited English proficient (LEP)50%
Proficient in English73%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant73%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students76%
Female75%
Male76%
Black or African American73%
Asian67%
Hispanic77%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White83%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged76%
Special education25%
Not special education82%
Limited English proficient (LEP)63%
Proficient in English76%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant76%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students82%
Female86%
Male78%
Black or African American81%
Asian100%
Hispanic82%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White77%
Economically disadvantaged77%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Special education53%
Not special education85%
Limited English proficient (LEP)70%
Proficient in English83%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant82%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students75%
Female78%
Male72%
Black or African American69%
Asian100%
Hispanic78%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White76%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Special education56%
Not special education77%
Limited English proficient (LEP)89%
Proficient in English74%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant75%
Gifted/talented100%

Writing

All Students93%
Female97%
Male89%
Black or African American95%
Asian88%
Hispanic92%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White93%
Economically disadvantaged93%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Special education67%
Not special education95%
Limited English proficient (LEP)78%
Proficient in English94%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant93%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students97%
Female96%
Male97%
Black or African American99%
Asian100%
Hispanic93%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged95%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Special education87%
Not special education98%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant97%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students88%
Female89%
Male86%
Black or African American85%
Asian100%
Hispanic82%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged87%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Special education64%
Not special education91%
Limited English proficient (LEP)75%
Proficient in English88%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant88%
Gifted/talented100%

Science

All Students67%
Female62%
Male74%
Black or African American60%
Asian100%
Hispanic63%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Not economically disadvantaged78%
Special education33%
Not special education71%
Limited English proficient (LEP)50%
Proficient in English68%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant67%
Gifted/talented100%

Social Studies

All Students96%
Female94%
Male97%
Black or African American97%
Asian100%
Hispanic93%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged95%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Special education86%
Not special education97%
Limited English proficient (LEP)88%
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant96%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 71% in 2013.

226 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
69%
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2013.

225 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
66%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

225 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
75%
Math

The state average for Math was 71% in 2013.

220 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
68%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2013.

226 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
72%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 84% in 2013.

207 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
81%
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

126 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
61%
Science

The state average for Science was 75% in 2013.

206 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
70%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 63% in 2013.

205 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
36%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 78% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
96%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 97% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 85% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 84% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English I Reading

The state average for English I Reading was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English I Writing

The state average for English I Writing was 48% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English II Reading

The state average for English II Reading was 78% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English II Writing

The state average for English II Writing was 52% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English III Reading

The state average for English III Reading was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English III Writing

The state average for English III Writing was 42% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 86% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Physics

The state average for Physics was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
World Geography

The state average for World Geography was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
World History

The state average for World History was 70% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students69%
Female74%
Male63%
Black or African American58%
Asian67%
Hispanic71%
Multiracial88%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islander57%
White93%
Economically disadvantaged65%
Not economically disadvantaged76%
Special education35%
Not special education73%
Limited English proficient (LEP)43%
Proficient in English70%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant69%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted67%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students71%
Female73%
Male69%
Black or African American63%
Asian80%
Hispanic73%
Multiracial88%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islander71%
White86%
Economically disadvantaged69%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Special education37%
Not special education76%
Limited English proficient (LEP)54%
Proficient in English72%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant71%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted70%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students73%
Female79%
Male66%
Black or African American72%
Asian57%
Hispanic78%
Multiracial71%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islander83%
White68%
Economically disadvantaged70%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Special education50%
Not special education75%
Limited English proficient (LEP)59%
Proficient in English74%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant73%
Gifted/talented89%
Non-Gifted72%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students67%
Female66%
Male67%
Black or African American57%
Asian40%
Hispanic71%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islander100%
White76%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Not economically disadvantaged76%
Special education32%
Not special education70%
Limited English proficient (LEP)62%
Proficient in English67%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant67%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted65%
Bilingualn/a

Writing

All Students61%
Female68%
Male52%
Black or African American64%
Asian43%
Hispanic61%
Multiracial71%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islander83%
White50%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Not economically disadvantaged71%
Special education14%
Not special education66%
Limited English proficient (LEP)29%
Proficient in English63%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant61%
Gifted/talented89%
Non-Gifted59%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students77%
Female79%
Male75%
Black or African American75%
Asian100%
Hispanic75%
Multiracial78%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White83%
Economically disadvantaged76%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Special education39%
Not special education82%
Limited English proficient (LEP)44%
Proficient in English79%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant77%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted76%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students53%
Female55%
Male52%
Black or African American46%
Asiann/a
Hispanic50%
Multiracial67%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White67%
Economically disadvantaged53%
Not economically disadvantaged53%
Special education44%
Not special education55%
Limited English proficient (LEP)38%
Proficient in English54%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant53%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted53%
Bilingualn/a

Science

All Students60%
Female61%
Male59%
Black or African American60%
Asian80%
Hispanic52%
Multiracial33%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White77%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Not economically disadvantaged69%
Special education17%
Not special education66%
Limited English proficient (LEP)20%
Proficient in English61%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant60%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted59%
Bilingualn/a

Social Studies

All Students53%
Female56%
Male49%
Black or African American55%
Asiann/a
Hispanic40%
Multiracial33%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White70%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Not economically disadvantaged60%
Special education25%
Not special education57%
Limited English proficient (LEP)11%
Proficient in English54%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant53%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted51%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

All Students96%
Female93%
Male100%
Black or African American94%
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged96%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Special educationn/a
Not special education97%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant96%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted96%
Bilingualn/a

Algebra II

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

Biology I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

Chemistry

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

English I Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

English I Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

English II Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

English II Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

English III Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

English III Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

Geometry

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

Physics

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

U.S. History

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

World Geography

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

World History

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Academically Acceptable".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Recognized".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Academically Acceptable".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 46% 13%
Hispanic 27% 52%
White 18% 29%
Two or more races 4% 2%
Asian or Pacific Islander 2% 4%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient (LEP) 9%N/A17%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Beginning teachers 2%N/AN/A
Source: CRDC, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • JENNIFER WASHINGTON
Fax number
  • (254) 690-2473

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Golf
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1700 South W S Young Drive
Killeen, TX 76543
Website: Click here
Phone: (254) 336-1310

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Gateway Middle
Killeen, TX



Killeen Jjaep
Killeen, TX



Creekview Academy
Killeen, TX


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT