Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

West Ward Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 495 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 6, 2014

This is the worst scool my son has ever went to. He is in special needs program & is treatef like a criminal. He is forced to sit in a cubicle all day with no interaction from the outside world, including lunch, recess and PE. The principal and the office staff is very rude.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2013

West Ward has done it again! Our children had the opportuinity to design sub-orbital experiments from XCOR! I understand there is only one other school in the country doing this. They also had a chameleon too-AWSEOME!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2013

The lady principle is rude and snotty. She seems fake around kids to. My son teacher is pretty good. She is helps me alot. I was reading review and and some of them seem made up or don't sound real. If I was a teacher writing I would only write a good review too!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2013

West Ward Elementary School is one of the nicest schools that I have ever been connected with. The staff and administration really care about the students. Evidence of their caring can be seen in the many programs and events offered for students and parents and in the simple upkeep and cleanliness of the building. Now, you are going to find some negative reviews on this site but just remember that there are always going to be complainers and those that expect the school to parent their children. I challenge you to find an elementary school that offers more. West Ward is a NASA explorer school and has hosted many visits by astronauts, scientists, and astronomers. West Ward has a gardening club, chorus, and a robotics program. How many elementary schools have an actual robotics lab? I think West Ward is GREAT! Check it out and judge for yourself.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 30, 2013

West Ward has gone the extra mile to bring great speakers from NASA, XCOR, and the space industry.


Posted January 29, 2013

I am a teacher at West Ward Elementary. I have been for ten years. I have seen staff go out of their way to help students in academic and personal areas. We are a NASA Explorer School and have had the privilege of having actual astronauts visit our campus and classrooms. Many of the staff have had the fantastic experience of attending Space Camp where we have been given actual jump suits that the astronauts wear. We are very proud of them! The great things that happen on our campus can be directly attributed to our principal. She is focused and driven to make education a priority to our student population. Our campus is science driven thanks to her and her hard work. The staff here loves the kids and it shows in the amount of effort given to our students outside the school day. West Ward Rocks!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 29, 2013

This school has many dedicated teachers who spend numerous hours after school and on weekends to ensure lessons taught to the students are fun and have practical application to the students lives. One of examples is the science night where kids get hands on experience with multiple science concepts in a kid-friendly environment. Another great program is the Early Act First Knight program where students are taught core values and one student in each class is feted every month in an elaborate ceremony that is enhanced by faculty dressing up in medieval garb to highlight the Knighthood aspect of the the program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2013

This is my son's second year at Westward. Last year pre-k was alright after teacher swapping didn't have any other issues besides with the staff. This year once again had to do teacher switching and office staff is horrible. Some of the teachers very rude. Office Staff is beyond rude. I haven't had the pleasure of dealing with the asst principal or principal yet. When you do see them they typically don't speak and always have an attitude. I do remember one time the principal did get an attitude with me at Family Night about asking questions to a fake astronaut. There is only a few teachers that actually care. I have seen a teacher making a child crawl and then when seen me coming made the student get up. Everyone keeps saying they have great programs but what programs are they referring too. Only thing I like about the school is the Nasa week. but other than school can give you a big headache. I can't wait till school year is over, because my child will be going to another school whether I have to lie about where we live or not. Parent involvement has to be high in this school...if not your child will get ran over. I need more space to go into further detail.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2011

My children have gone to this school for a year now, and they've had some pretty awesome teachers, however, i'm very unimpressed with some of the office staff, particularly Ms. Masters. In person and on the phone she can be very rude at times. Makes me afraid to even go into the office and ask for important paperwork or anything of the sort. Other than that, it's a great school and would recommend this school to someone who just moved into the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2011

Extremely bad school worst school I Seen yet. Hate sending my child to this school. My child is very unhappy, hates going to school here never hated school intill now. Many teachers bullying the students, now i am experiencing bullying/harassment by teachers and staff as well. Had many conferences with the staff nothing being resolved. Be very aware before sending your child to this school. Very unhappy parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2011

This school has it's pros and cons that is for sure. My child has gone there since K and is now entering 5th grade and over the years there has been 3 teachers that were actually beneficial and a couple that we had to fight against! The amount of issues I myself as well as a handful of other parents have had are numerous and the principal and asst. principal are almost impossible to work with. They do have good programs and great people here but you have to watch and control what happens with your child here! If your child is going to go to this school I HIGHLY suggest you monitor their grades go into the class and watch how your child is being treated not only by the kids in class but by the teacher. Not the worst school but could use new leaders and more attention to bullying and the way the teachers treat the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2011

The principal at this school thinks that she's god. I overheard her talking to one of the staff members in the hall saying something like she is the principal of this school and everyone needs to drop what they are doing and run when she speaks. Then, after she went off for a couple of minutes the dude said but that's what you told me to do and she said, oh yeah sorry. What a head case.


Posted September 25, 2010

My daughter went to this school last year,and it was really bad. If your child is going into the second grade and is enrolled in this school,im sorry. One of the second grade teachers is really bad. She does not care for her students. I saw many times students coming out of her class room crying at the end of the day. I would ask my daughter what happend in class,and she would say that the teacher would make the student feel bad. She went from having A's at her previous school to C's and D's. Now this far in the first 9 weeks at a DIFFERENT school she is much happier and making all A's again. Everytime I would have a talk with the teacher, she would tell me she treats her students the same way she treats her children. PLEASE ! really think about enrolling you child here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2010

The worst school I have seen yet.My child went last year and I hate he has to return this yr but not for long.? None of the staff or teacher's care about education.My child suffered much abuse last year but thus year I am going straingt to :KISD superintendent and the local news media.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2010

My youngest son just completed 5th grade at West Ward, after having gone there since PreK, just like his two older brothers. They received an excellent start to their school careers at this school. The teachers are very caring and have a good rapport with students. All three of my children went to this school on a transfer, and I am very happy with their years spent at West Ward.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2010

I do not recommend this school to any parent. I have yet to meet anyone with much good to say about its programs. Office staff very unprofessional and talk about students with miscellaneous people. Administration ineffective. However, they are very science oriented and from time to time you MAY get a teacher that really loves what they do. I bought a home just to get my child away from this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2009

Teachers are great...they are child friendly...great support from the administration office....down to earth leadership..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2009

I love the prek teacher my daughter had she spent alot of time with the class. Went above and beyond what was asked of her when it came to a parent teacher relationship. The school does alot of family nights and also goes out of their way to keep parents involed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2006

Great school. Awesome science activities for children. Teachers are great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2005

My child was in the Kindergarten program last year and I noticed the school had very attentive and positive thinking teachers. They had a great art and physical education department. The school also focused on space travel and NASA throughout the year.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 89% in 2011.

57 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
91%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2011.

57 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2011.

53 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
87%
Math

The state average for Math was 88% in 2011.

53 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
85%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 90% in 2011.

51 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 82% in 2011.

46 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
89%
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2011.

47 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
100%
Science

The state average for Science was 87% in 2011.

45 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students84%
Female86%
Male82%
Black or African American75%
Asiann/a
Hispanic83%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White93%
Economically disadvantaged83%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special education67%
Not special education86%
Limited English proficient (LEP)81%
Proficient in English85%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant84%
Gifted/talentedn/a

Math

All Students75%
Female72%
Male79%
Black or African American58%
Asiann/a
Hispanic83%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White79%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special education67%
Not special education76%
Limited English proficient (LEP)81%
Proficient in English71%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant75%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students91%
Female85%
Male96%
Black or African American90%
Asiann/a
Hispanic84%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged92%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Special educationn/a
Not special education92%
Limited English proficient (LEP)80%
Proficient in English92%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant91%
Gifted/talentedn/a

Math

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black or African American100%
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant100%
Gifted/talentedn/a

Writing

All Students92%
Female92%
Male93%
Black or African American86%
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White83%
Economically disadvantaged91%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special education94%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English89%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant92%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students87%
Female96%
Male76%
Black or African American81%
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White75%
Economically disadvantaged85%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special education67%
Not special education92%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English85%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant87%
Gifted/talentedn/a

Math

All Students94%
Female96%
Male91%
Black or African American94%
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White83%
Economically disadvantaged95%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Special education80%
Not special education97%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English95%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant93%
Gifted/talentedn/a

Science

All Students80%
Female84%
Male75%
Black or African American81%
Asiann/a
Hispanic75%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Special education56%
Not special education86%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English83%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant80%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
67%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
59%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
69%
Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
60%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 71% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
48%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
71%
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
86%
Science

The state average for Science was 73% in 2013.

46 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
76%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students81%
Female80%
Male83%
Black or African American88%
Asiann/a
Hispanic78%
Multiracial78%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White73%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special education50%
Not special education86%
Limited English proficient (LEP)73%
Proficient in English84%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant81%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Gifted83%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students75%
Female71%
Male79%
Black or African American71%
Asiann/a
Hispanic78%
Multiracial56%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged74%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Special education75%
Not special education75%
Limited English proficient (LEP)80%
Proficient in English73%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant75%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Gifted76%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students65%
Female61%
Male69%
Black or African American54%
Asiann/a
Hispanic63%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White85%
Economically disadvantaged65%
Not economically disadvantaged60%
Special education75%
Not special education62%
Limited English proficient (LEP)27%
Proficient in English72%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant65%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Gifted63%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students47%
Female44%
Male50%
Black or African American24%
Asiann/a
Hispanic79%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White31%
Economically disadvantaged49%
Not economically disadvantaged20%
Special education25%
Not special education52%
Limited English proficient (LEP)73%
Proficient in English42%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant47%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Gifted45%
Bilingualn/a

Writing

All Students48%
Female56%
Male39%
Black or African American32%
Asiann/a
Hispanic67%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White36%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Not economically disadvantaged60%
Special education15%
Not special education56%
Limited English proficient (LEP)45%
Proficient in English48%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant48%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Gifted46%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students72%
Female89%
Male62%
Black or African American69%
Asiann/a
Hispanic77%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White71%
Economically disadvantaged74%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special education55%
Not special education78%
Limited English proficient (LEP)56%
Proficient in English76%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant72%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Gifted72%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students66%
Female67%
Male66%
Black or African American63%
Asiann/a
Hispanic77%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White43%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special education67%
Not special education66%
Limited English proficient (LEP)67%
Proficient in English66%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant66%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Gifted66%
Bilingualn/a

Science

All Students72%
Female68%
Male74%
Black or African American53%
Asiann/a
Hispanic82%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White86%
Economically disadvantaged70%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special education50%
Not special education79%
Limited English proficient (LEP)75%
Proficient in English71%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant72%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Gifted72%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Recognized".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Recognized".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Recognized".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 38% 52%
Black 35% 13%
White 17% 29%
Two or more races 8% 2%
Asian or Pacific Islander 1% 4%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient (LEP) 18%N/A17%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Beginning teachers 3%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MAUREEN ADAMS
Fax number
  • (254) 520-1024

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

709 West Dean Avenue
Killeen, TX 76541
Website: Click here
Phone: (254) 336-1830

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT